Old 9th November 2007, 15:41   #16

Was talking to this auto journalist the other day, who said car firms seem to be following the Nokia strategy of launching new models at a high price and then slashing prices once the newness wears off.

GM did it with Spark and Hyundai is now doing it with the i10.

Once you take the novelty factor away, the current i10 prices seem even more exorbitant. Give it a few months and I bet we'll start seeing 40k discounts.
Old 9th November 2007, 17:40   #17

i10 is promising car for people who need luxury small car mainly in city. Its fresh interiors are really nice segment above for sure.

Hyundai mainly targeted people who buy second car i 10 is ideal bet.

It look costly but look at features and quality its worth it. If one go buy economy i10 can't beat wagonR/Santro.

i10 is not economy car, it also targeted to people who can't buy kuxury cars. so i10 is like different segment all together.

Ravi.

Last edited by ravibhat : 9th November 2007 at 17:42.
Old 9th November 2007, 19:43   #18

well I think i10 setting a new trend in this segment . Luxury was never offered in b segment cars. I think i 10 will do really well. Me sure will get one as they launch the A/T version .
Old 11th November 2007, 00:45   #19

saw one today
it was certainly more attractive than the santro
but for above or equal to 4 lacs i would go for the indica or palio or even wagonR but not this i10
i think i10 would be a valuable replacement for the santro
again i must admit the design it attractive aspecially the front
Old 11th November 2007, 01:05   #20

saw the i10 at a dealership here in bangalore..

first impression.. hmmm.. okay..
the i10 is quite unconventional in many counts (noticable ones being the gear lever and the tail assembly..)

it'll surely be a better car to drive if you compare it with a SANTRO (isn't it obvious..) but the prices they've positioned the variants at sway dangerously into SWIFT / UVA segment.. (the B+ that is..)

the top end priced at 5 lakhs odd..

i don't think it's worth that kinda money.. the interiors are good i agree but i'd instead pick a ZEN ESTILO for a much lesser price..

maybe if they brought the prices closer to 4.5 (that's the max..) for the top end maybe they'll see better sales..

but as of now.. i10 isn't VFM..
Old 11th November 2007, 07:21   #21

You comparing i10 with indica?
That's too much.
Just drive it once and then see.
Its simply superb. Apart from the fact that its gears are a bit hard, it has anything and everything you would want.
Agreed to the fact that it is above 4 lacs but that is the premium you are paying for being owner of the first few i10's of the world.
Old 11th November 2007, 09:00   #22

Has hyundai cannibalised the Santro?

Seems Hyundai is keen to make the i10 look well-priced. Revised prices of the Santro new versions are higher than comparable versions before. Also offers and all are less now.

AND, the sales people were really stressing the fact that comparable versions of the Santro and the i10 had only about 10k difference (Santro GLS& i10 era). After seeing the i10, and hearing the price, didnt even feel like checking the Santro.

I have put down my impressions in this thread
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...html?styleid=1
Old 11th November 2007, 12:15   #23

AND, the sales people were really stressing the fact that comparable versions of the Santro and the i10 had only about 10k difference (Santro GLS& i10 era).
That's incorrect. The base i10 (i think without a PS) is 60k (plus discounts) costlier than the base santro (with PS)
Old 11th November 2007, 17:44   #24

With its popularity and mass acceptance, the Santro aint going anywhere. Expect some serious repositioning though, as a base hatch.
Old 11th November 2007, 18:37   #25

Manufacture of Santro has been stopped from this month.
Old 11th November 2007, 19:25   #26

Originally Posted by tushar79 View Post
That's incorrect. The base i10 (i think without a PS) is 60k (plus discounts) costlier than the base santro (with PS)
Please verify the facts before blindly commenting that somebody is wrong.

The following are the on-road prices for TVM.
Hyundai Santro GLS (top-model)- 4,01,134.
Hyundai i10 era (2nd model)- 4,10,159
Hyundai i10 Magna (top model)- 4,41,159.

Era has almost same features as the Santro GLS. Check hyundai site for that. Top end Santro and top-end i10 (with many more features than in Santro) are within 40k of each other.
Originally Posted by iridium View Post

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 11th November 2007 at 19:26.
Old 11th November 2007, 23:27   #27

are you really sure about this ??

maybe it is temporary
Old 12th November 2007, 00:04   #28

Please verify the facts before blindly commenting that somebody is wrong.

The following are the on-road prices for TVM.
Hyundai Santro GLS (top-model)- 4,01,134.
Hyundai i10 era (2nd model)- 4,10,159
Hyundai i10 Magna (top model)- 4,41,159.

Era has almost same features as the Santro GLS. Check hyundai site for that. Top end Santro and top-end i10 (with many more features than in Santro) are within 40k of each other.
CrazyDriver, I didn't mean to question your wisdom. But when I went to check the two out last saturday, the dealer said the BASE santro (which will be GL with PS and AC) and the comparable i10 (with PS and AC, i don't remember the model) have a diff of 60k. (And since the santro had free insurance and a 5k cash discount, the total diff was around 75k)

The i10 magna top model (with sunroof), i was told, is for almost 5.5l (OTR).
Old 12th November 2007, 09:40   #29

So Hyundai launched 2 new variants of Santro and then stopped its production. Are you sure ?
Old 12th November 2007, 18:14   #30

If they really discontinue Santro... it would be like killing the golden Duck... Why would Hyundai do that? Though I agree that they really take abnormal decisions which won't even get them the labor charges in the Factory with products like Getz(1.1).....