Old 6th May 2008, 19:02   #31

the beetle is already here, it costs 25L OTR, from Presidential Cars, Mumbai...
u can expect the mini to be priced around that too... dunno bout fiat 500...
Old 6th May 2008, 21:02   #32

though it a little off topic

but i wanna ask , what are heated ORVMs , ive seen brochures of fabia stating that.

orvm == outside rear view mirror , but why would we need to heat it ?

or im wrong in something ?
Old 6th May 2008, 22:36   #33

its generally used for foggy conditions and for hilly places with low temp.

Not of great importance in Delhi.
Old 6th May 2008, 22:37   #34

Fiat 500 is expected to be 12lakh
same with the beetle when VW officially brings it here
Old 6th May 2008, 22:39   #35

3. Which car would be the competitor for 1.9 Fabia?
Fiat Bravo

dunno bout fiat 500...
The Fiat 500 would be around 12lakhs-14 lakhs

Last edited by chetan : 6th May 2008 at 22:40.
Old 6th May 2008, 22:50   #36

i think bravo cant compete with 1.9 fabia , as bravo will be for 20 lac +
Old 6th May 2008, 23:33   #37

Am happy for Fabia as the only thing it lacked was a powerful engine. Should definitely make it a hot hatch!
Old 7th May 2008, 01:04   #38

The 1.9 is still some time away.

1. The Octavia 1.9 is still in production and is bringing in chunk of octavia sales to skoda. Not anytime soon is this car going to be phased out.
2. Fabia wont sell with the same diesel engine or even a 1.9pd (if it fits in the price range) for more than 9 lacs anyday.
3. Skoda cant price octabia and fabia similarly so 1.9pd doesnt stand a chance.
4. To get the 1.9 tdi below 9 lacs range in fabia can be achieved once Skoda increases localization in fabia.

I dont see this happening anytime before 4Qtr of this year at the earliest.
Old 7th May 2008, 01:24   #39

We feel the Fabia is already overpriced.
Now, this engine change could remove the fabia off potential buyers' list owing to the high price.
They'd see value in the Getz CRDI for the power and similar space.
This would make Fabia join the Chevy SR-V as a non-seller.

Now, why would Skoda help fabia dig its own grave just for the sake of a noisy engine?

I feel this story is untrue. What about you?
PS: Abhinav Gupta, I mean no offence to you or your source.

Last edited by nitrous : 7th May 2008 at 01:25.
Old 7th May 2008, 01:37   #40

Originally Posted by inferno View Post
i think bravo cant compete with 1.9 fabia , as bravo will be for 20 lac +
??????? Bravo? For 20+ lakhs???

You're okay with paying 20+ lakhs for a Focus/Golf/Yaris competitor? Thats more money than the Mondeo and the Vectra sold for!

Didnt know people are ready for 10-15-20 lakh hatchbacks back home! And we call the Getz overpriced?
Old 7th May 2008, 08:20   #41

i did confirm the price of bravo ,
from autocar april 2008 page 69

FIAT BRAVO
Price Rs21-22 lakh (est)

148bhp , 31.1kgm , 1910cc
Old 7th May 2008, 09:03   #42

I guess Bravo and 500 are essentially brand building exercises. They dont have big sales targets. In fact Fiat is bringing only limited number of cars, and hoping that they will get picked up for their exclusivity and snob value.
Old 7th May 2008, 11:31   #43

Well all Hyundai needs is to come out with Getz Diesel with more features (luxurious interiors, better and adjustable seats, climatecontrol, airbags etc) and up the price by a max 30-40k and this thread would be irrelevant!

IMHO

Elito

Last edited by Elito11 : 7th May 2008 at 11:34.
Old 7th May 2008, 12:00   #44

Originally Posted by Elito11 View Post
Well all Hyundai needs is to come out with Getz Diesel with more features (luxurious interiors, better and adjustable seats, climatecontrol, airbags etc) and up the price by a max 30-40k and this thread would be irrelevant!

IMHO

Elito
They'd need to rename it as well (probably call is i20 as i-series is getting traction from the public). Getz is entrenched as a failure in public eye(s).

Seriously I hope they launch the all-new i20 or i30 or whatever they want to call it in this segment soon. We need more options in Swift/Swift+ space.
Old 7th May 2008, 12:11   #45

13 - 15 lakhs for a hatch??? Is there something I am missing?