Old 27th May 2006, 07:52   #61

Originally Posted by tsk1979
. And spares will definately be cheaper too. So the above test doesn't hold too well!

Agreed but it gives an idea about the cars in terms of driving dynamics
Old 27th May 2006, 12:23   #62

In the same fifth gear test they said the Laura costs 18000 pounds thats roughly less then 15L and the Golf reaches 100 in .1 secs faster but the Laura has a higher top speed by 5kmph.
Old 27th May 2006, 12:34   #63

id put d money down as a downpayment for a brand new impretza..... he he
Old 27th May 2006, 13:38   #64

Originally Posted by janeckozzy
id put d money down as a downpayment for a brand new impretza..... he he
Did you mean Imprenza?????
Old 27th May 2006, 13:53   #65

Actually I think Devarshi has a point. If you take a used Lancer for say about 4 lakhs and then spend 16 lakhs on engine transplants, suspension upgrades and other mods, it will rip all other contenders a new exhaust pipe.
Old 27th May 2006, 15:32   #66

Originally Posted by Boom Shiva
Actually I think Devarshi has a point. If you take a used Lancer for say about 4 lakhs and then spend 16 lakhs on engine transplants, suspension upgrades and other mods, it will rip all other contenders a new exhaust pipe.
Well, as long as we are thinking about engine transplants - why not consider a second hand OHC, and plonk in one of those B-series or D-series VTEC engines which give upto 180-200 bhp.

An engine like that should not cost more than 5 L, and an old OHC around 4-5 L. Then you have suspension upgrades and racing seats/steering, 17 inchers, air-filters, NOS maybe - all adding upto a total of less than 15 lacs, and you have a racer which might do a one up on the Evo.

Hmmm - I better watch F&F one more time for more ideas
Old 27th May 2006, 16:36   #67

@goldiemalhotra; You can get an OHC 1.3, type II, for about 3 lacs. There are B16B's and B18C's (or better yet, an H22) available for import for about a lac and a half; used, of course. Bring them in, overhaul the setup for about a lac and a half or so (that would include race/forged pistons, conrods, wiring harness, et.al). Stiffen up the suspension, add coilovers, strut braces, brembo rotors, hondata/haltech standalone ECM's, and others for another 2 lacs. Increase the rear height, decrease the front, add sticky rubbers from michelin, and voila- you have a late 11- early 12 second car for about 8-8.5 lacs. Pure insanity. Want more? Add NOS/turbo to that setup for another 1.5 lacs, and you have a potential 11 second car, given the right setup.

So, for less than 1 million rupees, you have your own ultra-fast dinky racer; a car that can give Porsche boxsters and Audi Quattros a massive complex. Alas, easier said than done, and people are already on the project as I speak...
Old 27th May 2006, 18:58   #68

Originally Posted by veyron1
So, for less than 1 million rupees, you have your own ultra-fast dinky racer; a car that can give Porsche boxsters and Audi Quattros a massive complex. Alas, easier said than done, and people are already on the project as I speak...
An 11-second car within 10 L - WOW !!! Had no idea it could be done in that small a budget.
Old 27th May 2006, 20:46   #69

Originally Posted by veyron1
Alas, easier said than done...
Heh. Always read the fine print Goldie. You could end up with 10 lakh rupees worth of fried metal.
Old 28th May 2006, 01:01   #70

Best sub 20 lakh performance cars in India.

Skoda Octavia RS
Old City Vtec
Old Ford Mondeo

Shan2nu
Old 6th June 2006, 07:57   #71

How about this......

Ford Mondeo - 2001
  • Sparco Recaro seats.
  • Tyres - 17" 245 section.
  • OZ racing wheels.
  • ECU remap software.
  • KKK turbocharger.
  • New Mondeo's bumper + Skirts.
  • Scoop on roof top.
  • Black Paint Job from Dupont.
  • New Mondeo's tail lamp.
  • Free Flow exhaust.
Old 6th June 2006, 07:58   #72

By the way recaro seats coz the old one's Electric seats are plagued with electrical problems.
Old 7th September 2006, 20:03   #73

Right now I guess Civic with perfomance mods can be a great contender for this title.