Old 4th May 2012, 09:46   #31

Re: 2012 Audi A4 Facelift Launched @ 27.3 - 38.0 Lakhs (ex-MH)

Originally Posted by parrys View Post

Engine Options:
  1. 1.8 TFSI (170 BHP@3800-6200 / 320 Nm@1400-3700) : Front wheel drive with CVT
Parrys -

Correct me if I am wrong, a couple of websites mention that the 1.8 TFSI has been jacked up by 10 HP but the torque figures remain unchanged, as per your inputs though, the torque has gone up by a whopping 70Nm.

I suspect they'll change the Turbo on the facelifted A4.

Sources:

1) Audi launches facelifted A4 at Rs 27.33 lakh

2) 2012 Audi A4 Launched In India | MotorBeam - Indian Car Bike News & Reviews

Cheers Mate.

Last edited by Torquedo : 4th May 2012 at 09:48.
Old 4th May 2012, 10:01   #32

Love the looks of the redesigned A4. Makes a pretty sight. The engine options and price are disappointing. The 1.8 TFSi and 2.0 TDi both churn out almost identical power outputs in the Laura/Superb (10 BHP lower in the Laura's TSI). The Paasat 2.0 TDi delivers 170 BHP. So I don't understand what Audi was thinking.

The 3.0 Quattro looks mouthwatering on paper but the price is a shocker.

Last edited by fuel_addict : 4th May 2012 at 10:02.
Old 4th May 2012, 10:24   #33

One of the biggest fans of the A4 size/shape/design and stance. The new looks have only made me drool more.

The front end now looks bolder and more like the Jag XFL for me. The new LED again looks fantastic.

The used previous gen quattro should be a great buy.

Only grapevine is the price and features of the 1.8 and 2.0 TDI engines. It is tuned more for efficiency. Only way to attract potential customers is to give an option to tune for their needs during purchase. The framework should be able to handle high end tuning sacrificing fuel efficiency.

Does the 3 series starting to look better value for money now?
Old 4th May 2012, 10:24   #34

Originally Posted by Torquedo View Post
the torque has gone up by a whopping 70Nm.
Appears to be correct. Sample link

Either ways, we've asked Audi for a reconfirmation. Thanks
Old 4th May 2012, 10:46   #35

Appears to be correct.
More fodder to bolster the point that the torque has indeed been beefed up, an ACI lift:

New Audi A4 review, test drive - Review - Autocar India

Shall wait on the Audi reconfirmation though, Thanks.
Old 4th May 2012, 11:39   #36

Looking at the pictures, the refreshed A4 looks stunning, not that the earlier one was bad but this midlife dose of botox looks too good.

Sad part is it still comes with the 2.0 TDI in lower state of tune, that too with a dull CVT(compared to S-tronic/DSG), driving just the front wheels, possibly with an over assisted steering. All this makes the new A4 the least appealing german car from the segment, yes there is the awesome 3.0 TDI with Quattro and DSG but that one costs as much as the base A6 and Q5.

2.0 TDI is the variant which will bring the volumes. To me as an enthusiast this one does not look very appealing to me, at a time when the new 3 series is due. In the upcoming new 3 series even in lowest 320d version performance is very strong, claimed somewhere close to 7.XX secs to reach the 100kph mark, mated to the 8 speed ZF transmission and obviously with a RWD setup. To top it all there might be a cheaper Corporate edition in the new 3.

I drove the pre-facelift A4 2.0 TDI last year, on road performance felt lacking for a car of this price especially when compared to the 320d, even my half price Laura felt more peppy and eager.

Last edited by .anshuman : 4th May 2012 at 11:40.
.anshuman is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th May 2012, 13:09   #37

Originally Posted by Torquedo View Post
Shall wait on the Audi reconfirmation though, Thanks.
The numbers are indeed accurate. Attached are the spec sheets of the Audi A4.
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th May 2012, 13:33   #38

Thanks, that was quick !!

Makes buying the 1.8 TFSI much more sense now, the earlier one had the same heart as the Laura TSi, which was available at less than half the price of the A4 and made no sense buying the older gen 1.8.
Old 4th May 2012, 13:43   #39

The spec sheets mentions 'quattro' though in Drive train section it mentions it to be FWD with ESP but does this mean we will get 4WD (optional) in TSI and 2.0 TDI as well? I do not think so. The word quattro confused me.

Aniket

Last edited by aniket.tiwari27 : 4th May 2012 at 13:46.
Old 4th May 2012, 13:58   #40

Originally Posted by aniket.tiwari27 View Post
The spec sheets mentions 'quattro' though in Drive train section it mentions it to be FWD...t
Hi Aniket,

We noticed that too -- it seems to be a typo/error on the 1.8TFSI and 2.0TDI spec-sheets.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th May 2012, 16:37   #41

Looks stunning, this one. But I much preferred the older 'pearl necklace' effect of them LED's.

Whats with Audi and making the one that brings in the sales, such a sleeper to drive car? The 2.0 would look too underpowered. That, with the CVT box just doesnt cut it for any enthusiast.
The 3.0 just doesnt make sense at that price. Throw in a few more and you could look at the 5 series, or the base A6.
Old 4th May 2012, 17:04   #42

Thanks a lot for the compliments, really, and coming to 3.0TDI yes I asked the dealer and as usual it's only a launch on paper and if you want it they give you the usual answer of 4-6 months. I don't understand why can they not assemble it here or keep a few in stock? If CBU can be priced @ 38 lac, a CKD can definitely be considered in a low volume, some times I think Audi does not take huge leaps in product launches and are only running the ship based on most who buy it only for it's looks but I truly assumed they would launch the car with some extra unique features how MB C250CDI has the panorama roof, BMW might have HUD, etc.

Originally Posted by rahul016 View Post
First of all congrats buddy you predicted the correct launch time.According to bsmotoring website the 3.0 is a CBU
That's exactly what I said a few days back in the Q3 Review thread, Q3 Quattro anyways in global markets is also more expensive than the A4 2.0TDI FWD so I expected similar results here.

Originally Posted by rahul016 View Post
I think Audi is planning to position the Q3 at a slight premium than the A4.So for them the A4 will be the entry level model just like X1 is for BMW
Believe me if the 3.0TDI was available off the shelf, or even if they had considered CKD route it is quite well priced when you consider the C250CDI is Rs. 35,31,062 Ex-Showroom Ahmedabad.

Audi A4 3.0TDI is only there to fill the price lists they make no efforts to stock it, yes it is expensive and it maybe as much as lower end E's and 5's but thats the point if you look at cars in that manner most higher models over lap the next lower model but when you talk about those who want a nice self driven powerful sedans cars like A4 3.0TDI / BMW 330d/i make a lot of sense.

Originally Posted by fuel_addict View Post
The 3.0 Quattro looks mouthwatering on paper but the price is a shocker.
Quote me on this for future but can assure you the BMW 3 is going to walk over the competition without any effort until MB and Audi's next gen models come in 2014 and 2015.

Last edited by S350L-E240 : 4th May 2012 at 17:05.
S350L-E240 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th May 2012, 19:22   #43

The new a4 should have come with the 170 tune tdi. Audi india are relying to much on brand name now, hope it works for them, isn't the car more jacked up in ride height?
Old 4th May 2012, 21:32   #44

I was looking for reviews of 2012 Audi A4 on the net but there were very few of them compared to BMW 3 series F30.So i think clearly BMW is a more popular brand around the world compared to its rivals.I don't think the new A4 is any threat to the new 3 series and BMW will be continuing to hold the top spot.

New Audi A4 Brochure.They have also mentioned the S4 3.0 TFSI Quattro 245 kw variant in the brochure.But no prices were revealed at the time of launch.

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team: Please use the "edit" button if posting within 30 minutes of the first post, instead of creating another back-to-back post.
File Type: pdf audi_a4_brochure_pdf.pdf (1.28 MB, 465 views)

Last edited by .anshuman : 4th May 2012 at 23:31. Reason: See note in post
rahul016 is offline   Received Infraction
Old 5th May 2012, 10:25   #45

When it's time to change my daily driver (currently 2009 320d), I'm gonna be looking at the same size car but wanna go for a bigger engine for sure. So either the A4 3.0TDi or the new 3 with a bigger engine - 325d or even 330d. Diesel of course is not a priority for me. Can be petrol too.

The guys at Audi Chennai are not expecting any stock of the 3.0TDi anytime before July. The S4 availability is expected around the same time. The S4 will come with the 3.0TFSi engine putting out 334bhp. Expected to be priced upwards of 60L though.