is it the eldorado??
Old 7th October 2007, 17:21   #1593
Ram

Originally Posted by blue2ki View Post
is it the eldorado??
No @blue2ki. It's not an Eldorado and not even a Cadillac.
The car in ID:367 is about 8% longer than a Hindustan Contessa.
And your gargantuan Cadillac Eldorado of equivalent vintage would be a good 24% longer than our Contessa. That would make the Eldorado 14.6% longer than ID:367.

ID:367

Last edited by Ram : 7th October 2007 at 17:22.
Old 7th October 2007, 17:42   #1594

Originally Posted by ram View Post
ID:367 is still up for identification.

Looks to me like a 61-63 Mercury, resembles a Mercury Monterey but with slight differences
Old 7th October 2007, 17:56   #1595
Ram

The front and rear grilles are distinctive, as is the vinyl covering on the roof and the contoured body sides, but the most distinctive attribute of this car were the stainless steel full-wheel covers that were shaped to resemble chromed steel wheels, complete with vent holes and lug nuts.
Old 7th October 2007, 21:38   #1596

ID:367 - Mercury Comet.
Old 8th October 2007, 00:21   #1597
Ram

ID:367; 1964 Mercury Cyclone

ID:367 is a 1964 debut year Mercury Cyclone.

When common cars had bench seats, the Cyclone came standard with bucket seats and console, 3 spoke steering wheel, tachometer and stainless steel wheel covers that imitated the naked wheel look, complete with vent holes and lug nuts.

Also standard were a special chrome air cleaner, chrome dipstick tube, chromed oil filter, radiator cap and rocker arms.

The engine was called the Cyclone Super 289 V-8.
It breathed through a four-barrel carburetor and cranked out 210 bhp.

Note the heavy-duty strut brace, chrome airfilter, chrome valve covers,...

There was also a HiPo 271 bhp version. This had the heavy-duty clutch from the Shelby Cobra, special carburetors, air cleaners and valve covers.

@-GS-, the plain Mercury Comet (model 202 and model 404) did not have the two-door hardtop body shown in the picture, nor the stainless steel wheel covers, nor the 289 V8 that went with them, so actually you're not completely right. You also didn't mention model year, so your answer is as vaguely correct as V-16's, still it's not a wrong answer!

There were twelve models produced using the 1964 Mercury Comet platform.
At the low end were the Comet 202, 2-door sedan, 4-door sedan and station wagon
Next came the Comet 404, 2-door sedan, 4-door sedan, station wagon and "Village" station wagon, with woodie-pattern finish.

Then came the Caliente 2-door hardtop, 2-door convertible and 4-door sedan.
Calientes had a bold body stripe.

Top of the line was the 1964 Mercury Cyclone (ID:367) pictured.

There was also a very rare factory-delivered "ready-to-drag 1964 Mercury Comet Boss Dragster with a 427 cu. in.[7-litre] engine.

Ram
Old 8th October 2007, 00:24   #1598

So it was a Mercury after all. Chalo ekdum toh off track toh nahi hoon na!!
Old 8th October 2007, 00:33   #1599
Ram

ID:368
This is a favorite roly-poly looking sedan from my childhood days. Quite rarely seen nowadays. Do tell if you've seen one anywhere in India recently (ideally with pic).

Should be very familiar for our near and dear ones in Team-BHP.
Hazard your guesses?
Old 8th October 2007, 00:40   #1600

ID:368
This is a favorite roly-poly looking sedan from my childhood days. Quite rarely seen nowadays. Do tell if you've seen one anywhere in India recently (ideally with pic).

Should be very familiar for our near and dear ones in Team-BHP.
Hazard your guesses?

ID:368 is a Ford Consul of England I think Speedy has one
Old 8th October 2007, 07:35   #1601
Ram

Gogi, for a car which has been so commonplace in India, mustn't you provide more detail, than saying, "it's a Ford and it's British".

Do you have pictures and stories of one(some) in India?
Karl, ajmat, speedy, iraghava, moralfibre, -GS-, anybody?
Old 8th October 2007, 14:00   #1602

yes gogi bhai i have one. the car is in running order now and i have not got it painted sorry i dont have pictures of it but have asked my brother to send them to me.
Old 8th October 2007, 14:34   #1603

Gogi, for a car which has been so commonplace in India, mustn't you provide more detail, than saying, "it's a Ford and it's British".

Do you have pictures and stories of one(some) in India?
Karl, ajmat, speedy, iraghava, moralfibre, -GS-, anybody?
Ram sir I wish I had your finesse of explanation but I will try,
The ford consul was made from the year 1950-1956. The one posted is a 1952-53 Mk-I Ford Consul with a four cylinder engine. It was introduced along with the six cylinder Zephyr. Both these were the first British cars to have an OHV engine. They were also the first Fords to use the Mcpherson Strut suspension units. The style of the monoque bodies were very modern for their day. Approx 2,30,000 Consuls were made. (there is wrong info in the Wikipedia)

My cousin in Calcutta had a Green coloured one many years ago and there was one Red one in Bombay I spotted at Forgett Street around last year. Have not seen one for ages now.
Over to you Ram, please elaborate
Old 8th October 2007, 15:08   #1604
Ram

Not much more to elaborate, Gogi.

George Walker at Ford USA designed the monocoque body, which has the distinction of being, the first British monocoque Ford.

The OHV 4-cylinder was a 1,508 cc engine that developed 47 bhp @ 4400 rpm (and 72 lb.ft. torque @ 2400 rpm) driving a 3-speed gearbox. The car could reach 120 km/h and return 8.5 km/l.

A column mounted gear lever allowed the much loved bench seats in the front.

Have you seen any in old Hindi movies? If I do, I will mention it.

Looking forward to inputs from our other friends
(fellow lovers of old iron).

Ram
Old 8th October 2007, 17:11   #1605

There used to be a lovely deep green car with a black top in Pune many years ago. I wonder where it landed up eventually.

Heres a pic I found online ages back.