Old 14th March 2020, 03:22   #46

Re: Mahindra Bolero update coming up later in 2019

Originally Posted by BANDHAV View Post

This is still my personal favorite shape of Bolero.
Mine too!

Originally Posted by cool_dube View Post
I completely agree... one of those ageless designs Posting a pic of my Bolero Sportz from a decade or so back.
Lovely Bolero. I was so unhappy when they changed these lights. I have planned so many times to change the lights on my Bolero to these, but it still pending. Now I have got used to it. Posting a few pics of my Bolero LX

Mahindra Bolero update coming up later in 2019-15e5a1fe9a1d40ddbbe033d1d6445ed9.jpeg

Mahindra Bolero update coming up later in 2019-ae070a2a18324936bfc7aa36b3d691e2.jpeg

Mahindra Bolero update coming up later in 2019-1e630203a14a4351af159b2e7dafeeca.jpeg

Last edited by BlackPearl : 24th March 2020 at 20:12.
BlackPearl is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 14th March 2020, 14:18   #47

Originally Posted by BANDHAV View Post
This will never get old. This is a classic example of true timeless design.
+1 to that

Originally Posted by simplyself View Post
Original Bolero design looks much better than the later iterations, more so than the latest one.
Any day. I was very disappointed with the "face lifts" post this first gen Bolero.

Originally Posted by sechebe View Post
It would have been a compelling choice for us enthusiasts if it had 4x4 transfercase and a Non-Leafspring rear suspension.
Agreed. In fact, this vehicle had it all - excellent approach and departure angles, good ground clearance, rugged build, and looks to kill. I would not have given it off had it been a 4WD for sure. There was a 4WD variant of the Bolero GLX but it was shod with leaf springs all around, making the ride VERY bouncy.

Originally Posted by Kosfactor View Post
My favourite model of Bolero anyday
Originally Posted by BlackPearl View Post
Mine too!
I loved it! The slow revving Peugeot IDI engine was lovely and matched my sedate driving style perfectly. NVH levels were very low and seating was very comfortable on long drives. As Kosfactor said, the ride was surprisingly comfortable for a vehicle that had leaf springs at the rear. I would have retained it for sure had it been a 4WD.

Another lovely memory with my Bolero. Just realized it's been 13 years since I gave it off.
Mahindra Bolero update coming up later in 2019-bolero2.jpg  

cool_dube is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 14th March 2020, 14:37   #48

Mahindra could have used this opportunity to make some much needed changes to this aging beauty. Some of the likables were : independent rear suspension, better room / sliding / folding middle row, safety features and a few creature comforts.

Along with the rural, they could have very well targeted semi urban crowds as well with the above changes.

In any case, this tread is enough to make Mahindra realize there is big fan following for this ageless rugged SUV!!
Old 14th March 2020, 16:33   #49

Originally Posted by cool_dube View Post

Agreed. In fact, this vehicle had it all - excellent approach and departure angles, good ground clearance, rugged build, and looks to kill. I would not have given it off had it been a 4WD for sure. There was a 4WD variant of the Bolero GLX but it was shod with leaf springs all around, making the ride VERY bouncy.
The Camper 4x4 version on the other hand is surprisingly comfortable although it too has leaf springs all around, the longer wheelbase make it more comfortable. A reason why jungle lodges in Karnataka prefer it as their Safari vehicle.

My guess is that it is possible to convert a BOF vehicle like Bolero from 2WD to 4WD, as well as leaf spring to coils, R&P steering etc. A restomod Bolero Sports will be super cool.

I once was toying with the idea of buying a brand new Bolero 4x4 and changing the front clip to Sportz. Yep, I still may get to do it someday.
Old 14th March 2020, 20:16   #50

According to me this is the best design for Bolero, the first generation Bolero owned by malayalam filim actor Amit Chakklakal.
Mahindra Bolero update coming up later in 2019-88434886_10212312807015520_461373332625817600_o.jpg  

Mahindra Bolero update coming up later in 2019-89257788_2605763896412288_7386876216160026624_n.jpg  

jobug is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 15th March 2020, 12:50   #51

It seems BS6 Bolero has already reached showrooms. The thing I like the most is those power window switches on rear doors. Earlier all power window switches were on the centre which was very inconvenient for the rear passengers. Variant lineup has been changed to B4, B6 and B6 optional from earlier sle, slx, zlx. There are separate filler flaps for fuel and DEF.

Udit is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th March 2020, 19:27   #52

The bonnet design has also changed. Seems that it sits a little higher to accomodate BS6 related parts. However, I am not sure whether they have completely removed the crossbars or it's another sheet of insulation over them.
Pictures are screenshots from youtube videos.
Mahindra Bolero update coming up later in 2019-img_20200316_190929.jpg  

Mahindra Bolero update coming up later in 2019-img_20200316_191937.jpg  

Radiator is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2020, 16:55   #53

I like the new look, and I think the headlamps and the grille finally look like they have been designed to go together. That said, I think that Mahindra missed an opportunity to do a restomod kind of look for the vehicle.
vivekgk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th March 2020, 11:31   #54

Prices announced, prices start from Rs 7.98 lakh - Link
wheelguy is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 25th March 2020, 17:31   #55

Another new feature- Cornering headlamps. Limited to the topmost trim.
The 'Rocky Beige' colour is no longer available. Base LX variant also discontinued.
The torque band has become shorter. It's now 1600-2200rpm compared to 1400-2200rpm earlier.
Mahindra Bolero update coming up later in 2019-img_20200325_172833.jpg  

File Type: pdf bolero_2020_brochure.pdf (1.21 MB, 696 views)

Last edited by Radiator : 25th March 2020 at 17:52. Reason: Typo
Radiator is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 25th March 2020, 18:58   #56

A nice looking practical car. Though its very popular in rural areas due to easy maintenance and simplicity in mechanics (it uses many old school design which many of the roadside mechanics can fix), Bolero is also a very popular people mover in Tier 2 and 3 cities.
The new one looks better overall. Wish they had used this opportunity to give dual airbags.
Old 25th March 2020, 20:46   #57

At this price, the bolero now costs too much. The Marazzo M2 is just 1.5 lakhs more. For a 5 year loan, the difference in EMI is almost nothing.

Even for those who want something more rugged, the TUV300 T4+ is 5 thousand rupees cheaper! It is a far superior product in every aspect, be it ride, handling, safety, comfort etc. The only advantage the bolero previously had was that it had a more reliable engine. But post the BS6 update, they both now have the same engine. If the bolero still sells well, then it is only because of the brand recall and recognition that it enjoys in the rural market.
Old 26th March 2020, 00:51   #58

Here's the brochure for the 2020 Bolero.
File Type: pdf bolero-2020-brochure.pdf (1.21 MB, 697 views)
Old 26th March 2020, 04:20   #59

Originally Posted by Sanidhya mukund View Post
At this price, the bolero now costs too much.
On price, well, it is the same story if you were to buy a Thar crde. It is 12 lacs on road. Is it worth that much? No but there is a small market for it. With a Bolero, you get better weather sealing for the cabin.

I believe there is market for the Bolero. The Marazzo has more bling about it, that you probably don't care about in a rural environment. Also; direct access to all rows of seats is a bonus on the Bolero. The build of the Bolero (Yes; they are both based on ladder frames) is more suited to a "no road" environment too.

For folks operating a Bolero as a cab, that 1.5lac in savings is no small amount.

Personally; I find the TUV300 to be one of the most unappealing pseudo SUV's around.

Last edited by sandeepmohan : 26th March 2020 at 04:25.
sandeepmohan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th March 2020, 09:15   #60

Originally Posted by sandeepmohan View Post
On price, well, it is the same story if you were to buy a Thar crde. It is 12 lacs on road. Is it worth that much? No but there is a small market for it. With a Bolero, you get better weather sealing for the cabin.

I believe there is market for the Bolero. The Marazzo has more bling about it, that you probably don't care about in a rural environment. Also; direct access to all rows of seats is a bonus on the Bolero. The build of the Bolero (Yes; they are both based on ladder frames) is more suited to a "no road" environment too.

For folks operating a Bolero as a cab, that 1.5lac in savings is no small amount.

Personally; I find the TUV300 to be one of the most unappealing pseudo SUV's around.

I guess the Thar and the Bolero must be having great margins for Mahindra. But even the Thar is now getting an all new model.

I agree that the Marazzo can not match the bolero in terms of people cramming capacity, rough road ability, fuel economy and reliability. But for people for whom these aspects are of primary importance, the TUV300 is equally good and a better product than the Bolero in all other aspects.

When the TUV was yet to be launched, people were speculating it to be the next generation Bolero. I sincerely hope that Mahindra give us an all new bolero soon, because the current model is too old now. It's a slightly modified Armada Grand which itself was a slightly tweaked Willy's from the 1950s! If you look at all the cars currently on sale in India, except for the Bolero and the Maruti Eeco, none of them have such old underpinnings. While I agree that the set of customers these cars are catering to are very happy with them, but the manufacturers can and should give us all new models.