Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 19th October 2005, 21:32   #31

Guys how much would the neon tachos cost?? And is it really difficult to replace the OE dials with these after market ones, and can that be done on the same OE dashboard?
Old 19th October 2005, 22:16   #32

Originally Posted by ananthkamath
when there is a breakdown you can always get it removed before giving it to the service center....
This is an excellent idea i must say :-) But is it easy to remove ? I mean will the wire from engine need some drilling in the body ? they will be sure to sense it ...
Old 19th October 2005, 22:22   #33

Originally Posted by karthik247
Guys how much would the neon tachos cost?? And is it really difficult to replace the OE dials with these after market ones, and can that be done on the same OE dashboard?
Neon tachos ? I guess they are tachos with neon lights isnt it ? Actually there are tachos which come with multi color display, which you can select, but i am sure Pricol doesnt make all this (shift light tacho / multicolor tacho) , so you will have to go for Autogauge or Autometer tachos, make sure you keep ~ 5k ready :-) they are in that range and more....

Also as far as i know i am sure i can manage a tacho without having it in the dashboard, i can always attach it to any other part of the dashboard externally, just like attaching a tweeter / idol etc.. i know a better place is required since tachos might be heavy .. and it might not be able to stick with the normal kind of glue. possibly we need to use fevikwick :-) gurus please correct me before people start using fevikwick all in the cars to attach tachos !!! :-)

I guess there is an electronic tachometer too in one of the maruti variants ...
Old 20th October 2005, 20:46   #34

Dude i already hav the OE tacho in my car. i asked if u could place these aftermarket ones in the place of the OE ones
Old 20th October 2005, 22:29   #35

Why not ? as long as it matches the size !!! its similar to any other meter replacement isnt it , like speedo, fuel gauge , etc ...

But frankly since you have an OE tacho, it wouldnt be a big issue replacing them...
Old 23rd August 2007, 18:32   #36

Sorry to dig out this thread.
But after alot of searching and searching I finally managed to find the perfect tacho for my zen mpfi. Its a 2" auto-gauge 8000rpm tacho, with a awesome backlight, but no shift light. Bought it from koliwada(bbay) for Rs. 1400 with installation. The irony is that the "DOODE" who was selling the tacho didnt know what it was. It was by sheer coincidence that i was at his shop and he casually asked me, "kya twanu pata haiga e ki hai" , and i was like "YES THIS IS A TACHO YAAR"..he quoted 2k but i got it down to 1400. No warranty, no bill, but i love it. Will post pics soon.
Old 24th August 2007, 00:49   #37

OT:
Originally Posted by mclaren
to all you guys out there..how much will the tachos from autometer the one with the gear shift indicator cost..i think the ones i found out from a few shops are highly overpriced..so any idea of their estimates..and is it ok to put neons for zen because the shopkeeper says due to the bad roads it will easily break..any methods to prevent the breaking and how much will these neons cost..
U've come a long way from this,heh stumpy??
Old 24th August 2007, 03:14   #38

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
OT:
hahah i was shocked to see this post then saw the date LOL.
Old 24th August 2007, 09:51   #39

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
OT:
(twenty characters).
Old 24th August 2007, 13:28   #40

In my Zen I have a Auto guage 2"(I'm so sure about the size) tacho
Which can suit 3/4/6 cylinder vehicles ( It has a change over switch)
It also has 7 colour ligts in it.
It really looks neat n clean.
It cost me 1,850 Rs including installation
Old 24th August 2007, 13:46   #41

I have updated the pic in my galley
Old 26th August 2007, 08:20   #42

Originally Posted by sushrutha View Post
In my Zen I have a Auto guage 2"(I'm so sure about the size) ......
It cost me 1,850 Rs including installation
Where in bangalore did you get it from? I checked out at several places and the 5" autogauge is for 7K and the 3.5" for 5K..

-SK
Old 3rd September 2007, 17:07   #43

Hi this is SilverStreak81 from chennai, i own a Swift Ldi it does not have a tachometer i would like to fir one into the car where can i get it fitted and how much will it cost.
Old 3rd September 2007, 19:42   #44

First U need to isolate the rpm signal from the ECU.
Check with MASS if they can fit an rpm meter before buying one.
Old 3rd September 2007, 22:35   #45

can you please let me know where is MASS, so i can go ahead on the RPM fixing....any idea wat wud be the cost of it??