Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 3rd April 2008, 00:52   #1

need tips/help for modding my ikon zxi

i am a total noob to the car performance mod scene and looking to modify my ikon zxi 1.6L and basically planned to do step by step mods eventually leading to installing a turbocharger. of course before i do any of this i am trying to learn and understand what i can and cannot do with my car. i don't just wanna take my ride to a tuning shop and say "yank up the power bro"... i want to understand what they do and why they do it.

i have already received a number of great inputs on the subject over at the blazed forum... throwing this open here also as i'd like to get as much help/information as i can.

ok now basically i've been told that the ikon is a beast to mod and this i've been told offline too...apparently the fact that its a 4cyl-2valves per SOHC is what nixes the deal :(

i like the handling of the car, makes it too much fun to drive the ikon...
i was hoping a more powerful engine would up the fun factor....and would most definitely like to kick up the power and torque up by large margin.

my options seem to be -
1) swap the car
2) swap engine/transmission/brakes/suspension

i don't wanna swap the car. i like it a lot - lotsa memories, i'd like to keep it and improve it

so i was wondering has anybody here ever modded or know of a modded ford ikon?
is it possible to swap in a 1.8L/2.0L engine into the ikon? where can i get one and what can i get?
any other suggestions?
Old 3rd April 2008, 11:50   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

hey bro,

what ever mods you are doing, do it step by step so you can feel the difference each mod has created.
the simplest and first mods you should do is -
- upsize the tyres for better grip and looks
- get a KnN or Ractive air filter kits. They help the car breathe better..
- a free flow.
Old 3rd April 2008, 13:21   #3
Senior - BHPian