Old 28th August 2012, 11:01   #1

Ninja 300R & 400R to be launched. EDIT: Ninja 300 Launched @ Rs.3.5L exshowroom Delhi

Kawasaki to Soon Launch Ninja 300R & Ninja 400R | Motoroids

" Both the upcoming bikes sport twin cylinder engine layout and as the names show, the 300R & 400R have engine capacity of 299cc & 399cc respectively. These bikes should debut as soon as in early 2013. The Ninja 300R will be seen pumping out 39 Bhp @11,000 rpm and will also have more torque than the best selling Ninja 250R. The 400R will offer 43 Bhp at as low as 9,500 rpm."
jkdas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2012, 11:07   #2

re: Ninja 300R and 400R to be launched. EDIT: SCOOP Pics on Pg 2

I am not sure if bajaj will bring these bikes to India.Price gap between 250 and the 650 is not wide enough to be filled by another bike IMO.
Old 28th August 2012, 11:08   #3

I would take this news with a pinch of salt.

The report mentions that the 300R shall replace the 250R. Why launch a new 250R then?

Secondly, practically there is no market for the 400 in the US & Europe due to its licensing policies. Ride tiddlers & jump to 650's (and not 600's).

Let these bikes be launched @ Japan, US, Europe & then Malaysia/Indonesia. Post which I can see it coming, till then, its a rumor for me.
Sheel is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th August 2012, 13:30   #4

First reaction to this news is WHY?? Already 250R is the best selling bike in the category. Anyway won't be launched in India for at least 2, 3 years so not feeling very excited.
Old 28th August 2012, 16:11   #5

Mod Note : This news appears to be mere speculation. We will re-open the thread if / when there is more concrete information confirming the launch.
Old 14th February 2013, 16:44   #6

Just got a confirmed news from my friend. KTM in B'lore appears to be gearing up for Promotional events for the launch of Ninja 300R and Ninja 250 2012 edition. Bookings are set to start in the month of March and bikes are slated to be released in June/July 2013.

I've sold my 8 months old Avy eyeing for N300 already!
Waggy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th February 2013, 17:40   #7

Thanks Waggy. Please kep us updated bro. I too am eying the Ninja 300 as a possible next bike.

Maybe I will finally go for a bike with some clothes on. The small tank range of the Duke 390 troubles me ......

P.S. Tbh, I have never read about a Ninja 400 anywhere else. A jump of just 4 bhp for 100 cc increase in swept volume is hard to digest.

Last edited by ebonho : 14th February 2013 at 17:44.
Old 14th February 2013, 17:59   #8

Originally Posted by Waggy View Post
Just got a confirmed news from my friend. KTM in B'lore appears to be gearing up for Promotional events for the launch of Ninja 300R and Ninja 250 2012 edition. Bookings are set to start in the month of March and bikes are slated to be released in June/July 2013.

Oh Goody!! Just sold my Classic Chrome. Am eagerly waiting for either the Ninja 300 or the CBR 500.. More inclined towards the Ninja..
Old 14th February 2013, 18:23   #9

Good that you sold the Avenger. It is a bike worth selling anyway..'pseudo cruiser'. I have one that refuses to start more often that not.

A while ago, we had a generation of such bikes, when you didn't have any 'real' bikes. Now we have some 'real' bikes. For e.g. N300/D390 are 'real' bikes. They may be miniature version of their more decorated siblings, but essentially give you the same feel.

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
Thanks Waggy. Please kep us updated bro. I too am eying the Ninja 300 as a possible next bike.

Maybe I will finally go for a bike with some clothes on. The small tank range of the Duke 390 troubles me ......

P.S. Tbh, I have never read about a Ninja 400 anywhere else. A jump of just 4 bhp for 100 cc increase in swept volume is hard to digest.
Ooh La La! Do we have a convert then? Even I am impressed with the Ninja 300. True sportsbike is a smaller package. Also, it based on a sportbike platform whereas the 400 is 650 with a 400 cc engine. It's easy to guess whichone looks better Also, 39 bhp from 300 cc sounds much more fun compared to 43 bhp from 400 cc engine.

I'll stick on to the Duke 390 then. I'll hardly use it for touring type purposes. Besides, my top criteria is to get something cool and worth riding. Moreover, the N300, enen if I were to consider it, will be too expensive for me. If I were to spend close to 4 lacs, I'd rather spend 6 and get real nakeds.
Abhi_Automobile is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th February 2013, 18:49   #10

Power drift have reported sighting of Ninja300 in Pune. See below image:

Ninja 300R & 400R to be launched. EDIT: Ninja 300 Launched @ Rs.3.5L exshowroom Delhi-kawasakininja3001722.jpg

More details here:

http://www.bikewale.com/news/284-kaw...g-in-pune.html
CARDEEP is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th February 2013, 18:57   #11

Originally Posted by Abhi_Automobile View Post
Ooh La La! Do we have a convert then?
Actually its not so much the naked vs faired (except for the handle moving front not moving weird feeling) thing but the fact that if I go for the Ninja (IF) it will be me riding a twin after close to twenty years.

Lets see .... its definitely going to be a tough choice.

But having seen the 250s and their quality and fit-n-finish and the way they age, its a bike I would not mind having at all in my garage.

Last edited by ebonho : 14th February 2013 at 18:58.
Old 14th February 2013, 19:03   #12

Originally Posted by Abhi_Automobile View Post
I'll stick on to the Duke 390 then. I'll hardly use it for touring type purposes. Besides, my top criteria is to get something cool and worth riding. Moreover, the N300, enen if I were to consider it, will be too expensive for me. If I were to spend close to 4 lacs, I'd rather spend 6 and get real nakeds.
If you want for touring, I would suggest you to go for Duke 390. That too promises cool packages. Heard they are coming up with a fully faired version for about 2.25L! Cool uh?

But given that I already had a taste of both Duke 200 and Ninja 250 on tracks as well as on road, I like Ninja 250 for the butter smooth pickup where as Duke 200 is either a beginner's track or technically stunt bike. Duke 390 looks better and more of a sports + touring but I'm not judging till I get a feel of it.

Though I'm considering N300 at the moment, I'm also inclined towards Duke 390 at a much cheaper price and lower cost of maintenance for it is manufactured in India! But remember the rev limiter in Duke 200? Will they have one in Duke 390 as well?

Originally Posted by CARDEEP View Post
Power drift have reported sighting of Ninja300 in Pune. See below image:

Attachment 1051044
Not official but heard 2012 Ninja 250 is also heading Indian shores!
Old 14th February 2013, 19:17   #13

Actually its not so much the naked vs faired (except for the handle moving front not moving weird feeling) thing but the fact that if I go for the Ninja (IF) it will be me riding a twin after close to twenty years.

Lets see .... its definitely going to be a tough choice.

But having seen the 250s and their quality and fit-n-finish and the way they age, its a bike I would not mind having at all in my garage.
So, if you get the sportsbike route, does the D200 stay? One of each kind? Thumper, Naked and Sports

For a person like me, who will essentially use the bike as a lifestyle product (ride it when you feel like), I just need one bike that will make me feel good when I am riding it. Simple as that. Simple requirements. Complex Choices.

Last edited by Abhi_Automobile : 14th February 2013 at 19:19.
Old 15th February 2013, 12:33   #14

The plan was always to have a bike that could top out at 170-180 and comfortably go past the ton.
Not sure how true it is but http://www.indiancarsbikes.in/motorc...gallery-64784/ (probably may not be true - but given 200 for Indian market sports a rev-limiter, 390 probably might have one too) says 390 would sport a rev-limiter that limits the speed to 160 kmph and I really don't think it is worth going for this one unless you are a stunt biker! The light weight might give you an impressive mileage figures and that rush when you twist your accelerator but probably a turn-off in bad road conditions like India where you might be tierd after about 200 km ride. You probably might prefer Ninja after your "heavy" experience with RE.

Toggle switch for ABS seems to be a boon for stunt bikers but for a normal tourers/regular commuters, this is unnecessary. I originally eyed Ninja 300 when I sold off my bike but Duke 390 release caught my attention. But the more and more revealed specs makes me run away from Duke 390 to Ninja 300. But the price range and the power packed features keeps me closer to Duke than a Ninja but I'm not going to take a haste decision and repent. I'm just going to wait till both bikes release and have a fairly good running period, start reading reviews and then take a test drive before taking any final decision.

But your decision probably might be different for you already got a taste of KTM on your baby duke

OT but a quick question: Is CB500R worth waiting for? I'm guessing pricing would be competitive to Duke 390. People in sports bike boards says it is not worth it - probably they might be riding other machines that deliver more hp!

Last edited by Waggy : 15th February 2013 at 12:45.
Old 15th February 2013, 13:36   #15

Not sure how true it is but http://www.indiancarsbikes.in/motorc...gallery-64784/ (probably may not be true - but given 200 for Indian market sports a rev-limiter, 390 probably might have one too) says 390 would sport a rev-limiter that limits the speed to 160 kmph and I really don't think it is worth going for this one unless you are a stunt biker!

OT but a quick question: Is CB500R worth waiting for? I'm guessing pricing would be competitive to Duke 390. People in sports bike boards says it is not worth it - probably they might be riding other machines that deliver more hp!
Don't trust some 'local-chap' guys ,man. We shall know about the rev limiter type implementation only when the bike comes out (or close to it). And through some reliable sources

Any what makes you think that the Honda will be so affordable? I think it will not be less than 3.5 lakhs odd, possibly touching 4 lakhs.