View Poll Results: How would you spend your 30 lakhs?
Brand new C Class, 3 Series or A4 58 17.26%
Pre-worshipped E Class, 5 Series or A6 36 10.71%
An assortment of cars and / or bikes 214 63.69%
Other (please specify in your post) 28 8.33%
Voters: 336. You may not vote on this poll

Old 1st November 2010, 17:14   #181

A perfect Rs.30 Lakhs garage for me would be a mixture of diesel and petrol to give me pleasure of both worlds and ofcourse, both should be movers

1. Chevrolet Cruze LTZ ( Rs.16 Lakhs)

2. Skoda Laura TSi (Rs.13 Lakhs)

Balance Rs. 1 Lakh for tyre upgrades to both.

I dare someone to honk me from behind on a highway
Old 1st November 2010, 19:00   #182

My list
1) Tata Safari Dicor 2.2VTT 4x4 7L (Pre Owned)
2) Ford Fiesta 1.6 S 8L
3) Royal Enfield 500 1.5L
4) Used Litre SBK 6L
5) Swift Vdi 6L (New)

Remaining 1.5 L on Mods on Safari/Fiesta and Swift.
Old 1st November 2010, 20:46   #183

I would add up another 20 and wait for GM to launch the CTS ...
Old 1st November 2010, 21:06   #184

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
1. Chevrolet Cruze LTZ ( Rs.16 Lakhs)

2. Skoda Laura TSi (Rs.13 Lakhs)
Hmm...Aren't they a little too similar to each other size and performance wise.
Old 1st November 2010, 22:39   #185
//M

Option C for me:

1. A pre-worshipped Mahindra Classic.
2. A couple-of-years-old Mitsubishi Cedia Sports (for daily runs).
3. A pre-worshipped Honda CBR1000.
4. A pre-owned Hindustan Contessa (with flame paints, chrome rims and stuffs).
5. A pre-worshipped W124 Mercedes Benz E250 (just for that build quality).
Old 1st November 2010, 23:05   #186

My cars haul the highway a lot more than city roads. So my choice would depend on the radius of highway travel:

1. Under 300Kms - Indica Vista Quadrajet (New) @ 5-6 Lacs
2. Under 500Kms - Chevy Cruze (Used) @ 7-8 Lacs
3. Under 700Kms - Skoda Superb Diesel (Used - Current Gen) @ 11-13 Lacs
4. Under 1000Kms - Toyota Innova (Used + Fitted with a larger fuel tank) @ 5-6 Lacs
Old 1st November 2010, 23:22   #187

1. Fortuner ( 22 Lacs );
2. i20/Swift ( 6 lacs);
3. Royal Enfield Classic 500 ( 1.5 Lacs);
4. A super Cycle ( 25 K).

- Saving 25 k INR!!
Old 1st November 2010, 23:30   #188

Originally Posted by inreverse View Post
My cars haul the highway a lot more than city roads. So my choice would depend on the radius of highway travel:

1. Under 300Kms - Indica Vista Quadrajet (New) @ 5-6 Lacs
2. Under 500Kms - Chevy Cruze (Used) @ 7-8 Lacs
3. Under 700Kms - Skoda Superb Diesel (Used - Current Gen) @ 11-13 Lacs
4. Under 1000Kms - Toyota Innova (Used + Fitted with a larger fuel tank) @ 5-6 Lacs
Wise choice i must say.
But Is it possible to fit a larger tank on an innova?
Old 2nd November 2010, 10:08   #189

I am fed of this word pre worshipped. Would go for just one car in the garage. Merc C-Class 200 CGI
Old 2nd November 2010, 11:18   #190

Mitsubishi EVO X or IV (10-15lacs) incl of all the RTO stuff.
A Tata Safari (12l)
A Bullet 1980 STD

The leftover will be spent on pepping the EVO...
Old 2nd November 2010, 11:42   #191

My 30 Lakh Garage

My Two bits
  • Bullet 1980 STD. (My old Bike Resurrected)
  • Second Hand Maruti Gypsy King (For those Offroading Days)
  • Ford Figo (TDCi) (My office transport)
  • Chevy Cruze ( Disel Rocket?)
  • Chevy Tavera (For my fishing Trips)
  • Honda DIO for local grocery shopping
Cheers.... I do hope that I have some money left for adding some bling
Old 2nd November 2010, 13:53   #192

Voted C.

A Fortuner or Santa Fe for weekend retreats or highway run.
Figo or Indica Vista or Punto for daily city commute.
A pre worshipped Bullet Lightning (500cc).
A Honda Activa
and finally a cycle
Old 2nd November 2010, 21:59   #193

I am in my very early twenties and would like to experience all the pre luxury cars before i graduate to the luxury sedans and SUVs by the time i am in my late twenties.

My usage is quite high and so i prefer diesels anyday.

I love only brand new cars and not pre-owned or pre-worshipped ones.I would anyday prefer a smaller new car over a bigger used car.Purely my opinion.

I love all my cars in white.

I chose option C
My 30L garage would consist of a
Yamaha R15 ~1L
For gen early morning and night drives to gym and grocery stores.
Ford Figo ~5L
For my in city commute.
Hyundai Accent ~6L
Purely to satisfy my fantasy.I love the shape and design of the Accent very much and it's price.
Tata Safari ~8.5L
For dad,business and highway drives.
And the rest 9 lakhs to ensure a trouble free maintenance for my cars-services,spares,accessories and FUEL for atleast two years.
Old 3rd November 2010, 00:58   #194
abk

Unfortunately GTO has squeezed the limits of the dream a li'l tightly - can 30L not be stretched to 45L??

Within the "constrained budget" I'd imagine splurging in the following indulgences:
  1. Bullet Classic - new
  2. Mahindra Getaway 4x4
  3. Pre-owned and well maintained OHC VTEC
  4. Chevy Cruze
  5. A cozy towed caravan (not quite sure how much will it cost)

Alas! A bimmer & Maruti Suzuki Gypsy would not get in! The garage wouldn't be complete :(

Last edited by abk : 3rd November 2010 at 01:05.
Old 3rd November 2010, 04:15   #195

I would simply chill at home until the MINI cooper S is launched in summer 2011 and then plunge on the showroom with cash splashed all over the floor.

Entry level germans' dont give you much stuff inside and the holy M's are way beyond the given budget!

The BMW MINI would be perfect to park beside the sedans.