Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Old 5th March 2008, 23:33   #106

Originally Posted by hondadude View Post

Assuming that you weren't kidding here goes the meaning.
thanks. I guess that song was not in correct context then. No one is turning his/her back here. Sorry Sam and The One.
Old 5th March 2008, 23:36   #107

Chura liya hai tumne jo dil ko
Nazar nahin churaana sanam

Now that you stole my heart, don't turn your back on me, my sweetheart.

Badalke meri tum zindagaani
Kahin badal na jaana sanam"

After changing my life completely, don't turn your back on me, my sweetheart.
What I thought it meant....

You have stolen my heart now dont steal my vision (Nazar)
You have changed my life now dont change yourself.
Old 5th March 2008, 23:42   #108

Originally Posted by navin View Post
thanks. I guess that song was not in correct context then. No one is turning his/her back here. Sorry Sam and The One.
Actually, it is a very romantic song where hero profess his solemn love for the lady.

Totally offtopic but a very funny translation of this song is at Translation of Chura Liya Hai from movie Yaadon Ki Baraat

Whoever has translated it, just translated hindi words to the english without even thinking what it does to the whole sentence. After reading the following line, I am laughing out loud here. This has got to be the most hilarious translation.

Hindi: Ho, sajaaoonga lutkar bhi tere badan ki daali ko
English: Oh, I will decorate your body's branch

Hindi: Lahoo jigar ka doonga haseen labon ki laali ko
English: I will give my heart's blood to your lovely red lips
Old 5th March 2008, 23:49   #109

*nazar nahin churana* is an idiom which means either *avoid looking directly at someone* or *to avoid someone*

BTW the shocked smiley in my first post was about the fact that you didn't know about this extremely famous song and not about the choice of song itself. Like I said before, it is a very romantic song.
Old 5th March 2008, 23:54   #110

Romantic notion but a bit extreme I think. Even if T-O has the red lips, and Sam, a huge wonderous heart.
Old 6th March 2008, 00:07   #111

Isn't this thread going a bit astray?

To be on topic, the first lady(if I may call TheOne that) still does not have a name.
Old 6th March 2008, 00:30   #112
IMP

Wow, this thread is 8 pages already.
Welcome aboard TheOne.

Remember, we drive on the wrong (left) side of the road here, and if need be, on the right (right) side as well. haha.
Old 6th March 2008, 01:52   #113

NC,

Is it the right context? I dont know the exact meaning of many of the words used. actually beyond the first line I have no idea what the words mean and I have no idea where I heard that song.
navin,

Perfect song for the occassion. And it doesn't matter if you do not know the meaning - you simply have to feel the emotion.

Old 6th March 2008, 02:19   #114

Damn, I usually dont hang out here, but had to see who is this person with 100+ post intro.
Welcome TheOne..you were already popular before you got here.
Originally Posted by TheOne® View Post
I heard it’s part of the rules to tell you about my car (damn it). I drive a 2001 Opel Corsa 2 door hatchback. Not fast enough, even though I like driving really quick. A bad sound system even though I like listening to music while driving. Too small even though I like carrying half the world in my car.
Thats really sweet. Tell you what....you can keep talking about the silliest thing about your car and people here will listen and respond...a bunch of car freaks we sure are.
Old 6th March 2008, 08:06   #115

A warm welcome to our one a only Yeti's friend.Welcome to our world.

Last edited by jerish666 : 6th March 2008 at 08:10.
Old 6th March 2008, 09:58   #116

This is fantastic !!! One of the LONGEST introduction threads I'd say. Goes to show Sam's popularity amongst the whole T-Bhp community.

People fishing for apt songs - others translating them to English. TheOne you have definately got one of the warmest welcome on board this car crazy forum !!!

Welcome & have fun. All the best

Old 6th March 2008, 12:01   #117

Originally Posted by Ricky_63 View Post
This is fantastic !!! One of the LONGEST introduction threads I'd say. Goes to show Sam's popularity amongst the whole T-Bhp community.

People fishing for apt songs - others translating them to English. TheOne you have definately got one of the warmest welcome on board this car crazy forum !!!

Welcome & have fun. All the best

+1 to that.

welcome aboard!!

if you can look through the traffic and congestion.india is indeed a great place to be.travel a lot throughout.and if you come to uttarakhand.it'll be my pleasure to host you both.

sam do the needful (PM me) incase you come to this side.
Old 6th March 2008, 13:26   #118

Hindi: Lahoo jigar ka doonga haseen labon ki laali ko
Actually, it should be "I will give my kidney's blood to your lovely red lips"

Last edited by manveet : 6th March 2008 at 13:29.
Old 6th March 2008, 13:45   #119

Originally Posted by manveet View Post

Nope. It means I will give blood from my LIVER.

Interestingly, most references to love and romance in Indian languages talk about the liver more than the heart (Jigar in Hindi, Karal in Malayalam, etc) - we refer to love from the depths of the liver than from the bottom of the heart. The fascination with the heart is a western one though we do have references to the heart too. I dont know the reason for this - probably the fact that the liver purifies blood while the heart is only the pump?

Last edited by Steeroid : 6th March 2008 at 13:46.
Old 6th March 2008, 13:58   #120

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
(Mouse) > 1 = Mice
(Louse) > 1 = Lice
then is Spouse = Louse or Spouse = Mouse ?
I have to stop this before my spouse turns me into a mouse.
Jesus Christ lol I had to read that twice to be able to follow haha.

You have changed my life now dont change yourself.
Now that is really really beautiful. Thanks for that translation Navin! Some people may complain about the German entries popping up all of a sudden but I think Hindi is far more complicated lol. Without help I wouldn't be able to understand a word, neither have I found any translation websites yet But I am quite sure they would not even be really useful even if there was, as I experienced again and again that Hindi is obviously a very... hm, how to call it... poetic language?!

Originally Posted by kuttapan View Post
To be on topic, the first lady(if I may call TheOne that) still does not have a name.
Okay okay okay, lol. TheOne®'s real name is Jenny!

Originally Posted by manveet View Post
WHAT? OMG - what sense would that make?