Old 21st June 2008, 06:56   #1

Which second hand car for 2-3 lakhs?

Hey guys.

Im looking for a second hand small car in the range of 2-3 lakhs.

which one would you suggest??
1.Old generation Zen vxi or lxi
2.Old generation palio 1.6 gtx with 100 bhp
Old 21st June 2008, 07:37   #2

Originally Posted by punterccrx8s View Post
If you can find a Palio 1.6 in good condition, pick it up. Palio has poor resale value, so you could get a newer model for the same price as compared to Zen. And its the only 100 bhp hatch!

Only negative would be to make sure the after- sales- service is ok in your area, and make sure they stock common spare parts for the Palio as well.
Old 21st June 2008, 08:38   #3

I was looking for a 2nd car with the same budget a few weeks back and looked at the following cars:
Opel Astra
Accent
Zen
Esteem
Balano
Petra
Palio GTX

All the Maruti cars were overpriced, the Astra was nice but a big guzzler, Petra was ugly but solid. Came across a used Palio GTX listed for 1.55 lacs, drove it and was absolutely convinced.

Purchased the GTX for less than 1 lac and have spent about Rs.80,000 on repairs, new tires, etcs., and the car is good as new. Running Mobile 1 synthetic oil, have ordered a Automech exhaust, & K&N filter also. There is some denting & painting work left to do, and when I am done the total expense will be under 2 lacs.

The GTX is a really fun to drive car that is solidly built. The 1.6 DOHC motor is smooth and powerful. The Zen does not even come close in terms of a comparison. The closest comparison is the Baleno (which is much higher priced in the used car market).
Old 21st June 2008, 08:59   #4

Originally Posted by punterccrx8s View Post
Hey guys.

Im looking for a second hand small car in the range of 2-3 lakhs.

which one would you suggest??
1.Old generation Zen vxi or lxi
Unless you're bent on a hatch, I suggest a late 2003 OHC. Nothing beats them.
Old 21st June 2008, 09:01   #5

How about an Esteem? I'm sure you would get one in good nick for under 3 lakhs.

If Zen go for Vxi.
Old 21st June 2008, 09:20   #6

Only hatch.Thats the problem.Otherwise i could have gone for a lancer or OHC without a doubt.
Old 21st June 2008, 09:36   #7

Originally Posted by flyingspur View Post
Unless you're bent on a hatch, I suggest a late 2003 OHC. Nothing beats them.
Getting an OHC under 3L would really be tough I guess. Given that it should be in a very good condition.
Old 21st June 2008, 09:51   #8

Palio would be a good buy only if you dont care about the resale.
Why dont you go for the 2nd hand Santro?
Old 21st June 2008, 10:14   #9

An esteem in good condition is the safest bet, second would be Santro. These would be cheap to run and maintain.
Old 21st June 2008, 10:27   #10

You might be able to get a used Swift LXi (the base model) for 3lakhs.
Old 21st June 2008, 11:19   #11

I already have a swift.But i need a second hand car now.My choices are zen or palio.Can you suggest which is better.Santro???No thanks.
Old 21st June 2008, 11:41   #12

The Hyundai i10 base model costs arnd 3.5lakhs ex showroom so if u can find a used one it would be good and it'll also be a fairly new car..

You might also get a Getz 1.1 base model for around 3lakhs... but would be hard to find

And if u can find any of the above, it'll be much better than gettin a Zen or a Palio
Old 21st June 2008, 11:56   #13

go for zen as it will be cheaper to maintain and availability of spares is not a problem maruti has a wide spread service network . i am also getting a second hand car and same budget as yours and i am searching for a zen.if i was you would definitely go for zen
Old 21st June 2008, 13:12   #14

I too suggest you the Zen. Since you are looking for a second car you must be looking for easy driving,servicing, FE etc.You can easily get a good condition MPFi Zen for around 1.5-1.75lakhs.
Old 21st June 2008, 13:42   #15

Out of the two cars you have mentioned,
I suggest go for the Zen. It is reliable, good FE and Maruti's A.S & S is an added bonus. If the car is going to be used only in the city then this is the car to zero in.

But if the car is going to be used a lot on highways, then go for Palio 1.6. As rightly pointed out by other user, before going in for this car, make sure you have a good dealer/ Service Center in your locality or city.