Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 28th September 2016, 21:34   #121

Re: The verdict (BMW 520D M Sport vs Mercedes E250D)

Thanks Androdev,

However, 520D M-Sport is way over my initial budget of 40-45 Lakhs! and the way it drove today, I have no qualms in driving it. Did not feel underpowered at all. Everything else is same as the 530D.

Moreover me and my business partner are both buying 1 car each. No way i can buy a 15L more expensive car than him. Both of us are extremely satisfied with what 520D M Sport has to offer.

Originally Posted by androdev View Post
Make it large. Seriously, if you wish to keep it for long and your financial future look promising. Assume you'll keep the car for 5 years, you can easily assign a value of 3 Lacs per year to own 530D instead of 520D.

530D is special. You should test drive both of them back to back to see if the difference is justified in your opinion. 520D will do in case you want to stick to the budget.
Old 29th September 2016, 11:05   #122

Re: The verdict (BMW 520D M Sport vs Mercedes E250D)

Originally Posted by titan1999 View Post
Thanks Androdev,

However, 520D M-Sport is way over my initial budget of 40-45 Lakhs! and the way it drove today, I have no qualms in driving it. Did not feel underpowered at all. Everything else is same as the 530D.

Moreover me and my business partner are both buying 1 car each. No way i can buy a 15L more expensive car than him. Both of us are extremely satisfied with what 520D M Sport has to offer.
I think the 520D M-Sport looks amazing and its going to look great even 3-4 years down the line. Go for it! Are dealers offering any discount on the 520D Prestige Plus?

Also wanted to get some more thoughts from you on the comfort levels of the 5 series vs 3GT. Thanks!
Old 29th September 2016, 14:24   #123

Originally Posted by ac-cobra View Post
I think the 520D M-Sport looks amazing and its going to look great even 3-4 years down the line. Go for it! Are dealers offering any discount on the 520D Prestige Plus?

Also wanted to get some more thoughts from you on the comfort levels of the 5 series vs 3GT. Thanks!

Discounts on all the 520D models is about the same (~9L)

Only 520i has more discounts.

3GT has more space inside, roomier due to the panoramic sunroof. However 5er feels a class apart when you step inside.

3GT has more engine and road noise, and engine is not that refined. Drive is also not as good as the 5er.

320D drive was better than 3GT.

520D seats are much better, especially if you are a big guy. However, Don't buy it if it will be a family car, as rear passengers will complain a lot. Some features of 520D make it a bit impractical.

Me and my business partner test drove both vehicles, before the drive he was keen on 3GT as that looks fresh on the outside and is considerably cheaper. After the drive the decision was unanimous in favor of the 5er.

However please note that 3GT is still a very good car and all these points I mentioned are relative to what I felt about the 5 series. 3GT has no deal breakers and that's what would appeal most to many people. It's an all-rounder.

1. If you have money and want to make your wife, children, parents etc happy, and you love comfort above all else then buy the Mercedes E250D. That car oozes luxury from all angles.

2. Same as above but want to spend a bit less, buy the 3GT. A great all rounder.

3. However if you live to ride, then buy the 520D or its lesser brother the 320D. Both are fun to ride. 520D is a notch above in 9 outta 10 things vis-a-Vis the 320D.

4. Finally, if your bank balance permits it. ( a whopping 75lakh OTR) Buy the 530D as that wipes the floor in literally every department against all this cars. Except fuel economy, and frankly who cares about that at this price point.
titan1999 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th September 2016, 16:07   #124

Re: Luxury Sedan Advice Needed - A6 vs E-Class vs 5-series

Discounts on all the 520D models is about the same (~9L)
If you are buying 2 together and on a company name, you can get additional Corporate discounts. I think you can haggle to around 11 lac surely.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2016, 18:27   #125

If you are buying 2 together and on a company name, you can get additional Corporate discounts. I think you can haggle to around 11 lac surely.

We haven't started negotiation yet, they have offered themselves 10L discount for each.

Will Negotiate for more and see what we end up getting. Do you think 12L is asking for too much?

I am trying to get rear entertainment package included for free. Which will make it almost identical to the 530D from the inside.
Old 20th October 2016, 16:58   #126

We haven't started negotiation yet, they have offered themselves 10L discount for each.

Will Negotiate for more and see what we end up getting. Do you think 12L is asking for too much?

I am trying to get rear entertainment package included for free. Which will make it almost identical to the 530D from the inside.
Wondering if you ended up buying a car and what deal you were able to secure?
Old 3rd February 2017, 19:14   #127

Originally Posted by ac-cobra View Post
Wondering if you ended up buying a car and what deal you were able to secure?

Thanks for asking ac-cobra.

Sorry for the late reply everyone. Demonetisation almost made the dream impossible.

However, after much delay two BMW 520D M-Sport's are coming home this Sunday. Both in Blue.

We were able to get 10 lakhs discount each on both cars from Deutsche Motoren, Noida.

Thanks for the help, feedback and support from everyone.

Will post detailed report when the babies come home!
Old 6th February 2017, 12:43   #128

A friend of mine is looking to buy a car in this segment. He has narrowed it down to BMW 520D M Sport and Mercedes E250D Edition E.
We did inquire about the new E, they say that it will be launched on 28th Feb. Only the long wheelbase version is coming and in diesel they are only launching the E350D engine variant which would be above 70L ex showroom with zero discount, which is way out of his budget.

Mercedes E250D Edition E

For:
  • Ride comfort
  • Rear legroom
  • Overall the car feels a lot more roomier and the cabin is airy
  • Panaromic sunroof
  • Brand value (His perception)
  • Full size spare wheel
  • Large boot space

Against:
  • Dated Interior
  • Noisy Engine
  • Not so fast gearbox
  • Confused exterior
  • Gear lever
  • Hand brake

BMW 520D M Sport

For:
  • Looks sleek and sporty
  • On road performance
  • M Sport kit (Staggered rims, front and rear bumpers, door sill plates, steering wheel, color combo
  • iDrive
  • Large screen. He liked the interiors overall better than E.

Againt:
  • Rear space
  • Bumpy ride
  • Expensive service package
  • No panaromic sunroof
  • Donut spare wheel and it takes up a lot of space in boot

Both cars are similarly priced after discount. Overall 520D M sport seems like a better deal considering the M kit.
He has been offered a discount of Rs. 10L on the BMW and Rs. 7.5L on the E. We have not yet negotiated the discount on E, I am pretty sure it can be stretched to 10L.
Both the cars are 2016 make.

He was totally sold on the BMW 520D M, but he called one of his friends who had both 3 and 5. He gave him a negative feedback on the brand BMW. He had a gearbox failure on both of his cars, suspension changed 50k kms, bent rims etc.
His 3er and 5er are 8 and 7 years old respectively. He says that the BMW cars are unreliable and the cost of ownership is really high.

Now my friend is confused.

Which one should he go for?
Are the BMWs that unreliable?
Is Mercedes better?
The car will be bought from Chandigarh, is the 10L discount ok or can it be negotiated further?

Thanks in advance

Last edited by SumitBahl : 6th February 2017 at 12:48.
SumitBahl is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th February 2017, 17:27   #129

With either of these brands I'd recommend combining with the best possible warranty package. That ought to give some comfort on reliability and upkeep. To the best of my k'ge, both these brands are reasonably honest in honoring warranties but maybe members with direct experience on this aspect can weigh in.

One big advantage of the current E is the full size spare within a wheel well, leaving the boot as completely usable. I would pick the current E on this account alone over the 5.
Old 6th February 2017, 18:31   #130

He was totally sold on the BMW 520D M, but he called one of his friends who had both 3 and 5. He gave him a negative feedback on the brand BMW. He had a gearbox failure on both of his cars, suspension changed 50k kms, bent rims etc.
I have personally bought many BMW's and can recommend you it over MB easily especially if you have to buy from the Local dealer. I think you have negotiated fairly good discounts, you can perhaps wait for a while and these discounts may increase a bit if BMW is struck up with Kits when they launch the new one. But if he can't wait then this should be ok.

An alternate can be Lexus-ES 300 H which you can have at about Rs 55 Lac Ex-Showroom Delhi as there is lower VAT. I think they will begin deliveries in March/April
Old 6th February 2017, 19:15   #131

Originally Posted by SumitBahl View Post
His 3er and 5er are 8 and 7 years old respectively. He says that the BMW cars are unreliable and the cost of ownership is really high.
From my personal experience, neither is worse than the other in terms of reliability. Service is unfortunately very dependent on the local dealer and their capability and attitude.

The cost of ownership of both these brands is high, so your friend better factor that in before he buys the car.
Old 7th February 2017, 02:47   #132

Thanks for asking ac-cobra.

Sorry for the late reply everyone. Demonetisation almost made the dream impossible.

However, after much delay two BMW 520D M-Sport's are coming home this Sunday. Both in Blue.

We were able to get 10 lakhs discount each on both cars from Deutsche Motoren, Noida.

Thanks for the help, feedback and support from everyone.

Will post detailed report when the babies come home!

Here it is. My new beast in all its glory!

Can't wait to run this bad boy in. So far 200kms have been really smooth. No complaints.

Luxury Sedan Advice Needed - A6 vs E-Class vs 5-series-imageuploadedbyteambhp1486415577.157357.jpg

Once again Thanks to all for your help and support.

Could not have taken a decision without your help.

Will post a detailed report when I get time.

P.s - the number plates are just temporary.
titan1999 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com