Old 6th January 2014, 16:36   #1

Back to the Hero Honda Karizma

For many years, i was riding alone.
My ride was a good old Royal Enfield (More than 30 years old with a few Engine mods) and a Yamaha RX100 (Around 20 years old with a few engine mods).

When i first met my lady it was good to know that she was into bikes and user to ride a RX100 in her college time.
She did not mind us riding around on the RX100. But she was not very happy about the Bullet.
Still we went ahead and kept on riding around in and around Delhi on the Bullet and the Tiny RX100 (I am 6 feet 1 Inch and used to weight around 100KG).

Things took a Turn when i was introduced to a Pulsar 220 by my Mrs. (Then Girlfriend).
I was so happy with the move though DIL was still moving back to the good old unreliable Bullet and the nippy RX.

We started riding around more on the 220, did a few intercity trips,

I loved the Millage and the Power + the comfort, it did take me some time to get used to the riding position. Loved the fact that i was not hurting my spin now.

But the happiness did not last too long. The bike did just 12000 Km and was stolen.

Back to the basics again. Did not feel like buying another bike.

In July 2012, 3 couples decided to do a little trip to Spitti.

1 couple was riding a Hero Honda Karizma.
2 Couple was riding a Hero Honda Karizma (Fi)
3 We were planning to do it on the Bullet. (Mrs. did not like it)

We did a trial run to Kasauli from Delhi.

All went fine i was able to keep up with the Karizmas on a constant speed of 90-95 on the highway with a good millage of 32 KMPL.

But when we got to the hills it was a different story all together. The bike lost the power.
It was getting tough to climb the hills.
Situation become worst when we got to the Guesthouse at Kasauli and the bike would not climb the steep Road that was leading to the main road.

We left the bike there and headed out on foot.

Next morning we met Akshay from Ambala he is on this forum.
I was still being not sure how the bike is going to climb the steep climb. But Akshay tried it and got through in one go.

I was being laughed at i was a BIG LOL. (Though the issue was diagnosed that the Clutch was too much heated to transfer)

Now in the time being the night before we all had a discussion and came to a conclusion that we will just use the Karizma that was lying around with Couple 2.
This Karizma was not used for almost a year and was barely running. It took me a month to do it up and get it back up and running so that i can do the Spiti trip. Mrs. loved the comfortable seat. And the Trip went amazing.

After this i had planned to get a Bike that can take me places again.

We looked into a DUKE and Mrs. was adamant that it should not make way to our Home. Cause she was not comfortable.

Long story short. When i was in UK my friend calls me and tells that there is a Karizma which is used by a friend and he is heading back to his home country.

I did not want to wait and ponder upon it. I asked him to but the bike.

The running gear is good. Some of the panels are bad in shape. Over the entire bike is good.

So now i am owner of a Karizma again.

I have some photos for you.

This is how the bike looked when i got it.

We will bring it back to good shape and i will keep you updated.
Back to the Hero Honda Karizma-img20131202wa000301.jpg  

Back to the Hero Honda Karizma-img20131202wa0003.jpg  

Back to the Hero Honda Karizma-img20131202wa000401.jpg  

Back to the Hero Honda Karizma-img20131202wa0004.jpg  

Back to the Hero Honda Karizma-img20131202wa0005.jpg  

desideep is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 6th January 2014, 20:38   #2

re: Back to the Hero Honda Karizma

WoW this is the Ultimate touring machine. A Karizma without the unnecessary plastics. The relaxed long stroke engine, higher torque and a reliable honda gem.

Not even a duke comes close to this machine in the touring category. Neither do Bullets with their heavier weight as a disadvantage.

Karizma's suspension is soft, ergonomics is good, seats are good. Add to it the long stroke relaxed manner of the engine and you have a winner.

Being a aircooled engine with a carburettor has its own advantage easy to service and maintain.
You have got the right touring machine at your disposal. Ride safe and enjoy the long drives!
amit_purohit20 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th January 2014, 20:44   #3

Originally Posted by amit_purohit20 View Post
WoW this is the Ultimate touring machine. A Karizma without the unnecessary plastics. The relaxed long stroke engine, higher torque and a reliable honda gem.

Not even a duke comes close to this machine in the touring category. Neither do Bullets with their heavier weight as a disadvantage.

Karizma's suspension is soft, ergonomics is good, seats are good. Add to it the long stroke relaxed manner of the engine and you have a winner.

Being a aircooled engine with a carburettor has its own advantage easy to service and maintain.
You have got the right touring machine at your disposal. Ride safe and enjoy the long drives!
True said Amit, i have never been a fan of faired bike, with my last karizma also i did not have the Faring on it. the main thing is that Mrs. will be comfy.

this is what my old bike looked like.

Duke was just way to stiff for our liking. may be the bad back is catching up fast now.
Back to the Hero Honda Karizma-316834_10151224044011495_141346270_n.jpg  

Last edited by desideep : 6th January 2014 at 20:45.
desideep is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th January 2014, 23:38   #4

Originally Posted by desideep View Post

True said Amit, i have never been a fan of faired bike, with my last karizma also i did not have the Faring on it. the main thing is that Mrs. will be comfy.

this is what my old bike looked like.

Duke was just way to stiff for our liking. may be the bad back is catching up fast now.
The zma has a windshield that actually works better than advertised, one of the best in the business. In my mind the fairing is its defining feature, I love it now but that wasn't always the case. I initially thought it half hearted and a lame attempt at sport bike styling. Its one of those things that grows on you.

Duke is stiff and won't be comfortable on anything less than smooth roads, especially with two people up. Besides it's best enjoyed throwing it into corners, not to be ridden serenely at a comfortable pace.

The zma's low end torque means it doesn't seem to be working any harder with two people up. I am in love with the levels of refinement.

I own both, the contrast couldn't be greater. How I wish the Duke had the Zma's levels of refinement, then it would have been perfect. On the other hand, the Duke's gruffness is perhaps its defining characteristic.
Beast_of_Burden is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th January 2014, 03:03   #5

Congratulations on owning the best bikes in history. Beautifully written and short one but to the matter. Loved it.

I too own a Black Karizma R (2009 model) that has clocked 23K kms (Sleeps at home most of the time)

I am a big fan of the Karizma for its engine and looks (fairing, engine belly cover also adds a sporty look to the whole bike). I feel the engine as a diesel one as the low-end torque is unbeatable and just needs a twist of throttle, flies without hesitation.

Ownership costs, yes is a bit on the higher side but all the high-end bikes demand high costs so it is acceptable. I haven't spent much on it ither than oil + oil filter change every 2K kms religiously. This bike is one thing to own by an enthusiast.

Comparing the Karizma with the bullet is difficult as both are class apart with didn't setup. I'm not getting reliability factor in here. A charm that a bullet has is not achievable by any other bike.

The Duke in any format is only for rider and for short distances, the riding position I felt is to upright with suspension and ride quality being in the harder side. If you're looking at track days I will take the Duke first then the Karizma.

Anurag.
a4anurag is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th January 2014, 05:43   #6

bhaijee, congrats. This is nice.

I REALLY like the fact that you guys are still touring on the bike after marriage - we shifted wholesale to the car (wife finds it more comfortable plus she can sleep endlessly while I drive for hours on end esp on trips with limited time).

Curious - how cheap was the karizma? I would've considered a new CBR if I was in your place.
Old 7th January 2014, 13:08   #7

Nice!

Zma is one of the best tourers which is easy on the pocket also.

Its relaxed engine can do 100+ all day without any fatigue to ride or rider. Add to this a comfortable pillion perch, zero vibrations, honda reliability, hero's service network and you have an excellent tourer.

The fairing was the Achilles heel and would vibrate like hell in an otherwise refined bike. Good yous is already dispensed with.

I would suggest not to spend much on cosmetics. Debadge it and make it a motard/enduro with a rally handle and high front mudguard.
These mods will come handy in leh trips as well since stock handle gets bent easily in slightest of falls and stock mudguard doesnt have clearence to let mud smeared tires move freely when going through serious slush.

Something to inspire from a XBHP thread.
Back to the Hero Honda Karizma-31072009986.jpg
Back to the Hero Honda Karizma-31072009989.jpg

Bike is anyway jetted lean from factory so you are good for high altitudes.

Vishwas

p.s. - The bike looks pretty beat up cosmetically. Hope you got a very good deal on it.
vishwaschettri is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th January 2014, 13:58   #8

I had a query about the karizma's engine. The Carb version which Hero and EBL have reworked and gives out slightly more power. Has anyone ridden it? Does it provide better refinement and torque?
Old 7th January 2014, 15:23   #9

Originally Posted by Beast_of_Burden View Post
The zma has a windshield that actually works better than advertised, one of the best in the business. In my mind the fairing is its defining feature, I love it now but that wasn't always the case. I initially thought it half hearted and a lame attempt at sport bike styling. Its one of those things that grows on you.

Duke is stiff and won't be comfortable on anything less than smooth roads, especially with two people up. Besides it's best enjoyed throwing it into corners, not to be ridden serenely at a comfortable pace.

The zma's low end torque means it doesn't seem to be working any harder with two people up. I am in love with the levels of refinement.

I own both, the contrast couldn't be greater. How I wish the Duke had the Zma's levels of refinement, then it would have been perfect. On the other hand, the Duke's gruffness is perhaps its defining characteristic.
I do agree with the fairing being good when it comes to wind protection, but one thing that i have always been concerned of is the fairing making lots of sound when vibrating, and it is the first part that will break off when the bike falls, and i am sure no one wants a hanging fairing when in remote mountains. i am sure you will understand my love for no fairing with the photo bellow of my Pulsar 220

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Congratulations on owning the best bikes in history. Beautifully written and short one but to the matter. Loved it.

I too own a Black Karizma R (2009 model) that has clocked 23K kms (Sleeps at home most of the time)

I am a big fan of the Karizma for its engine and looks (fairing, engine belly cover also adds a sporty look to the whole bike). I feel the engine as a diesel one as the low-end torque is unbeatable and just needs a twist of throttle, flies without hesitation.

Ownership costs, yes is a bit on the higher side but all the high-end bikes demand high costs so it is acceptable. I haven't spent much on it ither than oil + oil filter change every 2K kms religiously. This bike is one thing to own by an enthusiast.

Comparing the Karizma with the bullet is difficult as both are class apart with didn't setup. I'm not getting reliability factor in here. A charm that a bullet has is not achievable by any other bike.

The Duke in any format is only for rider and for short distances, the riding position I felt is to upright with suspension and ride quality being in the harder side. If you're looking at track days I will take the Duke first then the Karizma.

Anurag.
Thanks Man, i have been lucky,i have always loved bit of retro and naked. This karizma is at 20000 km range.
and yes it s not really easy to compare bullet and Karizma, its just that with Karizma things are easy, and thats what you want when you are married.

bhaijee, congrats. This is nice.

I REALLY like the fact that you guys are still touring on the bike after marriage - we shifted wholesale to the car (wife finds it more comfortable plus she can sleep endlessly while I drive for hours on end esp on trips with limited time).

Curious - how cheap was the karizma? I would've considered a new CBR if I was in your place.
Thanks Sir jee... yes i love this fact that we still use our bike most of the time. though i havent done bad with the car either, i did 50000 kms in the first two years of the owner ship of the ford. and still going strong. My Mrs. does not like to sleep while she is driving and that is bit a pain some times. (When she says Kuch acha bolo na. lol )

The karizma cost me early 30' gandhies so when i am done with the repairs it will be around 40, and then i have a brand new carb lying around and rear disk setup, all of this is going to go on this bike.

The CBR's were way more than what i wanted to spend. and if i had to Buy a CBR or if i had to spend that much of money i would have gone with the Pulsar 200 NS, cause if you would agree with me Brand new is Brand new.

Also because of all the stories that i have heard with the Liquid cooling problems in remote i kinda backed out. cause i dont want to carry my spanners and other jugads with me any more.

Originally Posted by vishwaschettri View Post
Nice!

Zma is one of the best tourers which is easy on the pocket also.

Its relaxed engine can do 100+ all day without any fatigue to ride or rider. Add to this a comfortable pillion perch, zero vibrations, honda reliability, hero's service network and you have an excellent tourer.

The fairing was the Achilles heel and would vibrate like hell in an otherwise refined bike. Good yous is already dispensed with.
I would suggest not to spend much on cosmetics. Debadge it and make it a motard/enduro with a rally handle and high front mudguard.
These mods will come handy in leh trips as well since stock handle gets bent easily in slightest of falls and stock mudguard doesnt have clearence to let mud smeared tires move freely when going through serious slush.
Attachment 1187799
Attachment 1187800
Vishwas
p.s. - The bike looks pretty beat up cosmetically. Hope you got a very good deal on it.
I quite like the bike in this image. i may want to do something simmilar, but would just keep way from the offroad look cause i ride my bike to office frequently and would not want to be called Ajay Devgan ( )

i am not going to spend too much just the Right pannel for the bike is to be changed and then i have every thing else from another karizma. Tank will be painted plain red.

Originally Posted by Ford5 View Post
I had a query about the karizma's engine. The Carb version which Hero and EBL have reworked and gives out slightly more power. Has anyone ridden it? Does it provide better refinement and torque?
Not me my friend, i am bit not too much adventurous when it comes to sheer ugliness.

And here is my Pulsar 220, many people said it is just a 180 with the badgeing but again i am not going to please any stupid thing. I dont like Fairings
Back to the Hero Honda Karizma-26119_411723966494_4462859_n.jpg  

desideep is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th January 2014, 00:01   #10

I quite like the bike in this image. i may want to do something simmilar, but would just keep way from the offroad look cause i ride my bike to office frequently and would not want to be called Ajay Devgan
Oh comeone, being called Ajay Devgan cannot be that bad. Ok may be the offroad mudguard can be skipped .
But more importantly look at the balance between maroon and black colour. Your ride is looking too red and single tone. Introduce a bit of black on the panels. May be a black tail and side cowl?

And here is my Pulsar 220, many people said it is just a 180 with the badgeing but again i am not going to please any stupid thing. I dont like Fairings
I too am all for naked bikes. Had gone to buy naked 220 only but got sold on the projector on the faired and bought that instead. Awesome throw for night riding while touring.
But never liked the 220. Power is awesome but the bike fights you every single moment you ride it, It just likes to go straight. Throw a few corners and bumps and it starts misbehaving.

This is one bike I never bonded with. Sold it within six months and went back to my old unicorn. Now closing a decade and a lakh kms on it and this Honda can still teach 220 a thing or two about handling and refinement.

Vishwas
Old 8th January 2014, 04:18   #11

Honda can still teach 220 a thing or two about handling and refinement.

Vishwas
The Unicorn with a powerful engine and same chassis is a gem to own just like the Karizma.

I too had a unicorn from 2006 - 2009, sold and bought a Karizma R. The chassis, long wheelbase gives the unicorn steady ride and handling. Doesn't make the rider uncomfortable whether it is straightline or corners. Just that the engine as not powerful. The current generation doesn't speak that much at the older ones did.

Anurag.
a4anurag is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th January 2014, 14:08   #12

Oh comeone, being called Ajay Devgan cannot be that bad. Ok may be the offroad mudguard can be skipped .
But more importantly look at the balance between maroon and black colour. Your ride is looking too red and single tone. Introduce a bit of black on the panels. May be a black tail and side cowl?

I too am all for naked bikes. Had gone to buy naked 220 only but got sold on the projector on the faired and bought that instead. Awesome throw for night riding while touring.
But never liked the 220. Power is awesome but the bike fights you every single moment you ride it, It just likes to go straight. Throw a few corners and bumps and it starts misbehaving.

This is one bike I never bonded with. Sold it within six months and went back to my old unicorn. Now closing a decade and a lakh kms on it and this Honda can still teach 220 a thing or two about handling and refinement.

Vishwas
Thats Ajay deva thing was just a joke. yes you are rite about the black and maroon thing, the only thing is that i dont want to do too much too the standard stance cause we find it comfy. and then i am not sure if i am going to keep the bike for long. so will stick to originals so that when i need to sell it i would be able to with a easy without being portray as a heavy modified bike or something,

Regarding the 220 i always felt that it was a great handler aswell. but then look at me i had moved from RX and Bullet to the Pulsar. (Andhon mein kana raja ho sakta hai). i loved the power and the way it pulled.

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
The Unicorn with a powerful engine and same chassis is a gem to own just like the Karizma.

I too had a unicorn from 2006 - 2009, sold and bought a Karizma R. The chassis, long wheelbase gives the unicorn steady ride and handling. Doesn't make the rider uncomfortable whether it is straightline or corners. Just that the engine as not powerful. The current generation doesn't speak that much at the older ones did.

Anurag.
I have always liked the Honda bikes from the little 110 cc thing to the CBR, i wish the hero honda had the same refinement.
desideep is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th January 2014, 14:41   #13

so will stick to originals so that when i need to sell it i would be able to with a easy without being portray as a heavy modified bike or something,.
I feel you, but that wont stop me and I shall persevere . Below is a shoddy PS job to hook you up. How about going the vinyl way? Not too expensive and totally reversible. Smoke the tail light as well. Will look kickass. What Say?
Back to the Hero Honda Karizma-img20131202wa0003.jpg

Regarding the 220 i always felt that it was a great handler aswell. but then look at me i had moved from RX and Bullet to the Pulsar. (Andhon mein kana raja ho sakta hai). i loved the power and the way it pulled.
220 handled alright but was nowhere in league of unicorn or Zma. Power delivery was staggering and addictive.
Now that you have logged serious kms on Zma how do you compare the handling?

Vishwas
Old 8th January 2014, 14:47   #14

Congrats desideep on getting the ZMA!

I'm getting good ideas on removing the fairing, I have a couple of broken body panels and I'm thinking now whether it would be feasible to buy a whole set of.plastics and tank.

Does anyone know how much all plastics including mudguard but excluding fairing and tank cost new?
Old 8th January 2014, 15:37   #15

Nice!

Attachment 1187799
Attachment 1187800

Vishwas

Hi vishwaschettri,

Wow, I am honoured that someone is inspired by that bike. I built that bike up for a friend. it has a 2inch lift up front and a 1inch lift at the rear and was a real hoot to throw around bad roads. It also had a flexi front fender, wide MX hand bars ,tvs XL headlamp fairing! (yes u read it ryt)...etc.

I was smitten by that bug sooo hard that I had to revisit that temple.

Here's the second attempt, although not a Zma it does have that awesome motor in it.
Back to the Hero Honda Karizma-20130813_164541.jpg  

nitro.1000bhp is offline   (3) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com