(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-
Motorbikes
(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorbikes/)
I gave up my Karizma to my friend and was thinking of my next bike - Almost zeroed in on P220 - I went to the showroom and promised full down payment, and yet the dealers got on to my nerves by their attitude - It was as if they were doing me a favor.
I gave up, and this R15 news was pretty exciting - I hope it is 20+ BHP. I booked one by paying 5000 in Pacer Motors, Bangalore (near Medinova Hospital in Infantry road) - I was told that they had already taken about 70 bookings.
The expected on road price is 1.12L in Bangalore (needless to say, people residing in other cities can take this price as the MAX (ceiling operator in Maths) - (same for fuel prices) :Frustrati
I was promised delivery before the end of June (and the dealer said he would try to give one early if I paid the full amount after the bike is launched)
Waiting for the black R15...
Yamaha have started airing the ads on TV now. The ad mentions the debut on 12th June. Waiting eagerly.
Here is a pic of the R15 I clicked at Expo 08.
I think this bike has tremendous potential in India. And the only thing I do not understand is why are they launching a low spec bike, at least a 300 cc version should also be available at 1.5 Lacs OTR or so. A lot of Car drivers would opt for this then. What with all the rising fuel prices nowadays, many people are looking at bikes again :)
ads on tv are rolling guys .....12th june is the day
Is it worth going in for a R15 or should i prolong my wait further and check out the Kawasaki Ninja 250?? Big dilemma! Anyway, as of now I am eagerly waiting for 12th June for a very exciting launch, fingers crossed!
Originally Posted by devil_in_flesh
(Post 858665)
Is it worth going in for a R15 or should i prolong my wait further and check out the Kawasaki Ninja 250? |
Same here, and given the rumor that R15 will be ~17BHP @ 1.1Lakh, we may want to wait for Ninja to check if that is a better VFM. But I am sure the wait is gonna be long.
Kousik
Hey Guys,
Last weekend (on Saturday around 4:30pm) I got my hands on this little beast. Not a test drive but fired the engine, revved the enginer hard till 10,500 red line. Tried different postures on the Bike - the seating posture in quite different & race kind. (Did not feel this way with RTR)
All this action happend at Bangalore Wheels - Rajajinagar.
Sales guy over there claims that BHP to be around 17-18 max but weight to de just 120kgs. He also claims to have tested the bike & little wonder is awesome.
From my opinion the design itself is very distinct with large headlights, felt it to be small (Low seating to add to that). Felt the Rear mono suspendion to be a little hard. Also feel that the front shocks should have been re-enforced to takcle indian roads like the Pulsar 200/220.
One negative opinion about the design - the ground clearance is preety less & bad (guess it will scrap a lot of humps :Shockked:)
Overall I liked the seating posture & luv the design.
Folks @ home are asking me to hold & wait till Ninja (Guess they don't want me to buy this bike & upgrade to Ninja again lol:)
Eargerly waiting for the TD next weekend.
~ Sridhar
The best result that should come post the R15 launch is bajaj taking the zx250r launch and pricing seriously. considering that the past was anything to go by, they are definately not going to sit quite over it.
ZX250r if assembled and retailed at 4K $ should be the best thing from bajaj since the classic 180 and i personally have full faith in them.
Originally Posted by vkochar
(Post 858383)
I think this bike has tremendous potential in India. And the only thing I do not understand is why are they launching a low spec bike, at least a 300 cc version should also be available at 1.5 Lacs OTR or so. A lot of Car drivers would opt for this then. What with all the rising fuel prices nowadays, many people are looking at bikes again :) |
er... 300 cc for 1.5 lacs??? dream on :D
as for car drivers shifting over i don't thinks so. many guys own cars because they are practical and bikes are considered not. i fall into that category but then i like being impractical :D
Originally Posted by kousik
(Post 858978)
Same here, and given the rumor that R15 will be ~17BHP @ 1.1Lakh, we may want to wait for Ninja to check if that is a better VFM. But I am sure the wait is gonna be long.
Kousik |
Originally Posted by doctorque
(Post 859491)
The best result that should come post the R15 launch is bajaj taking the zx250r launch and pricing seriously. considering that the past was anything to go by, they are definately not going to sit quite over it.
ZX250r if assembled and retailed at 4K $ should be the best thing from bajaj since the classic 180 and i personally have full faith in them. |
i think we shouldn't be comparing the 2 - the pricing and the target market will more than likely be a bit different. r15 will be a P220/200/zma killer. ninja 250 is creating a niche for itself me thinks. i agree though that some of us (me too) will wait for the ninja launch and if it's within our budgets will buy that instead because a) it's more powerful (36 bhp i believe) b) it's a ninja! :D
Originally Posted by silver_shadow
(Post 859734)
er... 300 cc for 1.5 lacs??? dream on :D
as for car drivers shifting over i don't thinks so. many guys own cars because they are practical and bikes are considered not. i fall into that category but then i like being impractical :D
i think we shouldn't be comparing the 2 - the pricing and the target market will more than likely be a bit different. r15 will be a P220/200/zma killer. ninja 250 is creating a niche for itself me thinks. i agree though that some of us (me too) will wait for the ninja launch and if it's within our budgets will buy that instead because a) it's more powerful (36 bhp i believe) b) it's a ninja! :D |
I agree with you. But are you sure Bajaj will launch the Ninja in the next 6 months?
buddy thats where the problem is...
there is no guaranty that zx250r will come in the next 6 months.
but closely following bajaj's history, they have not been quite for long never... (180dtsi was launched just after the Karizma and it gave the bigger engined honda a run for its money, its still giving in my personal case)
@ Silver shadow - the international price of zx250r worldwide is $ 4,000/-, and bajaj will not leave a single stone unturned which helps them in getting that price as low as possible or feasible for them. the point to which i agree is the segmentation of these 2 bikes. they are definately catering to 2 different segments.
but here we have people who have been waiting now for years to ride something of international standards with decent performance and have had enough of the pizza delivery bikes they have been using for years. I would happily and willingly put my name 1st on that list.
Ninja at $4000 is really tempting. But the question is will Bajaj launch it soon?
It is difficult to get the price of 250R down to U.S. levels, even if the bike is assembled here in India. Most, if not all of the components will be imported and duties will have to be paid on them. The final price will be somewhere between a fully imported bike and the $4000 international price.
Local manufacturing is the way to go if you want it to be priced aggresively. We certainly have the market, but will Kawasaki even allow this and share IP? Seems unlikely.
Alternative is for Bajaj to reverse engineer and make their own 250cc segment motorcycle. The first generation, even if it is 95% as good as the 250 ninja, will become a segment leader in India. Export sales would be the icing on the cake.
Originally Posted by SuperSyn
(Post 860623)
Alternative is for Bajaj to reverse engineer and make their own 250cc segment motorcycle. The first generation, even if it is 95% as good as the 250 ninja, will become a segment leader in India. |
They way they are upgrading the Pulsar, 150 -> 180 -> 200 -> 220, they need not bring in a new model in the 250cc segment.
Maybe next round of upgrade will sport a 250cc engine for the Pulsar itself. And it may be priced at 1.2L (
guessing). But will that be 95% close to a Ninja?
People
are using the `pro' bikes (180+cc) for sometime now, but what we are looking for I guess is a `leap' in technology, which R15/Ninja may offer but incremental upgrade of Pulsar won't.
Kousik
Isnt theres lot of difference to do Pulsar upgrade and making twin cylinder engines, first of all its very different design, they have to look for ultra light weight engine components, light weight frame etc.
All Pulsar shares same cylinders with different bore and stroke and bit changes in other department.
That 4K $ is MRP not the cost to make Ninjas abroad so even after paying duty if its get imported as CKD it wont be more than 5K$ so its possible to sell it for 5-5.5K $ in India which comes around 2-2.5 L in India lets see whether people are ready to pay that much or not.As definitely i dont want to pay 1.25-1.5 L for twin cylinder Pulsar, rather i'll spend money on original Ninjas if it comes for 2-2.5 L.