Team-BHP > What Car? > Hatchbacks
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 9th July 2007, 14:30   #1

Which Hatchback for a first time driver ?

Hi Team,

Need your help and inputs on deciding a car for myself.

Cars short listed: Swift (P), Spark, Santro, Estilo ( In order of preference going just by the looks and comfortable seating). ( Have decidedly ruled out UVA and Wagon R)

Price Range: 4.5 Lac OTR in Delhi max.

Maintenance: Should be as low as possible.

Monthly Travel: 800 to 1000 km. Within Delhi, with an occasional once a week visit to Gurgaon Office on the NH8

Totally Self driven. By myself and brother. Want comfortable seating for 4 adults and one kid

Plan to keep the car for long. 5 years maybe.

Some more points to keep in mind please.

- I am a gal.
- 5 feet in height. This is a major factor in me deciding which car to buy. It has to be a car that can be driven comfortably by someone of my height.
- I am a first time driver. Will start my lessons this week

Hence I am unable to take a test drive right now and my evaluation is based on myself sitting in the drivers seat and seeinghow comfortable I was in terms of my reach to the pedals and the steering / dash height. Plus test drive by a friend who otherwise drives an Ikon Flair.

I have done a little bit of research on the cars that I have shortlisted:

- Wagon R: Ruled out the moment I sat in it. The driver seat did not have a position which would enable me to reach the pedals comfortably. Either I had to stretch or there would be too little leg space.

- Swift: Found this to be comfortable. And it just about fits in my budget too. But slight apprehension is whether its a good "first" car. I mean, it is bigger dimensionwise so will it be tougher to drive compared to smaller hatches ?
Also, the friend who drove it thought the power steering was a bit hard compared to other cars ? Is this the case with swift ?