Old 22nd June 2008, 10:54   #301

Originally Posted by karanraheja View Post
I dunno what made you feel the G2HC would continue! The G1HC was the best of the lot , but still Honda discontinued it. I guess per City model has life cycle of 5 years. G2HC was launched in 2003 if im not mistaken. With the launch of Civic E just before City s launch is quite evident that Honda doesnt want City to compete with Corolla. With two engines rumoured to be launched ( 1.3 VTEC & 1.5 VTEC) , I feel G3HC will be available from 8-10 lacs range.
IIRC, G2HC came out in 2004, and is doing duty since then. The success of this car had even stunned Honda. So thats why I felt that they wont discontinue, but given the history, G2HC may be history.
Pricing of G3HC will be 8.0 to 9.0 lakhs ( as pointed out by you ) as they wont let SX4 eat more sales.
From the looks of the car, it looks much bigger and has more image so price is expected to be up wards of 7 lakh.
Old 22nd June 2008, 15:51   #302
oss

It's becoming quite evident now with the launch of Civic Hybrid which has a 1.3L iVTEC engine. We can expect the G3HC to have 1.3L & 1.5L iVTEC engines in the price band of 6.5 to 9.5 lakhs.

WHat say you guys??
Old 22nd June 2008, 21:56   #303

Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
IIRC, G2HC came out in 2004, and is doing duty since then. The success of this car had even stunned Honda.
Buddy i think G2HC was launched in 2003 Last quarter. Just hope they do some change in rear styling & we get two engine options to make City affordable for C+ segment buyers.
Old 22nd June 2008, 23:29   #304

Buddy i think G2HC was launched in 2003 Last quarter. Just hope they do some change in rear styling & we get two engine options to make City affordable for C+ segment buyers.

Yes mostly in Noc/Dev. Now looks like 5 year model life cycle stands true here. Kudos to Honda if it comes up with this car during Diwali period.

Any updates from dealership all over ? Vadodara dealer says " Its not coming ".
We all know its false.
Old 23rd June 2008, 15:05   #305

I dunno what made you feel the G2HC would continue! The G1HC was the best of the lot , but still Honda discontinued it. I guess per City model has life cycle of 5 years. G2HC was launched in 2003 if im not mistaken.
If history is anything to go by, Honda does care about its image and will replace the old generation with the new. The current NHC, however strong the sales, is in the final stages of its life.

WRT the G1HC, its time had really gone. Honda did well by discontinuing the OHC in 2003.
Old 23rd June 2008, 16:30   #306

Gen 3 City on July Issue of Autocar

Not sure if this is posted before (could'nt find it in this thread) the July issue of autocarindia's got the scoop of the new city. Check out the cover :: AUTOCAR INDIA - CAR AND BIKE MAGAZINE ::
Old 23rd June 2008, 16:34   #307

Did anyone visit the ACI website or get the July edition , they got exclusive
Pics of New City . Looks awesome from the front !
Old 23rd June 2008, 16:35   #308

ACI has the new city on cover of its July issue.... hope this is a proper pic and not yet another impression....
Old 23rd June 2008, 16:37   #309

The Car in Red !!!!
Did anyone visit the ACI website or get the July edition , they got exclusive
Pics of New City . Looks awesome from the front !
SCOOP! All New 3rd Gen Honda City Caught Testing EDIT : Interior pics on Pg. 39-cover_acijuly08.jpg  

Old 23rd June 2008, 16:58   #310

If history is anything to go by, Honda does care about its image and will replace the old generation with the new. The current NHC, however strong the sales, is in the final stages of its life.

WRT the G1HC, its time had really gone. Honda did well by discontinuing the OHC in 2003.
Correct. Initially I thought that they will go Maruti/Hyundai/Skoda way, but NO. The cars that maurti replaced till now are Zen, Esteem and Baleno.
I appreciate Honda for this.

Originally Posted by diabloo View Post
The Car in Red !!!!

Looks awesome. Honda, if they plan to put in 7 to 9.0 lakh range, well, bye bye to others.

OT: Is that issue on stands ?
Old 23rd June 2008, 20:50   #311

I got my ACI subscription today and it featured a digital reconstruction of the upcoming Honda City Gen 3 (based on Awarty's scoop pics). In fact, the actual scoop pics are shown as well, albiet without the watermark. If the digitally produced image is the actual/final city model that will hit India, it sure will be quite a stunner. It completely overshadowed the space-age design of the current ZX design, more of the European touch. Here is a bigger snap from July issue of ACI.

SCOOP! All New 3rd Gen Honda City Caught Testing EDIT : Interior pics on Pg. 39-nhc.jpg
Old 23rd June 2008, 21:36   #312

Thanks for the pic Itnerd ! City does look stunning now finally ! Though
i would have preferred better rear lights, chrome front grille & fog lamps.
Cant wait to get my hands on this!
Old 23rd June 2008, 21:59   #313

this looks stunning. if this's what comes here - all other cars in 8-10L range will be toast.
Old 23rd June 2008, 22:17   #314

@iTNerd:
Thanks for putting up the images. Again if this car comes with anything in range of present cars prices, then it is not good news for others.
Did ACI shed some light on engines to come ?

IMO, the rear looks like the latest lancer sold in US.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 23rd June 2008 at 22:19.
Old 23rd June 2008, 22:18   #315

Looks much better than the current city! And VTec power!

Compare the production version to team-bhp'ian vivekji05 's effort posted several pages back. Excellent effort! Made sure team-bhp'ians first got an idea of what its going to look like. (And awarty's effort at getting the pics)

SCOOP! All New 3rd Gen Honda City Caught Testing EDIT : Interior pics on Pg. 39-honda-city.jpg

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 23rd June 2008 at 22:30.