Old 27th August 2011, 22:16   #676

re: Tata Merlin - Safari replacement? *UPDATE* Uncovered Pics on Pg 90

There is no free lunch in the real world.

Newer models are generally 5-10% more on road than the vechicle they replace. The best case senario is matching the price of the outgoing model.

The GX amv VX being replaced by the newer (Merlin) with the name being continued as Safari is the most logical way out.

Anyways no one would want to buy the current VX or GX after a better specked and improved Safari is released.
Old 27th August 2011, 23:27   #677

Originally Posted by himanshugoswami View Post
All versions of Merlin will have rear disc brakes and the Merlin will co-exist with the existing Safari for at leas a year. GX and VX will be discontinued.
Any chance of improved interiors and reliability for the existing Safari? Or is that too much to expect since it will (presumably) be phased out after a year or so.
Old 28th August 2011, 00:49   #678

Some update on the Merlin.

DISCLAIMER- this is not from my usual source in ERC, who is someone I rely on. This update is from an owner of a TATA dealership who I know thru a friend- so I have no means of verifying its authenticity

As per this dealer, the Merlin will start from 10.5 L ex-showroom and there will be two variants that will replace the GX and VX Safari.

Launch date will be towards the end of Oct and the top end Merlin will overlap the Aria 4x2 Pleasure.

All versions of Merlin will have rear disc brakes and the Merlin will co-exist with the existing Safari for at leas a year. GX and VX will be discontinued.
thanks for confirming the info from "another" source
Old 28th August 2011, 07:07   #679

Originally Posted by ACM View Post
There is no free lunch in the real world.

Newer models are generally 5-10% more on road than the vechicle they replace. The best case senario is matching the price of the outgoing mode.
I doubt the increase will be 5-10%, for the Merlin. It may seem small percentage wise, but a 10% increase here would be a good 1 lakh rupees., which means the GX version itself will hit 11.5lakh. I seriously doubt this. At best in this case I expect a minor 1-2% increase, or may be even a minor decrease.
Old 28th August 2011, 14:43   #680

The sad part for me personally is that the Merlin will be out of my reach.....10.5L ex showroom would mean about 11.5 OTR and that is beyond my budget (10L max OTR). so I guess it is the Safari EX for me now....I sure would have liked ABS in the Safari, but cest la vie!! :(

Originally Posted by Parm View Post
thanks for confirming the info from "another" source
so now your thanks has in fact confirmed the veracity of this new source of mine

Last edited by .anshuman : 29th August 2011 at 09:44. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Please use edit option if posting again within 30 mins. Thanks
Old 28th August 2011, 15:51   #681

The sad part for me personally is that the Merlin will be out of my reach.....10.5L ex showroom would mean about 11.5 OTR and that is beyond my budget (10L max OTR). so I guess it is the Safari EX for me now....I sure would have liked ABS in the Safari, but cest la vie!! :(
It is unfortunate that even after paying 9.5L for Safari EX variant, they buyer doesnot get very vital safety ABS Interestingly Tata's 5.5L Vista's VX variant comes with ABS.

Tata Thinks that The buyer eventually pay more money for Safari's additional kerb weight metal?
Old 28th August 2011, 16:09   #682

Some update on the Merlin.
thanks for confirming the info from "another" source.
What about the 4x4 option guys? Will it be offered on the 'new' GX or still only on the VX?
Old 28th August 2011, 20:49   #683

I guess we can be quite sure that like earlier they will again revert to offering 4X4 on both GX and VX. It is the logical thing to do.

The present mode of 4X4 only on VX should just be transitionary.

Somehow don't see EX getting it, especially if it will be the current shape.

This is just the way I see it logically - no sources to back it.

Last edited by ACM : 28th August 2011 at 20:51.
ACM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2011, 11:02   #684

so now your thanks has in fact confirmed the veracity of this new source of mine
i would SUGGEST that you stretch you budget and buy the Merlin. please expect all Merlins to have airbags and ABS standard!
Old 29th August 2011, 11:22   #685

Sept 27th is confirmed launch for Merlin
throttleking is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2011, 12:08   #686

Originally Posted by throttleking View Post
Sept 27th is confirmed launch for Merlin
So, Sept 26th is Mahindra W201 launch and 27th is Tata Safari Merlin launch?
A week to wait for if the news is true.
Old 29th August 2011, 18:43   #687

Originally Posted by tachobells View Post
So, Sept 26th is Mahindra W201 launch and 27th is Tata Safari Merlin launch?
A week to wait for if the news is true.
well that means Force1 goes for a box office failure if the above two are launched almost together!
Old 29th August 2011, 18:58   #688

I am not convinced Force One will remain selling at 11 lacs for long. Considering the low investment into this project by Firodias and the extensive chinese sourcing, they must be talking of really fat margins.

Once the new launches from Tata and Mahindra hit the markets I am sure Force will be dolling out big discounts to make it appealing for folks who are in the market for a cheap big looking SUV. I have a feeling the prices being discounted by at least a lac in the near future!!
Old 30th August 2011, 15:41   #689

i would SUGGEST that you stretch you budget and buy the Merlin. please expect all Merlins to have airbags and ABS standard!
If that is true and there is a variant around 10.5 lacs (around the current GX price), then it might be VFM. My wishlist:
1. Niggle free (too much to ask, eh?)
2. Turning radius ~5.5
3. Good interiors
4. Function third row - considering the dimensions it is definitely possible

I sincerely hope Tata does not get carried away and price the base Merlin above 10.5 lacs.
Old 1st September 2011, 22:03   #690

Oh Dear! I just came to know that the Merlin launch may be posponed to auto Expo.....am trying to get confirmation on this from my sources in TML. If anyone can tap their sources, it will be appreciated!!

If this is the case, goodbye Safari/Merlin for me....... Damn!!!!