Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Indian Car Dealerships

Old 14th April 2008, 22:51   #1

Armed forces CSD canteen rate of vehicles?

Mod Note: Please continue the discussion in the new CSD buying thread. Thanks!

Does anyone here have an idea of the price difference in a vehicle bought from a regular dealership and one bought through the CSD? Do CSDs have vehicles with them, or do they refer you to a regular dealer with some special code so that the dealer charges you less price? Can a vehicle through CSD be financed? Do you get the usual discounts on a vehicle (like dealer discount, or other freebies) through CSD, or none, as you are already paying less for the vehicle? Recommended CSD places to buy a vehicle from, and why?

Phew...can't think of any more 'CSD'-related questions!

Last edited by GTO : 16th January 2014 at 15:03. Reason: Link to new thread
Old 15th April 2008, 00:24   #2

check out a thread some six months back about buying SX4 through canteen, in ludhiana.

ther ewas a very decent rate difference
Old 15th April 2008, 01:17   #3

The best you can do is call some CSD canteen numberand ask for the detail

Availability of particular Model could some time be issue depending on the location of CSD If located at major army station then lot of cars are avaiable

One of my friend last year purchased AVEO from CSD and he almost saved 80k-90k on his purchase.

Best source of information would be CSD itself so get in touch with them.
Old 15th April 2008, 09:16   #4

yaar, hudd ho gayi. in this thread itself, you have the link to the thread by ashoksawhney ji. Kindly contact him. I think he saved a massive bundle. Scroll below
Old 15th April 2008, 10:02   #5

... Scroll below
Good observation it took some time for me to realise what you meant: good use of the "similar threads" section here.

Last edited by Blue Thunder : 15th April 2008 at 10:06.
Old 15th April 2008, 10:05   #6

Hi kkdelhi, I hope you are aware that only members of the armed forces can buy goods through the canteens.

Originally Posted by kkdelhi View Post
Does anyone here have an idea of the price difference in a vehicle bought from a regular dealership and one bought through the CSD?
They are significantly cheaper. I remember a Navy friend buying a Baleno which was about 60K cheaper in the CSD, as compared to regular pricing. Tax benefits (e.g. excise) are responsible for the cost differential.

Do CSDs have vehicles with them, or do they refer you to a regular dealer with some special code so that the dealer charges you less price?
IIRC, the CSD carried out paperwork formalities but delivery was through a regular dealership.

Can a vehicle through CSD be financed?
I dont see why they shouldn't. In fact, some banks give Army personnel discounts on the regular rates of interest.

Do you get the usual discounts on a vehicle (like dealer discount, or other freebies) through CSD, or none, as you are already paying less for the vehicle?
Don't know. Logically, discounts should still apply as you are paying less due to reduced taxes. This doesn't affect dealership margins.
Old 15th April 2008, 12:17   #7

Like GTO mentioned, only defense personnel (serving or retired) can purchase through the CSD. The officer won't be able to buy another car from the CSD for next five years or so.
CSD will refer you to a dealer from where you can pick up your car after all the paper work has been completed. The prices vary from state to state, buying a car from Ludhiana will be more beneficial than buying it from Delhi.
Vehicles can be financed. There are many agents who does all the necessary paper work with the CSD and helps in getting the vehicle financed.
Generally, no other discounts are given by the dealers if you are purchasing the car through CSD. However, exceptions are there.
If you plan to buy a car through CSD in the Northern region then I think Ludhiana or Jallandhar would be the the best option.

Attached is the CSD Price List, its a little old but can give you an idea of the price difference.
Armed forces CSD canteen rate of vehicles?-csd.jpg  

-GS- is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th April 2008, 12:31   #8

thanks GS quite an exhaustive price list.
... buy another car from the CSD for next five years or so.
IIRC its 2 years. Also, the car must be in the name of the defence officer / retired officer.

there is quite a saving between buying from the cantee and buying from the dealer showroom.
Old 15th April 2008, 12:41   #9

Originally Posted by madan80 View Post
IIRC its 2 years. Also, the car must be in the name of the defence officer / retired officer.

there is quite a saving between buying from the cantee and buying from the dealer showroom.
Madan, I am not sure about the 5 years stipulation, it can be 2 years as you are saying, I will check it though. Yes, the car must be in the officer's name and as far as I know the officer can't sell the car for some period.

I didn't get your last point, do you mean to say that buying from the canteen will turn out to be cheaper than being directed to a dealer showroom by the CSD?
Old 15th April 2008, 20:56   #10

Originally Posted by drkhalsa
Best source of information would be CSD itself so get in touch with them.
No offence meant, but I think Team-BHP is the best source of info...though I'll keep your suggestion in mind and will use that as the last resort.

Originally Posted by phamilyman
..in this thread itself, you have the link to the thread by ashoksawhney ji. Kindly contact him..
I wish I could, but he is nowhere to be seen in the forum after his 18th post in 2007.

Originally Posted by GTO
IIRC, the CSD carried out paperwork formalities but delivery was through a regular dealership.
Originally Posted by -GS-
...buying a car from Ludhiana will be more beneficial than buying it from Delhi... If you plan to buy a car through CSD in the Northern region then I think Ludhiana or Jallandhar would be the the best option.
Ok, let me get this correct. CSD would carry out the paperwork...so GS when you say buy it from Ludhiana or Jalandhar, do you mean from the CSD located in these places, or dealers located there.

Originally Posted by -GS-
Attached is the CSD Price List, its a little old but can give you an idea of the price difference.
A big thanks to you for this.

Also, GS, you say buy it from Jalandhar/Ludhiana than from Delhi. Now, if I were to buy from Jal/Ldh and then register the car in Delhi, would the total cost come to same as what I would pay if I were buying directly from Delhi?
Old 17th April 2008, 10:25   #11

Ok, let me get this correct. CSD would carry out the paperwork...so GS when you say buy it from Ludhiana or Jalandhar, do you mean from the CSD located in these places, or dealers located there.
I mean the dealers located at these places. You will submit your papers at Delhi CSD if you are posted in Delhi.

Also, GS, you say buy it from Jalandhar/Ludhiana than from Delhi. Now, if I were to buy from Jal/Ldh and then register the car in Delhi, would the total cost come to same as what I would pay if I were buying directly from Delhi?
No, the total cost won't be the same. You will anyways be getting the car registered. The difference in prices is at the dealership. In Delhi you will be paying a little more than what you will pay at Ludhiana. I have not taken the registration and insurance charges into consideration. If you get the car registered at Gurgaon instead of Delhi then you will be saving some more on your registration charges. Sometimes you will be getting some additional discounts or free accessory at one dealership and not the other. So, its always better to find out which dealer is offering what.

It doesn't look like you are in the armed forces. How do you plan to make the purchase through CSD?

Last edited by -GS- : 17th April 2008 at 10:26.
Old 17th April 2008, 23:00   #12

Originally Posted by -GS- View Post
No, the total cost won't be the same. You will anyways be getting the car registered. The difference in prices is at the dealership.
Got it.

...I have not taken the registration and insurance charges into consideration...
And, I was asking about the very fact - Registration. If we were only talking about dealership cost + registration, do I understand correctly that dealer cost (punjab) + registration (delhi) would be less than dealer cost (delhi) + registration (delhi)? If yes, would it be a substantial difference - running into tens of thousands, or only a few thousands?

It doesn't look like you are in the armed forces.
No, I am not. But my cousin is. Though he is currently posted at a place where he is too busy to find out about these things.
Old 19th April 2008, 06:13   #13

I would like to share a share my experience of buying thru csd.

1) Delhi CSD does not sell cars so you have to get them from Punjab, Haryana or rajasthan.

2) The cars can be financed and there are some DSA's in Noida/ Delhi who specialise in this and help you with the paperwork as well ( Kotak Mahindra and ICICI). You need not go to the CSD depot for the paperwork( they do it for a small fee) and can take the delivery of the vehicle from the dealership / have their representative drive it downI idid not prefer this option)
3) I got my SX4 Zxi on 31 March and saved Rs 85 K on the showroom price (There is a saving of approx 12%).Other discounts like corporate discounst are generally not offered but some special schemes are passed on.
4) You need to to get the vehicle on Temp regn ( validity one month) and get it registered where you live.
5) The vehicle is registered in the name of the officer/ retired officer.
6) You can buy once in two years.
7)Please visit the website of the manufacturer for the dealer addresses and contac them for csd prices. They can differ quite a bit from place to place and the DSA will guide you to a dealer he is close to. ( I got my SX4 from Chandigarh thru CSD Jalandhar and it was a good Rs 16,000 less than most other locations.
8) You can be the co0-applicant of the loan and pay the emi's from your account
Old 19th April 2008, 21:28   #14

Originally Posted by rajneeesh View Post
6) You can buy once in two years.
Can the officer transfer the ownership after, say, six months, or any time after buying?

8) You can be the co0-applicant of the loan and pay the emi's from your account
Oh, really? This is nice/convenient.
Old 19th April 2008, 22:05   #15

If you follow the regulations to the T , you are supposed to pay the difference in tax to the govt at the time of the resale. For this reason organised used car businesses like Automart eiher do not buy such cars/pay you a lower amount. There are no such problems with private buyers.

There is no problem if the officer is close to you and is ok in having the vehicle registered in his name. In my case, the car is registered in my father's name altough the downpayment has been made by me and the emi's are paid by me as the coapplicant for the loan