Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 3rd February 2008, 08:47   #1
Senior - BHPian

Stage Two Mods on my Skoda 1.8 TPi

The quest began way back in '98 when I got a chance to drive a few modified VWs, Audis, Skodas and Seats. I fell in love with the 1781cc in line 4. But at that time I didn't know anything about the tuning scene in India. Plus, I was a student and did not have access to funds. Ages passed, and I started to live with the "regular" cars - 2.0 Safari, Ikon, Lancer 1.5, etc.

Then one fine day, the Skoda Octavia was launched. I was excited beyond words. But, my favorite 1781cc was not available yet. I got the 90 bhp 1.9TDi and was happy. Very happy. For a few years. Then, the RS came out. At approximately 15L OTR, it was WAY beyond my budget. But, the dealer told me about the Rider trim that was on the cards.

The 1781cc finally came into my possession in May 2005. I was on the top of the world. I ICED up my silver Octy, got 16" Falkens and it was Full On motoring nirvana. The thought of owning a modified ride was always at the back of my mind though. But didn't know whom to approach.

On November 2006, my friend Sumantra (Planet Rocker) told me about a meet. A meet where some car guys would be present. I've been hooked to TeamBHP since then. I got to know about Pete's from TBhp.

Problem solved? Er.. not quite. I had had ZERO experience with tuned/mod'ed cars. I was concerned about the reliability and service back up post mod. And, I didn't want to kiss the warranty goodbye. I must have called up Peter (Turbo India) a thousand times with stoopid queries and questions. Peter was kind enough to answer all my stupid questions. Over and over again. I finally decided to get the Silver Bullet remapped. Started saving up for D-Day. But, some thing or the other would always come up and eat into my savings.