Old 18th December 2008, 10:07   #76

now imagine a 150bhp remapped fabia.
Old 18th December 2008, 21:35   #77

[quote=ajnagpur;1097985]

Lately Skoda had showcased the Fabia SportLine at the Autocar Performance Show. Price is expected to be around Rs. 10 lacs. Will launch in Jan-Feb 2009.

Confirmed news? So you are telling me not to plan for an i20?

The specs are mouthwatering, willing to pay 10 lacs. Heartening to hear such a nice car finally gets the engine it deserves. If the engine is the one found in the Laura, it might be a bit noisy, but the performance shall more than compensate.

Hope they give leather upholstery and delete the sunroof.
Old 18th December 2008, 23:45   #78

Here are the pictures from Autocar Performance Show, Mumbai
New Engine powering the Fabia Soon-skoda_fabia_sports2.jpg  

New Engine powering the Fabia Soon-skoda_fabia_sports.jpg  

New Engine powering the Fabia Soon-skoda_fabia_sports3.jpg  

New Engine powering the Fabia Soon-skoda_fabia_sports4.jpg  

Old 19th December 2008, 07:49   #79

A Peted 1.9TDi Fabia at 10L? That will probably be the first propah propah hot hatch in India.

Yes please!
Old 21st December 2008, 01:16   #80

VW speeds up Chakan rollout by a year

This facility, with a capacity of producing 1.1 lakh cars, will kick-start operations by rolling out Fabia next April.

VW speeds up Chakan rollout by a year- Automobiles-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times
Old 21st December 2008, 01:36   #81

what ever they do this will still be a failure here. Skoda was doing everything right from begining here in India until they launched Fabia.
Old 21st December 2008, 02:16   #82

Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
what ever they do this will still be a failure here. Skoda was doing everything right from begining here in India until they launched Fabia.
Well said. Fabia is foolishly expensive. No doubt its a great hatch, there are better cars at the price it sells.
Old 21st December 2008, 09:59   #83

Originally Posted by abhi1309 View Post
Well said. Fabia is foolishly expensive. No doubt its a great hatch, there are better cars at the price it sells.
You got it right Abhi, my post is all about the pricing.

Skoda is taking steps.

They are localizing 50% parts of Fabia & will produce it locally by april. This will bring the price down.
Old 21st December 2008, 12:19   #84

Majority of the buyers in India feel it is a sin for any hatchback to cost more than 5-6 lakhs. No wonder we are deprived of the really popular hatchbacks such as Golf, Focus, Jazz, etc.
Old 21st December 2008, 22:57   #85

Originally Posted by kcstheg View Post
This could perhaps be the Fabia RS that has 1.9 L oil motor and produces abt 125 odd horses.

The wild child from Czech Republic would perhaps be priced in the 10L range.
Naahhh, lets not push our luck too far shall we ??? LOL
How I wish those kind of cars were available here at reasonable prices but alas .......
Old 21st December 2008, 23:12   #86

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
We feel the Fabia is already overpriced.
Now, this engine change could remove the fabia off potential buyers' list owing to the high price.
They'd see value in the Getz CRDI for the power and similar space.
This would make Fabia join the Chevy SR-V as a non-seller.

Now, why would Skoda help fabia dig its own grave just for the sake of a noisy engine?

I feel this story is untrue. What about you?
PS: Abhinav Gupta, I mean no offence to you or your source.
I want my Verna / Getz CRDi engine in the elegance Fabia for 8L. That would be a stonker and would make good value for money.
Old 21st December 2008, 23:46   #87

The only factor weighing the Fabia down is the weak engine. 10lacs for a Fabia with makeup and no performance, which is all the Indian market will get ,seems like a stretch. I don't believe the horsepower will trickle down to the street version.

Last edited by nickatnite : 21st December 2008 at 23:58.
Old 21st December 2008, 23:55   #88

Originally Posted by androdev View Post
Majority of the buyers in India feel it is a sin for any hatchback to cost more than 5-6 lakhs. No wonder we are deprived of the really popular hatchbacks such as Golf, Focus, Jazz, etc.

I think we are value driven market. If a car costs Rs. 9 lakh on the road, then it must have a proper engine at least a 1.6 ltr and make some more power. On the highway, the car feels just like a Wagon R. Drove Fabia diesel, and it was not a pleasure at all and the only lacking thing was engine. Gearbox was delight.

So they have to sort out on value. And another thing is A.S & S. A customer who buys car,say Maruti 800 is more satisfied with service than a Rs. 9 lakh car owner.
Except the Octavia and Passat, the other cars from VW stable are overpriced ( Superb is not counted ). Problems related to maintenance and spare cost exist.

This is not what a customer wants from such an expensive car. Getz offers almost similar space and more performance and is cheaper. I am sure that if this Sports version comes out, it will be again priced very high. Skoda must understand that Fabia is not Octavia replacement.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 22nd December 2008 at 00:03.
Old 22nd December 2008, 00:26   #89

i completely agree with aaggoswami!!
i know quality comes at a price but not this high. read on the forum that a fabia wheel cap costs 2300 bucks and fog lamps 16k. now thats insane
price and A** are the to things that skoda needs to work on.
Old 22nd December 2008, 14:32   #90

The current fabia is not underpowered atleast, it may feel so because we are used to linear acceleration in our other cars, but once you get the hang of it, even a swift diesel feels bland. The overall handling and performance is superb, try to get that in anything in its price range.

I have a Wagon R, the Fabia is much superior to it in every way, I also have a swift D, and it cannot even come near the Fabia in any department.