Old 1st November 2010, 19:30   #1

October 2010 - Indian car sales figures

Numbers received thus far. The remaining manufacturers will be added to this post as I receive them:

Audi
TT : 0
A4: 128
Q5: 57
A6 : 102
Q7: 67
A8 : 0
R8 : 3

BMW
3 series : 267
5 series : 343
7 series : 58
6 series : 0
X3 : 1
X5 : 41
X6 : 24
Z4 : 11

Chevrolet
Spark : 3233
Beat : 3006
UVA : 322
Aveo : 399
Optra : 333
Cruze : 957
Captiva : 162
Tavera : 1594

Fiat
Linea : 700
Punto : 1300
Palio : 25
500 : 0

Ford
Ikon : 301
Fiesta : 1283
Endeavour : 293
Figo : 7149

Hindustan
Ambassador : 607

Honda
City : 4316
Civic : 401
Accord: 197
Jazz : 332
CRV : 29

Hyundai
Santro : 8420
i10 : 15103
i20: 7642
Accent: 1536
Verna : 1928
Sonata : 22
Santa Fe : 74

Mahindra
Logan : 1079
Xylo : 3137
Scorpio : 4513
Bolero : 7987
Other Jeeps : 271

Maruti
800 : 2631
Omni : 8564
Alto : 32612
Estilo : 4853
WagonR : 16952
Dzire : 9644
SX4 : 1977
Eeco : 6815
Swift : 12948
A Star : 3209
Ritz : 6928
Gypsy : 405
G. Vitara : 17

Mercedes
C Class : 169
SLK : 3
SLS AMG : 1
E-Coupe : 3
E-Cabrio : 1
E-Class : 137
S-Class : 64
M-Class : 20
GL-Class : 16
R-Class : 16

Mitsubishi
Lancer + Cedia : 56
Pajero : 150
Outlander : 118
Montero : 4

Nissan
Micra : 1062
X-Trail : 44
Teana : 23
370Z : 2

Porsche
Cayenne : 11
911 : 1
Panamera : 1
Boxster S : 1
Cayman S : 1

Skoda
Laura : 385
Fabia : 756
Superb : 420
Yeti : 102

Tata
Indica : 9732
Indigo : 8292
Sumo : 1688
Safari : 1357
Aria : 344
Nano : 3065

Toyota
Innova : 4516
Corolla : 962
Fortuner : 1084
Camry : 15
Prado : 13
Landcruiser : 2
Prius : 10

Volvo
S80 : 4
XC90 : 3

VW
Passat : 59
Jetta : 281
Beetle : 44
Polo : 2344
Vento: 1615
Phaeton : 0

Last edited by GTO : 13th November 2010 at 11:58. Reason: Adding BMW
Old 1st November 2010, 19:31   #2

Some random comments:

- Beat gets back to the 3K level, but li'l sister Spark overtakes. Cruze nearly at the 1,000 mark! Undoubtedly, the best selling diesel sedan in the C+ segment. Cruze must bring in the most turnover (units x selling price) for Chevy.

- Linea's lowest ever till date. The awesome T-Jet will provide it momentary boost. Slight spike for the Punto.

- Excellent performance by the VFM Figo at 7.1ks. No one wants the Ikon anymore, Fiesta putters along at its usual 1200 - 1500 mark. Cheaper 2WD AT doesn't seem to have done anything for the Endeavour, still a comfortable No.2 in its segment though.

- City the market leader by a mile. Civic overtakes Laura. Even x-rated versions do nothing for the Jazz. Accord left in the dust by Superb.

- i10 (best month ever?), i20 and even the Santro clock respectable numbers. Verna matches the SX4 for the No.2 spot.

- Mahindra's doing a fab job of resurrecting the Logan. Stays above the 1,000 mark (as in September). Renault must be scratching its head. Bolero goes from strength to strength. Scorpio does well too.

- Alto sets a record, Dzire does 75% of the Swift! WagonR king of the tallboys! Bread box Omni still brings in the moolah. Overall good month for Maruti. Even the Ritz touches nearly 7K.

- Cayenne outsells the "real Porsches" 4:1. Indians want practicality, even when paying premium $$$

- Facelift helps Fabia jump 3X month on month (though still not impressive) and Superb continues to demolish all of its 20 lakh rupee competitors. Not a good month for the Laura.

- Aria enters the ring with a score of 344. Too early to speak on the MUV's (oops, crossover ) numbers! Indica as expected, Indigo + Manza (especially) impress. Nano not up to the mark, despite being available off the shelf in many cities.

- Innova shows whos the boss of MUVs, Fortuner for SUVs. Diesel engine hasn't done much for the Altis. It's a mere 5 units ahead of the Cruze, despite having two engine options.

- Vento slowly & steadily closing in on the Polo, though both are restricted by production. Vento should easily overtake the SX4 & Verna soon. Jetta languishing.

Last edited by GTO : 1st November 2010 at 19:35.
Old 1st November 2010, 19:41   #3

In hatchback segment, Alto is doing great. 800 is being eclipsed by Nano (2600 vs 3000). This should accelerate once it reaches off the shelf in target demographic (Small town India).
Old 1st November 2010, 19:44   #4

Hi GTO

Could you pls kindly confirm that is that 102 Yeti's have been booked or sold in October also the same for Santa Fe. Also GTO if you kindly let us know the sales for Free Lander.

Amit

Last edited by amitpunjani : 1st November 2010 at 19:46.
Old 1st November 2010, 19:45   #5

@ Amit : The numbers are dealer despatches. Skoda's gearing up for launch.
Old 1st November 2010, 19:48   #6

Some random comments:

- Nano not up to the mark, despite being available off the shelf in many cities.

I doubt if Nano will do the numbers for which its installed capacity was planned for. In the end its a mixed bag for Tata Motors. By numbers its a flop (IMO).
But at the same time, I cannot think of another way how Tata Motors (other than by building the nano) could have penetrated the consciousness of so many people around the world.

Last edited by rrsteer : 1st November 2010 at 19:52.
Old 1st November 2010, 19:54   #7

As always, thanks GTO for these numbers.

It is interesting to note that apart from i20, none of the other "premium hatches" (i.e. Polo, Punto, Fabia, Jazz) cross even 2500, and if one excludes Polo, then others do not even cross 1500. It is an amazingly one-sided fight that i20 is winning in this segment. If Polo stabilizes around 2500, then it is not even a close fight to i20. Do you guys see any contender for i20 in near future in this segment?

In fact, Punto numbers (which by the general perception have always been poor) don't look so bad anymore because it is still handsomely outselling Jazz and Fabia.

Linea numbers are a real concern, and there is a real danger for Fiat that even with T-jet, the total Linea sells may hover around 1000 or a tad below 1000. Sad to see this happening to such a nice car!

GTO, are the numbers of Fortuner limited by production capacity or other logistical problems? I read somewhere that Toyota had ramped up the production of Fortuner and now production is no more the bottleneck. I am surprised by only 1084 Fortuners being sold, because it looks like there is a huge demand for these and I also see so many of them in Bangalore. Am I missing something here?

Last edited by Dr.AD : 1st November 2010 at 20:00. Reason: Added the question in the end about Fortuner
Old 1st November 2010, 19:59   #8

Powerful diesel engine of Cruze outselling weedy Altis diesel indicates that at least one section of customers has started preferring powerful engines over economy. Good.

Amazing figures of Maruti.

@ GTO:

For easier comparison, sales figures should be compiled in a table showing segments and manufacturers, please.
Old 1st November 2010, 20:08   #9

Micra is doing very low numbers. In fact, it has gone down as compared to previous month's 1183! Nissan is still not a popular brand in India it seems. Meanwhile, the Volkswagens are doing really well! Polo is the second highest selling premium hatchback after i20. i20 numbers really amaze me. In fact, Figo and i20 sales are nearly equal!!
Old 1st November 2010, 20:10   #10

It is amazing to know that the Indigo has almost caught up with the sales figures of the Indica, though it falls short by a margin of 1500 cars.

@GTO--any idea how many of those are Manzas?
Old 1st November 2010, 20:11   #11

Originally Posted by Dr.AD View Post
Linea numbers are a real concern, and there is a real danger for Fiat that even with T-jet, the total Linea sells may hover around 1000 or a tad below 1000. Sad to see this happening to such a nice car!
I think the Linea's numbers have tumbled since Vento launch, not surprising with the strong diesel engine of the Vento. T-jet may get the Linea some more numbers, but I guess Linea now needs a diesel engine to match the one in the Vento.

This is purely my speculation: Probably a split of diesel/petrol sales of the Linea in the last 2-3 months would reveal whether it is really the Vento diesel effect or not.
Old 1st November 2010, 20:18   #12

I know that 1 VW Phaeton was delivered to a customer on 10 october how come that doesn't show
Old 1st November 2010, 20:18   #13

Originally Posted by StarrySky View Post
I think the Linea's numbers have tumbled since Vento launch, not surprising with the strong diesel engine of the Vento. T-jet may get the Linea some more numbers, but I guess Linea now needs a diesel engine to match the one in the Vento.
+1 to this. Sometime back, the Linea would have been the a very good alternative choice if we left out the ANHC; at-least in the metros. Now there is a Vento added to the mix and though I feel that over a period of time Linea sales may improve, with or without the T-jet, it will be an uphill job for Fiat unless they have a very good image makeover.
Old 1st November 2010, 20:20   #14

3000 is rather disappointing for nano i must say. The Indian buyer finds the indica as a better vfm deal than the nano? only time will tell. i20: staggering performance 7k+ for 3 months straight. Fortuner:King of the Hill as usual Aria:A Disappointing launch ?? Maybe Alto: The Pack leader as usual

Last edited by vinaydas : 1st November 2010 at 20:22.
Old 1st November 2010, 20:27   #15

Originally Posted by StarrySky View Post
Yes, I agree. Vento seems to have taken a direct toll on Linea.

This is purely my speculation: Probably a split of diesel/petrol sales of the Linea in the last 2-3 months would reveal whether it is really the Vento diesel effect or not.
Yes, it will be very interesting to see this split of diese/petrol Lineas. Actually, thinking of Vento vs. Linea, I think it is not just the diesel game. Even among Petrol buyers, I am sure some prospective Linea owners went to buy Vento because the Linea petrol always felt underpowered and the Vento petrol (at least on paper) sounds much better engine with more than 100 horses and a decent 1.6L mill. Thus, I will not be surprised if the sells of both Linea petrol and Linea diesel dropped equally after the launch of Vento.

Of course, now with the launch of T-jet, Fiat can hope to get the petrol buyers back to Linea. Time will tell if this happens. In any case, Fiat needs to quickly launch T-jet in many other cities (especially in Bangalore, where I think Fiat has a relatively better market response than many other cities) before Vento becomes a de facto choice (something like ANHC for many buyers).

Last edited by Dr.AD : 1st November 2010 at 20:30.