Old 23rd July 2017, 19:12   #106

Re: 2014 Maruti WagonR VXi - Ownership Review

Tanked up the vehicle on 22/07/2017. Petrol retailing at 66.84 (IOC).

Usage Pattern - 89/11 % highway/city driving
Aircon usage - 95 %
Kms covered - 760
Litres consumed - 46.26
FE - 16.42 kmpl

Around 70 kms were covered in city traffic. Rest was a highway trip to Salem. Also includes about 15 minutes of idling. The car has covered 11775 kms so far.
longhorn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th July 2017, 21:09   #107

With the vehicle nearing the 3 year mark, had to replace the steering cover. The MGA steering cover turned out to be a case of wasted money. The cover started peeling off in minute bits shortly after one year. Managed to somehow drag it on till last weekend when it was finally replaced. The art leather steering cover costed Rs 450 and matches beautifully with the all black art leather MGA seat covers. The design is similar to the MGA one I had earlier, but the fit and finish of this is much better. I was very finicky on getting an all black steering cover, preferably one with the small holes. The dual coloured ones (black/beige or black/red) are really a put off for me. Personal preference - no offence to others. Happy to have hit the bulls eye with this one.

The replacement of the OE wiper blades too were long overdue and got it done a couple of weeks back. Wiper blades from a no name brand (DLJM ?) that works beautifully cost me 400 bucks. Pictures follow.
2014 Maruti WagonR VXi - Ownership Review-steering_cover.jpg  

2014 Maruti WagonR VXi - Ownership Review-wiper_blade.jpg  

Last edited by longhorn : 24th July 2017 at 21:16.
longhorn is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 27th September 2017, 23:20   #108

Tanked up the vehicle on 23/09/2017. Petrol retailing at 73.05 (BP).

Usage Pattern - 100 % city driving
Aircon usage - 95 %
Kms covered - 401
Litres consumed - 34.22
FE - 11.72 kmpl

Not too bad considering around 30 minutes spent in a gridlock at Velachery byepass junction with both the engine and aircon running full time.
longhorn is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2017, 21:29   #109

Tanked up the vehicle on 22/11/2017. Petrol retailing at 72.14 (BP).

Aircon usage - 95 %
Kms covered - 359
Litres consumed - 27.73
FE - 12.95 kmpl

FE nearing the 13 kmpl mark after along time.
longhorn is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th November 2017, 19:36   #110

Got the 3rd year paid service done at MSM Guindy somewhere in mid September. Total cost came to around Rs 7500 including a two year maintenance care package(labour only). The work done was pretty neat and overall am satisfied with the results. All service centres basically try to add to the bill by adding unwanted items. Was careful this time around and struck off unecessary items like throttle body cleaning. The only goof up was they filled 0W-20 engine oil. I'm contemplating whether to get it replaced outside at my cost with 5W-30 oil, the manufacturer recommended one.
Old 1st February 2018, 21:51   #111

Tanked up the vehicle on 21/1/2017. Petrol retailing at 74.73 then (BP).

Aircon usage - 95 %
Kms covered - 270
Litres consumed - 19.92
FE - 13.55 kmpl

Not sure if its an after effect of the colder temperatures, but pleasantly surprised by the mid 13's FE figure. Nothing much else to report. The vehicle is doing its duty without a fuss. The car has run around 12750 kms so far.

Last edited by longhorn : 1st February 2018 at 21:53.
longhorn is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st February 2018, 21:58   #112

Originally Posted by longhorn View Post
The only goof up was they filled 0W-20 engine oil. I'm contemplating whether to get it replaced outside at my cost with 5W-30 oil, the manufacturer recommended one.
Write a mail to Maruti and I'm sure the MASS will get the right oil for you at no extra cost. If your owner's manual recommends 5w30, you shouldn't be driving on 0w20 even for a day.

Kindly go through this discussion: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...ml#post4215528

Coming to second part about Wagon R K10. Your post about 0W-20 being used in Wagon R prior to 2014 update resulting into rougher idle is spot on. Extremely spot on. Since 2015, my 2010 K10 Wagon R is running on 0W-20 thanks to Maruti Authorized Service center (they did receive some notification on change of oil). Off late, I find the engine to be rough, noisy and free revving. The noise factor hits back and I even find 2012 Innova less noisy than Wagon R. Dad also told me this, why the car is making so much noise ? He thought I did mess up something or did some experiment on the car.

I did search about the oil and found that 0W-20 will be thinner and thought it will help the engine during cold start up and thats the time when most wear and tear takes place. Car has one around 25K kms. on 0W-20. Henceforth, I will revert back to what the manual says. I cant stand such a noisy engine with a rough idle. Glad you posted this, manual is what one should refer to. Hope my Waggie's engine isn't damaged.
After viewing this thread, I just casually glanced over the last service bill of our F10D Wagon R which is now with my brother in Delhi and was last serviced at DD Motors, Peeragarhi, five months ago.

I was shocked to see that the oil replaced was of 0W20 grade while Maruti recommends 5W30 for this engine.

Wrote to Maruti that how can a dealer workshop make a mistake like this and what if any mechanical problem occurs due to this?

No reply from either Maruti or the dealer.

After waiting for five days, forwarded the mail once again and this time cc'ed to Mr. CV Raman and Mr. RC Bhargava.

That did the trick. GM of the dealership called me the very next day and was very apologetic for the mistake caused by them and told me they use 0W20 in the K series WagonR and this was a mistake from their side.
Not sure if its an after effect of the colder temperatures, but pleasantly surprised by the mid 13's FE figure.
Can be due to thinner oil

Last edited by Leoshashi : 1st February 2018 at 22:02.
Leoshashi is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 1st February 2018, 22:07   #113

Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post
Write a mail to Maruti and I'm sure the MASS will get the right oil for you at no extra cost. If your owner's manual recommends 5w30, you shouldn't be driving on 0w20 even for a day.
The problem here being there is no guarantee that your engine oil will be replaced with the right grade unless they allow you to go in and see for yourself the engine oil being replaced. By the way I don't find any difference in engine noise from the older oil. The bill clearly mentions 0W20 grade of engine oil. The KNext engine (K10C) debuted on the Celerio. I don't think the WagonR has got it even today, but I remember the facelifted WagonR (the one I own) having mentioned better FE on the brochure compared to the pre facelift version.

Last edited by longhorn : 1st February 2018 at 22:14.
Old 1st February 2018, 22:39   #114

The problem here being there is no guarantee that your engine oil will be replaced with the right grade unless they allow you to go in and see for yourself the engine oil being replaced. By the way I don't find any difference in engine noise from the older oil. The bill clearly mentions 0W20 grade of engine oil. The KNext engine (K10C) debuted on the Celerio. I don't think the WagonR has got it even today, but I remember the facelifted WagonR (the one I own) having mentioned better FE on the brochure compared to the pre facelift version.
K10C is the boosterjet and not the K Next.

Don't do any guess work. You should refer your owners manual and stick to it. Regarding the grade of oil, say clearly that it's your car and you won't allow any behind the scene action.

Once at a dealer workshop, the SA drove inside and while I was following my car, some guard stopped me and said I am not allowed inside. I very clearly stated that if I am not allowed inside, they can bring back my car. I am not interested in giving them any business

Normal MASS don't stop you from being around your car. Only MSMs and dealer workshops have these useless rules in place about which I never cared.
Leoshashi is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 10th March 2018, 12:39   #115

When in doubt, refer the owner's manual. And what does the manual say? It's 0W20 with SL classification. I'm not sure why I had this 5W30 stuck up my head. Probably due to all the references on the internet to this grade of oil for the K10 engine. I just checked the owner's manual to reconfirm that the quantity required was 2.9 litres before going to the Shell bunk to get it replaced. Fortunately I stumbled upon the text that says its 0W20 grade of oil. I guess the change probably happened along with the facelift in late 2013. I clearly remember Maruti advertising a ~1 kmpl improvement in FE on the facelifted variant.
2014 Maruti WagonR VXi - Ownership Review-img_20180310_113834.jpg  

Last edited by longhorn : 10th March 2018 at 12:41.
Old 18th March 2018, 21:19   #116

Tanked up the vehicle on 16/03/2017. Petrol retailing at 75.12 (IOC).

Aircon usage - 95 %
Kms covered - 324
Litres consumed - 22.66
FE - 14.31 kmpl

The vehicle has done around 13,0xx kms now.
Old 25th March 2018, 20:45   #117
NPV

When in doubt, refer the owner's manual. And what does the manual say? It's 0W20 with SL classification.
Our 2016 Wagon R VXI's owners manual also recommends 0W20 (also has the K10B engine).
However, during the first year service (3rd free service), the service center mentioned about the recommendation from Maruti to use 5W30 oil grade and I asked them to go ahead with it.

However, this time at the 2 year service, I asked them to use 0W20 since I wanted to see if there is any real/perceivable difference.

Posted details of the service here (Our 2016 Glistening Grey Maruti WagonR VXi - Waggy® meets Dizzy®)

Last edited by NPV : 25th March 2018 at 20:51.
NPV is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th June 2018, 11:13   #118

Tanked up the vehicle on 22/04/2018. Petrol retailing at 77.32 (IOC).

Aircon usage - 95 %
Kms covered - 255
Litres consumed - 20.69
FE - 12.33 kmpl

The vehicle had done around 13,328 kms then.
Old 5th June 2018, 16:11   #119

Just back a round trip to Kerala. The onward journey was at the end of April courtesy summer holidays while the return journey happened on the last day of May. The FE for the onward journey upto Salem was a horrendous 15.46 kmpl probably due to the higher speeds and not being able to maintain a constant speed on the highway for long. Amends were made during the return journey when I got a chart busting 18.76 kmpl upto Salem. This is the best ever FE recorded so far for my WagonR. The reason for tanking up at Salem is because that is the midway point for me. Never ever seen more than 275 kms covered on a half tank of petrol before this. This time it was 330+ kms on a half tank of petrol.

The key to getting better FE was driving between 80-100 kmph. Tried to stick to 90kmph as far as possible. 3000 rpm is the sweet spot for this engine. Stick to that on highway runs and you will be suitably rewarded. The vehicle is just shy of 16000 kms now.

Last edited by longhorn : 5th June 2018 at 16:14.
Old 23rd June 2018, 21:19   #120

Tanked up the vehicle today. Petrol retailing at 79.38 (IOC).

Usage Pattern - 80 /20 highway / city driving
Aircon usage - 100 %
Kms covered - 403
Litres consumed - 21.54
FE - 18.73 kmpl

I didn't fill it up to the brim unlike the last two refills due the high temperatures during day time. Stopped filling at the first auto cutoff itself. Even if we discount 1 kmpl for that, its still a pretty good show this time around. The vehicle has completed 16000 kms now. Its averaging around 4000 kms per year as of now.

Last edited by longhorn : 23rd June 2018 at 21:23.