Old 17th June 2009, 21:57   #1
R_R

New Grand Vitara 2.4 coming EDIT: Now Launched

Rumours of the new 2.4 L Grand Vitara now apparently confirmed. The Maruti-Suzuki GV website has been replaced by a one-line announcement that the new GV will be coming in July. No other information, though.
New Grand Vitara 2.4 litre : Commoin Soon
Old 17th June 2009, 22:30   #2

Good find. Since they've taken down the old website, the new GV must be around the corner (perhaps even earlier than July)
Old 18th June 2009, 00:06   #3

At what cost the GV will launch in India 25+ L
Old 18th June 2009, 00:13   #4

Still Petrol, I guess due to lack of diesel engines with Suzuki. It's a pity. Really wish they had a diesel option.
Old 18th June 2009, 00:15   #5

Honestly, does anyone care??
Old 18th June 2009, 00:58   #6

Er yes. Why would you not care about a new car being launched/updated?
Old 18th June 2009, 06:47   #7

Why should they take off the website alltogether. Speculating, they may be chaging the car with something which is radically different. Something like the XL7 could come in as the Grand Vitara.

I have my doubts if India will buy a Suzuki XL7 at 20 Lacs. Sorry for speculating and going
nishant_kingpin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th June 2009, 08:19   #8

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
Still Petrol, I guess due to lack of diesel engines with Suzuki. It's a pity. Really wish they had a diesel option.
They always had the 1.9L DDiS option with GV, just not in India. Europe and Australia has this option.

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
Honestly, does anyone care??
Excuse me, they do. Just because you don't care, don't assume nobody does. I don't care about vintage cars or super cars, doesn't mean others don't.

GV is the most VFM and one of the most reliable imported SUV in the market, with the most extensive service network in the country backing it up. The only chink in the armour is the lack of power and diesel option compared to competitors.

Last edited by Samurai : 18th June 2009 at 08:29.
Old 18th June 2009, 10:42   #9

The new genration XL 7 .. if i am not wrong is based on some Chevy Crossover, i think Equinox.. so i dont expect it to be launcehd in India as its not an RHD version.

So we might get a facelifted or a higher spec-engined GV here for our shores. Diesel would be a wonderful addition.
Old 18th June 2009, 11:02   #10

I really miss the DDIS 1.9 available in Australia. Why not in India? With some good localisation, we should get this for around 12l. In Brunei, 2WD, with front/rear disk brakes, abs/ebd dual airbags, petrol auto 2.0 costs less than 7-8 lakhs. That too made in japan! We also dont get DDIS! Pity... Wish I could get this in India with a 1.9 MJTD.
Old 18th June 2009, 11:15   #11

Hope they bring a diesel now if they want people to even start comparing it with its competition for a start.
Old 18th June 2009, 12:45   #12
R_R

The diesel unit in the GV sold in Europe is a 1.9L. Since the website clearly says 2.4 L, looks like they have no intention of bringing in the diesel. The diesel seems to be sold only in Europe, not even in Australia or South Africa or SE Asia, as far as I can tell. Wonder why.
Old 18th June 2009, 15:10   #13

The 2.4 is rumored to be a good one and hopefully will take the fight to CRV level. Suzuki did a lot of engineering behind GV as Suzuki wanted to do good in US market. As a result GV is reall well built, reliable SUV that is not known to give a lot of problems. As per American market requirements, GV lacks so called excitment, but this 2.4 will hopefully bring in some.
2.4 comes at a time when Suzuki sales that had hit 1,00,000 ( in US ) before are coming down. US has already received this motor along with a new 3.2 V6.

Originally Posted by fx45 View Post
The new genration XL 7 .. if i am not wrong is based on some Chevy Crossover, i think Equinox.. so
The latest XL 7 is based on GM Theta platform. Pontiac torrent and Chevy Equinox ( and some Saturn model ) are also based on the same platform. Even the 3.6 V6 is GM high feature engine i.e. with VVT.
Old 18th June 2009, 15:58   #14

Since its a CBU, I wonder whats stopping them from shipping it with a diesel engine.
Old 18th June 2009, 16:33   #15

So no chance of localized assembly eh? Wish they assembled them here.