Old 28th April 2007, 10:02   #46

Originally Posted by dceite View Post
Yeah get a second hand wagonR VXi (because new ones dont support flat bed). Also the Electronic ps is a boon for girls. Pimp it up with rear spoiler and roof rails. Put a decent ICE. A nice set of alloys and tints. And voila! you are the superstar of college!

P.S. Shuee came online today and made a post in Shifting gears. After that she disappeared.

can some one please explain what ICE is please?
Old 28th April 2007, 10:15   #47

Originally Posted by shuee View Post
And alto and zen seem VERY small, accident prone and common cars!
Cars are not accident prone themselves, its the driver that has to take the honours for it!!!...

There are hardly 2-3 cars in the 3L bracket. And ALL of them are COMMON CARS.
Old 28th April 2007, 10:43   #48

* Cars short listed - alto xfun, xeta, spark, santro... well I am very confused
* Price range - around 3L
* Average distance traveled per month- 1500km
* Where car will be mostly used - mumbai city (dadar - andheri)
* self driven
* preferably good looking and good mileage
* this is my first car
from your post its not clear when you intend to buy your car. assuming its another 2 months down the line, spark comes in to your equation. another thing is if you are talking about on road price of 3L, then only maruti 800 a/c fits in the equation again. so assuming you are stretching upto 3.5 on the road, then you have all the cars you mentioned.

for your concerns:

FE: Spark > Alto > Santro > Xeta
looks: Spark = Santro > Alto > Xeta
Space: Xeta > Santro > Spark > Alto
Performance: Spark = Santro > Alto > Xeta
Features: Spark > Santro > Xeta > Alto ? (not sure on this ..)
Gearshift: Santro > Spark > Alto > Xeta
Driveability: Santro = Spark > Alto > Xeta
Service: Alto > Santro > Xeta > Spark (availability of service help etc)
Spares: Alto < Spark = Xeta < Santro (spares may be cheaper for maruti, while costlier for hyundai)

And if you are buying a used car, do check out the palio (all new palios depreciate by almost a lakh when selling sometimes even more. so for about 3 lacs you must be easily getting a used 1.2 ELXPS!

Last edited by GeekSrik : 28th April 2007 at 10:45.
Old 28th April 2007, 12:37   #49

Originally Posted by rider60 View Post
can some one please explain what ICE is please?
ICE = In Car Entertainment
Old 28th April 2007, 13:56   #50
nbr

SPARK is the latest in the market and also looks cool. A perfect car for college goers for it has cute looks , compact size, great mileage and within ur budget. go for tasty alloys and ur car will easily stand out in the crowd.
Old 28th April 2007, 14:20   #51

Zen with Vtec engine. 14 kmpl and tonnes of fun.
Old 30th April 2007, 10:42   #52

If money isnt an problem, go for an SUV - CRV is sexy as hell
If its a sedan, I would suggest the Skoda Laura.
Old 30th April 2007, 10:53   #53

See money is not a prob so i don't see the point of buying a used car.
I think your earlier post had posted a 3L range.

In that range what you can get is a new 800 with Air Con or a slightly used Santro or Zen or an older Esteem, Gypsy or Contessa. Since you are a college kid I would recommend a car that is as reliable as possible and maybe just a bit of fun. The Zen or Santro with under 10-20K and under 2 years old should be the best fit.

if however you are an enthusiast feel free to experiment" with n older Esteem, Conti or Gypsy.

If money is NO object may I suggest the Humvee.
Old 30th April 2007, 11:11   #54

Also, If fuel efficiency is NOT a concern, I would opt for the Astra or the Corsa Range...
Old 6th May 2007, 16:12   #55

Originally Posted by navin View Post
I think your earlier post had posted a 3L range.

In that range what you can get is a new 800 with Air Con or a slightly used Santro or Zen or an older Esteem, Gypsy or Contessa. Since you are a college kid I would recommend a car that is as reliable as possible and maybe just a bit of fun. The Zen or Santro with under 10-20K and under 2 years old should be the best fit.

if however you are an enthusiast feel free to experiment" with n older Esteem, Conti or Gypsy.

If money is NO object may I suggest the Humvee.
yea i said 3L coz i am interested in small cars
Old 6th May 2007, 23:19   #56

Get a swift if you want a small car but can spend 4.5L
Its a real cool car to have in college.
Another option is the Palio 1.6 if you can live with Tata A.s.s

Actually if you just want a hatch but budget is no object, there are lots of cars like swift, getz, indica, UV-A....
You even have the SRV for 7L

How much can you spend?
Old 7th May 2007, 03:09   #57

If you want "as much solid a car" for 3 lakhs, buy Indica.

Going ambitious(yet small)?Get a Gypsy and visit your nearest suspension "Guru" to soften the damn thing a little for your urban runabout.
Old 15th May 2007, 13:31   #58

hey i use a zen a 99 zen to go to college and its fun. all u need is to put in a good ice and some clean lookin alloys. it is the best bet n cost efficient too
Old 15th May 2007, 23:17   #59

I suggest you go in for an alto. Pretty light on the pocket in terms of mileage and maintenance.
Old 16th May 2007, 21:05   #60

Originally Posted by kpbhatt View Post
how about a Reva ? -- it should fit a bill -- the young guy can move @ with atleast 2 girlfriends in the Reva

I agree about the bike bit --i have seen too many folks losing their lives trying to show off

Reva is a Great Idea; but in this case for a college student it may not be.

I suggest electric, alternative fuel & non-polluting vehicles; for now they r just limited to house-wives.