Old 23rd May 2013, 21:03   #46

Re: Tata Nano Special Edition for Diwali : More goodies, same price

Originally Posted by proxax View Post
Went for a test drive and booked the Tata Nano Special Edition. Overall a decent package, the rims did not impress me at all but yeah they do add some spark to the overall look of the Nano.
I checked the VIN and re-checked with the executive at Concorde Motors, Chennai; manufactured in November 2012.
Overall, a Happy Visit. Kept smiling at the Nano on display Looking forward to driving it home on the 29th of May!
Hey..Congrats on your purchase.
How much discount are you getting and which colour?
rock18 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2013, 21:48   #47

Went for a test drive and booked the Tata Nano Special Edition. Overall a decent package, the rims did not impress me at all but yeah they do add some spark to the overall look of the Nano.
Congratulations on booking the Nano. Wish you a happy ownership experience.

I checked the VIN and re-checked with the executive at Concorde Motors, Chennai; manufactured in November 2012.
Looks like TaMo still has quite a few 2012 Nanos to be sold and hence is not launching the 2013 version yet.

Did you get any discount for buying the 2012 model?
safari_lover is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2013, 21:49   #48

Went for a test drive and booked the Tata Nano Special Edition.
Congratulations!
Do try and bargain since its a last year's production model and also since the new one is round the corner. Do share the pics when you get your car.
Happy nanoing around!
avingodb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th May 2013, 16:53   #49

Thank you rock18, safari_lover, avingodb

We got a discount of Rs 17,000 and Chennai On-Road price rounded-up to Rs 2,50,000; which isn't a discount to be honest as 2013 LX costs Rs 2,67,000. Just old price. There are zilch discounts on the Tata Nano, was tempted to but the Tata Sumo Gold with Rs 50,000 discount on the on-road price.

We're buying the Papaya Orange LX Special Edition
Old 2nd June 2013, 13:02   #50

After 4 days and 400km I'm starting to submit to the fact that Nano could be more than just my second car in the near future. It could be My Car in the city, Suburbs and 500 km return trips around Chennai.

There were some squeaks and groans in the front left wheel which vanished in 4km of driving from Concorde Motors to Bodyguard Muneeshwaran temple. Then came a large repeating thud / clicking sound from the rear left drive shaft. It was there the next day for a few kms and right on after the first 23 km it was gone too! No sound even after a cold start the next day.

The Nano proved its worth yesterday when I was on a trip to my beloved Mahabalipuram on the East Coast Road (ECR). It handled well, didn't swerve off on curves and most importantly felt so composed and refined all along. I might forget my smooth ownership experience of the Maruti 800's (we've owned three between 1989 and 2008) sooner than I care to think.

Find a picture of the little one attached
Tata Nano Special Edition for Diwali : More goodies, same price-img201305290007614401080.jpg  

proxax is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd June 2013, 12:29   #51

Its a great little rear engined car, and you must all know how much we love rear engined cars at Profusion!

Viva rear engined motoring! :-)
Chris C is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd August 2013, 02:59   #52

I was looking for a good used car under 1.5 lac. Used Nanos are now available for really low prices, especially the pre-2012 edition models. Owners are in for a rude shock when they try to exchange their cars, with dealers offering prices as low as 80K for even the 2012 edition models. Most owners decide that it's not worth selling it, and keep it as a second or in come cases, a third car. All this meant that it was really hard to find a good car for sale that the owner didn't want a huge premium for.

I've been looking for months, and last week, I finally found exactly what I was looking for. It's a Dec 2012 Nano LX Special Edition, in Papaya Orange. It has the alloys wheels, JVC USB HU with front door speakers, glove boxes etc. Additionally, it has remote locking as well. I test drove it for about 20 minutes and it seemed almost as good as the 2013 model that I had driven the day before. There was less than 5500km on the odo, and service history was perfectly clean. Apparently, the owner bought it for his wife's use, but she wasn't able to get to grips with the manual gears. They have booked an A-Star AT, and they put this beauty up for sale because the dealer offered them just 90K in exchange.

Due to some issues at work, I couldn't take delivery this week, and the purchase will be completed on Sunday. As for the price, let's just say I paid more than the market price, but I feel that it is worth the price, especially considering that I saved more than a lakh over a new car, and got the alloys too. Moreover, the current owner has also taken a 4 year AMC which includes all consumables and normal wear/tear parts.

IMHO, used Nanos are a great deal for anyone looking for a cheap car for regular use. You just can't get any other decent car less than 5 years old at this price, at least not in Kerala. Every other hatch would have cost more or was too old. It's weird that a 2005 model Baleno used less than 50K would cost the same as a 2005 model Alto used for 70K or 80K kms.

I was really tempted to go for the new 2013 Nano, especially since I loved the new Blue and Gold shades available and the improved interiors, but I decided to put it off till they launch a version with power steering and hopefully, a more powerful engine. The one I bought should serve me well till then.
vivekgk is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 23rd August 2013, 10:19   #53

Originally Posted by vivekgk View Post
I
I've been looking for months, and last week, I finally found exactly what I was looking for. It's a Dec 2012 Nano LX Special Edition, in Papaya Orange.
Congratulations Vivek for the car. Used cars make good sense when the condition & service history is clean, which is your case too. It is true that due to so many upgrades, the older Nanos are suffering on low resale value fronts. But good that you scored the alloys, Music system and the AMCs too. This must be the last diwali edition.
Enjoy your new ride and do put up an ownership report.

Saket
saket77 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com