View Poll Results: Which cheapest car is your choice?
Maruti 800 DX 162 45.51%
Tata Nano LX 194 54.49%
Voters: 356. You may not vote on this poll

Old 13th July 2009, 21:44   #1

Maruti 800 VS Tata Nano!

Hello Everyone,

As the tiny Tata Nano is already here, I just want to know your views on which "Cheapest Car" would you prefer?

Is it the evergreen Maruti Suzuki 800 DX(Top End) OR Tata Nano LX(Top end).

My vote definately goes for the Maruti 800 for its more "car like" design unlike van looking nano, its tried and trusted and there are many other things which I'll pour in later.

These were my views,So what about yours?

Maruti 800 VS Tata Nano!-maruti800.jpg
Maruti 800(Above)

Maruti 800 VS Tata Nano!-2008_tatanano3.jpg
Tata Nano

Mods: If a similar thread already exists kindly delete/close this one.

Best Regards,
VT
Old 13th July 2009, 21:52   #2

Purely as a city runabout, my chioce would be Nano. Nano in Diesel version is what I am waiting for.
Old 13th July 2009, 21:53   #3

Nano diesel. Can they put the CVT on this please? Also, when can one get this car when you want like others?
Old 13th July 2009, 22:00   #4

My vote goes for Nano ,i think 800 will be better on highway.
Old 13th July 2009, 22:01   #5

Tata Nano is certainly (on paper) cheapest car becasue of the following reasons

1. Upfront price of the care
2. Insurance, registration cost ect are lower
3. More fuel efficient engine resulting in lower cost of running
4. safer, greener (Euro IV) than Maruti 800
5. tubeless tyres - easier to maintain
7. even with AC and diesel option still Nano might be cheaper than M800
Old 13th July 2009, 22:06   #6

I will take Nano only because of it offers more space than 800, and ofcourse its much cheaper.
Old 13th July 2009, 22:52   #7

My vote for Nano because of newer technology, more interior space, refreshed looks, more FE and less cost.
Old 13th July 2009, 23:23   #8

On its own, the Nano. Lot more interior space and comfort. Better ride as well. I vote Nano, with the assumption that the after sales service will be in line with needs. That is the big unknown.
Old 13th July 2009, 23:25   #9

Too early to comment. Let the Nano's hit the roads first.
Old 13th July 2009, 23:36   #10

I agree with l2d, its just too early to comment. The 800 is proven beyond question. The Nano appears to be a better car overall but let's see how it lasts on our roads.

Last edited by McLaren Rulez : 13th July 2009 at 23:43.
Old 13th July 2009, 23:42   #11

Maruti 800..ANYDAY!! That car is like a Go Cart!! And It sounds BRILLIaNT with a Free Flow!!
Old 14th July 2009, 07:53   #12

M-800 is at the fag end of product life cycle and Nano is just sweet begining. Not even honeymoon is over. Will have kid later.One such kid may be diesel.
happy dreaming !
Old 14th July 2009, 08:11   #13

Well, i haven't driven the Nano, from whatever i read - Nano anyday. Besides, unless someone forces them out Maruti will keep selling 800 until 2100 AD.
Old 14th July 2009, 08:32   #14

I voted for Nano, but somehow feel we are doing injustice to M800
Old 14th July 2009, 08:35   #15

Voted for Maruti 800.
Reasons are :

1) Proven product. We have one that has crossed 1 lakh kms. This is something Tata has to match. Till date we never had any beading falling off or any such issues.

2) Reliability. Something again that is to be proven with time. I am separating this from point 1 is because this car has been very very reliable. We have used it quite roughly for last 4 years, but still it fires up and runs daily without trouble. Absolutely no powertrain issues.

3) A.S & S. We all know about this.

4) Repairability. Generally things dont go wrong if regular maintenance is done. Whenever some repair is to be carried out there is sufficient space to work around. This is lacking in Nano. May be Nano's rear seats can be removed but this does not improve things. Omni too seats can be removed, but there is huge space to work around.

5) Can be taken on highways. I am bringing in this because M800 can be literally taken onto highways where it can travel at reasonable speeds. The low CG and direct steering are nice. Nano has high CG so I think stability will be an issue. We have done ( in M800 ) 120 kmph indicated for around 80 km stretch of NE1 in crosswinds. The car never shifted lanes. Moreover the tank of Nano is very small at 15 ltrs. This proves Tata never wanted this car to travel on highways. Moreover in case of Nano, the engine is at rear and definitely there will be more passengers at rear. This can lead to stability as the front end might lighten a bit.

6) This is a proper car. Yes I am sure this comment is going to get me bashed hard, but I think a car has to be a car and not a piece that is bonded with industrial adhesive. Tata nano does use some hydroformed steel but this is not enough. The use of Industrial adhesive is not as per my liking.

IMHO, Maruti 800 is a product that is proven and everyone knows what are the virtues of this car. Nano is just limited to city runabouts, but leave the city and Nano is not a good car.