Old 15th May 2007, 18:58   #31

Just curious why Aveo U-VA is not a good option?

Equally curious if any of the BHPians own a UVA?
Old 15th May 2007, 19:10   #32

Nope! You don't buy an indica if you have 6 lakhs to spend. If you want something < 4.5L and want great economy then you buy an indica.
Subjective my friend, subjective. 6L should be his stretch budget. Let's hear his detailed requirements first. No idea on whether he will/will not mind the petrol bills. Also, is the Indica really humble? Besides you have no idea about Pune traffic.
Would have pointed out the Indigo, but I really don't think Parag is interested in a sedan.
Old 15th May 2007, 20:03   #33

Its Palio or UVA anyday! Think Practical and Eliminate Swift from the list If you have shot listed it.

Swift is not practical car at all, Its accepted by indian public just for economy (because MUL is known for economy!) but its costlier than Palio to maintain!

UVA is good car as well its very spacious and very smooth ride too.

Ravi.
Old 15th May 2007, 20:18   #34

Originally Posted by ravibhat View Post
Swift is not practical car at all, Its accepted by indian public just for economy (because MUL is known for economy!) but its costlier than Palio to maintain!
Ravi, you do make a lot of striking statements. Care to substantiate this one?
Old 15th May 2007, 20:31   #35

I would suggest a Getz, I own one..

compared with the swift while buying, liked the swift engine and the looks and the space in the front; but the back sucks, looked like a 'fat aunty' from outside and the space and ride quality in the back were bad..

The Uva is a good car too, but was very disappointed with the interiors..looked a generation old..
Old 15th May 2007, 20:52   #36

Guys, remember the driver drives on weekdays.
I think you should eliminate the Swift for that reason alone. With the driver driving, the rear seat is cramped and to be honest, i felt a bit claustrophobic in the rear seat of the swift.
I suggest you wait for the Getz CRDi or get another Palio, preferebly the 1.6.
Why not look at an Ikon Flair? It falls within your budget, is amazing to drive and is big and comfortable at the same time.
Old 15th May 2007, 22:35   #37

Requirements:
Good rear seats
Decent Fuel efficiency
Parking space is small at office in Kasba Peth (Innova is difficult to park there)
Comfort on long drives
Daily I sit on back seats for more than an hour so comfort for that
Old 15th May 2007, 23:05   #38

Originally Posted by ravibhat View Post
I
Please do care to explain the logic....
Old 15th May 2007, 23:16   #39

Originally Posted by paragindia View Post
Requirements:
Good rear seats
Decent Fuel efficiency
Parking space is small at office in Kasba Peth (Innova is difficult to park there)
Comfort on long drives
From your shortlisted cars, only Aveo U-VA and Getz fits the bill!
Test drive both the cars & take a final call.
Good luck!
Old 15th May 2007, 23:20   #40

Originally Posted by paragindia View Post
Requirements:
Good rear seats
Decent Fuel efficiency
Comfort on long drives
Good rear seats : Getz/Indigo stay away from Swift.
Decent FE : Indigo Diesel(if you want diesel), otherwise getz (12 in city)
Parking space : Indigo is a medium size sedan, smaller than innova.
Comfort on long drives : Getz.
I have had a back problem, so I am very picky about things like lumbar support etc.,
Getz is A grade in this regard
Drove from Jaipur-Kufri(Beyond shimla) + 100kms in Delhi over a period of 36 hours. Excellent comfort.

Cant comment on UVA since I have never sat in that vehicle, but as far as long drive comfort is concerned, Getz is very very good, closely followed by indigo.

If you are looking at back seat comfort then indigo is great.
When they say "Spoil yourself" it is meant.
Old 15th May 2007, 23:23   #41

Somehow with your daily mileage a diesel car would make sense, but I have never been a fan of Indica, expecially in terms of quality and image. With all the call centre cabs nowadays, the indica image just does not gel.

One good option for you would be the Getz, the car is pretty good on interior space and IMO the rear seat is better than the Swift.
Old 16th May 2007, 01:35   #42

If you have 6Lacs you could get a ikon flair it has good rear seat and has a desent FE or if you want a deisel you can get a Swift or a indigo
Old 16th May 2007, 08:48   #43

Parag, what is decent F.E. in your books? For Petrol and Diesel.

Parag, I am still of the opinion that the Indica diesel will be best for you. You can use the spare money from your budget to 'p*imp your ride'. Getz is a good choice and as tsk has correctly pointed out, stay away from the Swift if you desire rear room comfort. Though if you are not very tall, the Swift might work for you.

Also please test drive the U-VA. For yourself and for us.
Old 16th May 2007, 09:19   #44

Parag,
with similar requirements, I almost finalised on VDi. There are few well known, simple reasons for this decision.

1. Maruti's support/A.S.S is generally good with reasonably priced spares.
2. Long waiting period means, most sought after, then better resale value
3. Bigger Discounts (for Palio etc) means, less sought after then less resale value
4. You can bet on Jap made cars simply as the World even Americans does just that!
5. VDi is a VFM and its a nice package altogether.
6. FE is unbeatable in this segment. hiway around 20kmpls, in city 14 kmpl. over all 15kmpls
7. Latest gen CRDi means less noise, less troubles and actually better driveability than a Petrol sibiling. No need to calculate daily usage etc now!
8. Sporty looking/exciting design - one of its kind in India, atleast.
9. Maruti has invested heaviliy on CRDi engine plant, so you are sure of its support/spare etc.

The only worry is its rear seat :
I have not tried or tested the rear seat, but you pls try yourselves and see how it is.

hope this is enough ;-)
Old 16th May 2007, 10:24   #45

I have taken test-ride of U-Va. It is bigger and spacious than Getz. Only question is FE and *** of GM