yes 46 24.73%
no 140 75.27%
Voters: 186. You may not vote on this poll

Old 18th June 2008, 17:57   #76

Here is the link on Honda India website

hybrid_splash

It is a CVT model (!) with 95 ps@6000 rpm engine and currently available only in pearl white colour.

Bangalore Ex-Showroom price is mentioned as Rs. 21,55,000

Last edited by appuchan : 18th June 2008 at 18:02.
Old 18th June 2008, 18:10   #77

A graphic representation of hybrid engine characteristics at Honda India website.
Honda "Civic Hybrid" coming. EDIT : Now launched @ 21.50 lakhs-hybrid_systemgraph1.jpg  

Old 18th June 2008, 19:07   #78

Originally Posted by appuchan View Post
Bangalore Ex-Showroom price is mentioned as Rs. 21,55,000
Take road tax @ 12.15 % unless there is a discount for hybrid cars. plus insurance.

Possibly close to quarter of a crore !
Old 18th June 2008, 19:15   #79

haha indians dont really care about environment if you already sell a overpriced civic in the accord category. stupid annoying taxes. at 21 laks not one will be sold even. people will pick up the accord blindly. honda on dope or indian government
Old 18th June 2008, 19:15   #80

its 22l ex showroom mumbai.
Old 18th June 2008, 19:27   #81

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
its 22l ex showroom mumbai.
i just checked myself as well. so this is honda flagship model now above the most pricy accord and crv. i would love to meet people who buy this car. and i have a feeling now they might just. in bombay its cool to have such weird cars no matter the price. people love to show off. from what i see online the steering has controls on them. whats the news with that ? seems nice... honda stop smoking dope and sell this for 15 laks if you want sales
Old 18th June 2008, 19:48   #82

HONDA has gone suicidal , if you want to spread a green message , plant more trees around the factory , the hybrid version is slower , has horrid looking wheels , costs nearly double , the first flop of HONDA in many years ......
Old 18th June 2008, 20:00   #83

Holy Cow!! 21.5 lacs ex showroom delhi ! I think its surely overpriced by 4-5 lacs IMO. I expected Honda to price this lil agressively to attract new buyers.
Old 18th June 2008, 20:26   #84

Not sure WHY OUR GOVT dont support GREEN.

Govt should have made 0% as import duty for GREEN cars. These guys want to fill up their pockets with Taxes paid by us.
Old 18th June 2008, 21:59   #85

In other countries buyer get a discount of $2000 for GREEN cars. In india until government motivates the buyer by reducing taxes for the customer or reduce taxes for the company who builds GREEN cars, otherwise difficult to sell these cars.
Old 18th June 2008, 23:06   #86

Unbelievable!!!

I have nothing but CONTEMPT for Honda Motors India

They have priced Hybrid technology out of the reach of most environmentalists and positioned it at a price point only fools will entertain

24 lakhs on road is 8 lacs more than what it should have sold at. I will never buy a Honda product again.

For now, if you want to go green, stick with factory fitted CNG cars.
Old 19th June 2008, 01:33   #87

imagine telling your cousin from the usa that you bought a honda civic hybrid for $55000 he will laugh and say in usa a c300 which pollutes but who cares costs $40000. i dont know why indian government is greedy.
Old 19th June 2008, 07:47   #88

Originally Posted by jesal View Post
i dont know why indian government is greedy.
AFAIK, its a CBU.

Honda chooses the CKD way usually, and that has played a huge role in the success of the Accord over the Camry. IMO, they have introduced the Civic Hybrid in India, not for sales, but for promoting the green brand image of the company. If you notice, this green theme has been going on for sometime, with even the City giving free rides to bugs!

However, whatever the price be, this is the first proper hybrid in India, right?
Old 19th June 2008, 08:02   #89

Honda Civic Hybrid at Rs 21.5 lakh - Released today..

It looks very very expensive since it is a CBU and attracts > 100% duty.

Govt should reduce the duty for all alternate fuel cars to allow manufacturers to develop and produce more alternate fuel cars.
Old 19th June 2008, 08:07   #90

Funniest reason not buy a Honda: One of their cars is expensive due to Govt tax (Just 2 smileys !!!)
Originally Posted by Screwdriva View Post

I have nothing but CONTEMPT for Honda Motors India

They have priced Hybrid technology out of the reach of most environmentalists and positioned it at a price point only fools will entertain

24 lakhs on road is 8 lacs more than what it should have sold at. I will never buy a Honda product again.

For now, if you want to go green, stick with factory fitted CNG cars.