Old 19th April 2021, 23:43   #106

Re: Isuzu D-Max V-Cross 1.9L 4x4 AT spied. EDIT : Now Launched at Rs. 19.99 lakhs

I may be late to the party, but I just realised that the D-Max Isuzu sells in India is basically a Chevrolet Colorado. The same vehicle Chevy sells all over the western hemisphere.

Isuzu has developed the 3rd gen D-Max, which is a complete redesign, but they are only selling in SE Asia and Japan. It's another case of hand-me-down for the poor Indian customer from a global brand. The new 3rd gen D-Max is an impressive vehicle, especially in the safety department.

Last edited by stallmaster : 19th April 2021 at 23:46. Reason: Grammar
stallmaster is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 20th April 2021, 07:54   #107

Re: Isuzu D-Max V-Cross 1.9L 4x4 AT spied. EDIT : Now Launched at Rs. 19.99 lakhs

Originally Posted by stallmaster View Post
It's another case of hand-me-down for the poor Indian customer from a global brand.
Yes and No, think from Isuzu’s point, even if they price V class at 23 lac, they will get around 15 lac or less (dealer margin plus 50%. GST). Due to the low numbers they do, they still have to import a lot, add some custom duties as well and now taking Rs 75 as an exchange rate, tell me any country where one can get a Brand New Automatic Pickup Truck for 20,000 USD!

Also check the price differences in any market between a pickup and suv, like ranger/ endeavour or fortuner/ Hilux. Currently fortuner 4x4 starts at over 35 lac ex showroom, do you think our market can pay 30 lac ex showroom for a newer generation pickup?

If someone is ready, do drop an email to Isuzu, apparently they have some plans to import some limited kits for the newer variant
Turbanator is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th April 2021, 08:23   #108

Originally Posted by Big Smoke View Post
If the Hi-Lander is only a "slightly" more premium offering than the D-Max, then what makes it more expensive by Rs. 5 lakh!
Important addition this vehicle will get over the S Cab is dual airbags and ABS. The S Cab isn't by regulation required to have those and is absent while the vehicle for private registration will have it by default.

Add the 15% extra GST. I think it will be launched at 12.xx which was the initial launch price of the V Cross.

Originally Posted by stallmaster View Post
I may be late to the party, but I just realised that the D-Max Isuzu sells in India is basically a Chevrolet Colorado. The same vehicle Chevy sells all over the western hemisphere.
Not that bad I think. This is the same as the current generation Chevrolet Colorado and GMC Canyon in North American markets. While these are old, they are quite competitive.
Ragavsr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th April 2021, 09:02   #109

There are going to be 4 models. Highlander 4x2 Manual , 4x2 Mid model Automatic and Top model with 6 airbags and fully loaded in 4x4 both Manual and Auto.

My guess is range will start from 13.xx for highlander upto 26.xx for top Auto all ex-showroom.
tazmaan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th April 2021, 09:32   #110

Originally Posted by Big Smoke View Post
If the Hi-Lander is only a "slightly" more premium offering than the D-Max, then what makes it more expensive by Rs. 5 lakh! I'm very sure that better paint, wheel caps & a different bumper don't cost Rs. 5 lakhs.
Exactly my thoughts when I first saw this thread! The car looks to be extremely basic at the price point, maybe if this was 6-7 years ago this amount of kit would make sense. In 2021 however, this seems to stick out like a sore thumb.

I'm no pickup truck expert but from the reviews of Isuzu cars that I've read on our forum, I would steer clear from Isuzu as a whole, no offence to our fellow BHPians who own Isuzus.
AKSarkar1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th April 2021, 09:40   #111

Originally Posted by chinchu.c View Post
Last week I had sent an email to Isuzu India asking them to classify the S-Cab as personal use vehicle so that it could be registered for personal use.
S-Cab is cheap due to the commercial registration. You can get the car on yellow plates and use it.

Originally Posted by BANDHAV View Post
If highlander is going to cost around 15+ lacs, S-Cab makes so much more sense, a basic 5000 Rs remap can remove the speed limit, certain additional funds can get you a private registration.
You won't be able to convert yellow plate to white plate for the first X years. (I'm not aware of the latest rule, but you couldn't change for upto 3 years a while back).
blackwasp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th April 2021, 11:41   #112

If Isuzu is canny and plays it well, without being too greedy this model can be quite competitive.
A well priced D-Max for personal use, whatever be the nomenclature/variant name; with the option of a 4x4 and priced lower than the Thar, can give some potential buyers of the Thar, a choice in 4x4 below Rs 15 Lacs.

Agreed, the Thar, with its "me too Wrangler" styling and road presence will win many a hearts but for those considering practicality alongwith all wheel drive ability, the Isuzu will be a strong contender.

Isuzu can keep prices low and offer contents and fitments as "optional packs" much like what Tata Motors is doing to the ALTROZ, with "Rhythm pack" etc. On a similar vein, Isuzu can have "Luxury pack", "Off road pack"( maybe with an factory endorsed lift kit) blah-blah.

Fundamentally the Isuzu is a very strong, capable and reliable vehicle.
The company should now take these virtues, mix, match and price it judiciously to make it a winner.
And its highly possible to do so.
arjab is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th April 2021, 11:47   #113

Originally Posted by blackwasp View Post
You won't be able to convert yellow plate to white plate for the first X years. (I'm not aware of the latest rule, but you couldn't change for upto 3 years a while back).
Dealer here in NCR get you a white plate from the word go, back in 2019, while I was looking for a new car, I checked and got a quote of 11 lacs and change for one with Pvt. registration. A fellow bhpian from Noida got one with pvt registration for sub 10 lacs.
Old 20th April 2021, 11:59   #114

Lots of confusion here, so let me simplify this.
* Isuzu D-Max S-cab (absolute base variant, avoid)
* Isuzu D-Max S-cab Hi-Ride (76 BHP) This is the one which Urban_Nomad and nkrishnap have. https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/comme...ro-camper.html (Isuzu D-Max vs Tata Xenon vs Mahindra Bolero Camper) This is a lifted variant of the S-cab. AC Power Steering power windows. Thats it. Might or might not get White-numberplates, depending on your RTO.

Isuzu highlander = S-cab hi-ride + engine from the v-cross. So about 150 BHP.
Different variants might or might not get Automatic and 4x4
turbo is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 20th April 2021, 13:45   #115

Can you please elaborate on the may or may not get white plate remark? Not sure what's the rule and why RTO has discretion aka rent seeking ability.
Old 20th April 2021, 15:09   #116

Re: Isuzu D-Max V-Cross 1.9L 4x4 AT spied. EDIT : jiNow Launched at Rs. 19.99 lakhs

Originally Posted by ggkg View Post
Can you please elaborate on the may or may not get white plate remark? Not sure what's the rule and why RTO has discretion aka rent seeking ability.
The may or may not get white board is for the S cab models which are taxed at 28% GST plus their rated load capacity on paper is higher than passenger capacity making it a yellow board vehicle.

Now, RTOs up north routinely allow these vehicles (S Cab, Bolero Camper, Xenon Yodha ) to be registered as white boards. Down south, the RTOs are strict about not registering these as white boards and there are numerous high court judgements in the RTOs favour . This is the correct interpretation of the law even though it might sound silly.
Now, the work around is to have the factory artificially down rate the load carrying capacity like Isuzu had done with the V Cross and now with the Hi Lander to be legally allowed to be registered as white boards.

Last edited by Ragavsr : 20th April 2021 at 15:13.
Ragavsr is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th April 2021, 21:47   #117

From what I found out, even if we pay the difference in GST (22%), RTOs in Telangana and AP wouldn’t allow scab or hi-ride to be registered as private vehicles. I was told this is because form 21/22 mention these models are for commercial use.

Now coming to the pricing of hi-lander variant, My guess is Isuzu wont be able to price it below 15L ex showroom. Hi-ride already costs 12L ex-showroom with 28% GST. Same Hi-ride at 50% GST would cost 14L. Now add additional cost for 2 airbags, ABS, red/blue paint, and imported 1.9L engine and gearbox. If they price it below 15L, I would think Isuzu (and dealers) are taking a cut on the profit.

Last edited by Comrade : 20th April 2021 at 21:52.
Comrade is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st April 2021, 02:21   #118

From all the early reports and information that have been shared here, it does not seems that the AT 4x4 variant will be cheaper because the GST has been quadrupled. Moreover if the top end variant is going to cost close to 25L OTR in Himachal Pradesh (We have one of the cheapest RTO charges across India), then it make little sense to buy it.
Probably a pre-worshipped and a good condition V-Cross 4x4 can serve me well. I think by the end of this month we'll have more clarity on the pricing and which variant is offering what kind of features.
Old 25th April 2021, 11:00   #119

Legal position regarding the issue of registering pickup trucks (including the S-Cab) for personal use:

In a landmark 2009 judgement (Cherian vs Transport Commissioner 2008), the Kerala High Court had ruled that pickup trucks can be registered for personal use if the owner intends to use it for such non-commercial uses. The vehicle in question was Mahindra Bolero Camper 4WD. The court accepted that intention of the owner would decide the class of registration in the case of such vehicles.
However, in the 2015 judgement in Hassan Koya v/s Transport Commissioner, the High Court ruled that the classification made by the manufacturer would be the deciding factor for registration, irrespective of the intended use decalred by the owner. It is thus clear that the classification communicated to ARAI by the manufacturer is the deciding factor in the matter of registering a vehicle as personal/commercial use.
chinchu.c is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th April 2021, 14:42   #120

Originally Posted by TusharK View Post
Isuzu D-Max Hi-Lander pick-up spotted at a dealership
From a resource which I can't disclose, the ex-showroom price for Hi-Lander 2wd will be approx 17 Lakhs. Add another 2.5 lakhs for RTO and registration. It will be 19.5-20 lakhs OTR.

It will make it a tough sell at that price if not Dead on arrival.

Personally, a barebones Pickup with a 4WD manual 17-18 OTR is still acceptable.
Because we can work on improving cabin overtime. Add infotainment, cruise control, fog lamps, all such things can be added.
ambarkhan is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com