Size:  59.1 KB

Detailed Brochure

C-Class_Brochure_full_1.pdf

Source: www.mercedes-benz.co.in
neeld is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th November 2014, 12:42   #32

Re: 2015 Mercedes-Benz C-Class launched at Rs 40.9 lakh Ex-Delhi

As usual Mercedes is going all out on the features, but skimping on the drivetrain as is the trend with their recent launches.

The new C looks great, and has great interiors and that is why it will sell even at this price. After CKDs are started I don't think the price will come down too much, since I believe Mercedes absorbs some costs with the CBU launches that they do.

Either way, its very well loaded. The variable damping suspension is a first in this segment I believe, and so is the branded audio system.

Still the ride in this apparently isn't as good as the outgoing C, and for all you BMW haters this too has a space saver strapped to the boot floor.

I hope with the CKDs they don't downgrade the audio system, and also hope they launch the 250cdi though I know it is very unlikely as the seem to be sticking to the 200s for the MFA cars, the 220 for the C class and 250 and above on the E class and ML, etc.

Last edited by Akshay1234 : 26th November 2014 at 12:44.
Akshay1234 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th November 2014, 14:07   #33

Originally Posted by fine69 View Post

Attachment 1312123
Pic Source[/url]
Donno if i hate the styling but i do definitely love that color!
Old 26th November 2014, 15:25   #34

Naah, these prices aren't sustainable. Similar to the 5-Series which has a 60 lakh OTR price on paper, but the dealer is quick to mention 8 - 10 lakh discounts.

The initial lot of C200s will sell because its new, a CBU and has limited supplies. The diesel & CKD will bring realistic (lower variants) and sub-40 lakh pricing.
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th November 2014, 15:29   #35

This will easily translate to half crore onroad in bangalore.
50 lacs for C class, who would have thought about this... It's bizarre
Old 26th November 2014, 15:53   #36

It looks stunning in the red, can't wait for the new C63 to be launched here
Old 26th November 2014, 17:39   #37

This new Mercedes C Class is a step in the right direction.Cool new design language both inside and out.

As Akshay mentiones Mercedes thinks Indians don't deserve top class drivetrains and only want features.THE A,B,CLA and GLA would be great buys as city runners if only they could give us more powerful diesels.Merc seems to be becoming the Hyundai of the premium class.

The only fly in the ointment for the C Class are the noisy diesel engines.I hope they can work on that soon enough and bring smoother diesels.I drive a E250CDI and because I still drive like a boy racer I love some engine noise but family seems to hate it.This is a car that would surely replace the Skoda Laura in my garage.

PS:Love the Burmester stereo.Hope they retain it for the Diesel Avantgarde model.

Last edited by Ascari : 26th November 2014 at 17:44.
Ascari is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th November 2014, 18:54   #38

C-class which used to start at 27-28 L a few years back, starting at 41 ex-showroom now ! That is some inflation. But it got me thinking, pricing of all cars in India have moved to one segment above over the last 4-5 years, no?

For instance-
Octavia (when it was last produced) was a 10-11 lakh car, now starts at 15;
Honda City (Dolphin) had top end at around 8-9L, which is pretty much the base model price now;
Camry was around 18-19L model, now retails for 26-27L;
Jetta, the original model, was again a 12L car, now asking for 16L;
CR-V was a 17-18L vehicle, asking for 25L now

I am sure (if and) when Civic and Accord are launched by Honda, Civic will be priced where Accord used to be earlier (similar to Octavia and Jetta) and Accord will move a level up (Camry level).

And the funny part is that the used car market prices the car based on current prices of the models, rather than price at which they were bought.

Do we have a thread on how prices of cars have moved north in last 4 odd years ?

*Disclaimer- The prices mentioned in the list above are rough number, not accurate. And they are based more on memory, rather than any objective search.*

Last edited by Vitalstatistiks : 26th November 2014 at 18:58. Reason: Added disclaimer
Vitalstatistiks is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th November 2014, 20:15   #39
GRV

I had a 2012 model C class avantgard and I was also cursing myself buying 2 years too early and not wait for the latest c class. Did some research that says that GC in new model is higher and suspension is on stiffer side, which means the ride quality of previous model was better. Similarly the new model;s steering is faster than previous one, but previous ones steering was far more smooth. These two facts have reduced my frustation and if I add the impact of launch price og w205, then I guess my c class (w204) is far more value for money along with better ride quality.

but this 40.9 L will surely come down significantly by removing the following features : Navigation, Reverse Camera, Start / Stop button, Branded audio system . I estimate that my removing these they can shave off 3 lakhs from current price. Merc did this with their E CLASS also where the launch edition was fully loaded
Old 26th November 2014, 20:49   #40

Max Torque - 300 @ 1200-1400RPM.

Isn't that a really small peak-torque RPM band for a turbo-petrol? Could be good for Fuel Efficiency, enabling the auto-box to shift up really early.

Also noticed on the page marked #26 in the brochure:

Note: Not conducive for driving in Waterlogged roads with still water depth more than 25 cm.
This reminds me of the Honda Amaze diesel water logging issues. Not a good purchase for Mumbai, Delhi, or Bangalore then.

Beautiful car, but I think the price is more because of it being imported as CBU for now. I also feel (as has been stated earlier) that Mercedes will introduce the diesels as CKD imports at different trim levels and better pricing.
Old 26th November 2014, 21:15   #41

Originally Posted by RohanDheman View Post
As someone who bought a C200 Avantgarde in Febraury 2014, here is my reaction:

(since only two are allowed).

Should have waited for this!!!

Yes my C was a bargain at 33 lacs (almost 11 lacs cheaper than the W205) but my god the W205 looks absolutely mind boggingly gorgeous in that shade of blue!

A big DAMN! once again!

Rohan
Rohan

Do not forget your C is built like a tank, something Mercs were famous for. You would not find this in the new generation because of the extensive use of aluminium. All I can say is, You are safe from all sides.
Happy motoring, enjoy the steering feedback.

Pradeep
E90-E250 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th November 2014, 22:09   #42

Originally Posted by amit View Post
I am with you on this. I don't like the way the new C looks and the rear design has a major role to play in that.

50L on road Mumbai is close to full price BMW 320D Sport/Luxury line isn't it? I understand the petrol 320 is about 6-7 lakhs more.
I have to disagree (of course taste varies, still..). I have seen one in person and the rear with those lit up lamps are just gorgeous. One of the key reasons why its fondly called a baby S-class in certain circles.

Old 26th November 2014, 23:31   #43

Yup the C class is officially out of reach for most. They better think about reducing their inflated price tags in all segments. Do some local assembling and give us AFFORDABLE LUXURY cars.

Speaking of which , suddenly feel Skoda can make a huge impact by releasing a new Superb right about now.
Old 27th November 2014, 10:10   #44

Originally Posted by vinjosep View Post

...the rear with those lit up lamps are just gorgeous. One of the key reasons why its fondly called a baby S-class in certain circles.

Name:  ForumRunner_20141127_100816.png
Views: 3869
Size:  209.0 KB
(Snapshot from Merc's ad)

Yeah! If I see that in front of my windscreen, I would be like drooool!!

Last edited by GKR9900 : 27th November 2014 at 10:17.
Old 27th November 2014, 12:43   #45

Going for the dealer launch tomorrow. Let me know if you guys need any pictures in particular and I shall do my best to get them. Hoping to drive her over the weekend for a comparison with the W204.

Rohan

2015 Mercedes-Benz C-Class launched at Rs 40.9 lakh Ex-Delhi-imageuploadedbyteambhp1417072320.873520.jpg