(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
Originally Posted by rahulcmoulee
(Post 5591397)
There was no specific mention of Manual or Automatic. They just informed me to come at the earliest to get the fuel pump replaced. |
If this exactly what they said, please get it changed at the earliest.
My Zest broke down few times due to fuel-pump malfunction in the middle of the road when I was with family. It was very unpleasant situation to be in. Sending off family in a taxi to home and towing the car to service center was very tiring and frustrating :Frustrati
Originally Posted by srvm
(Post 5591870)
If this exactly what they said, please get it changed at the earliest.
My Zest broke down few times due to fuel-pump malfunction in the middle of the road when I was with family. It was very unpleasant situation to be in. Sending off family in a taxi to home and towing the car to service center was very tiring and frustrating :Frustrati |
Got the replacement done this morning. There were 2-3 other Harriers/Safaris there for the same.
Originally Posted by rahulcmoulee
(Post 5591873)
Got the replacement done this morning. There were 2-3 other Harriers/Safaris there for the same. |
Did you happen to check which specific batch of cars are recalled? I believe you got the car sometime in April 2023, if I am not wrong. I haven't received any calls as such, in fact I was at the service center yesterday as well and they did not inform me anything for my Safari.
Originally Posted by fusionbang
(Post 5591877)
Did you happen to check which specific batch of cars are recalled? I believe you go the car sometime in April 2023, if I am not wrong. I haven't received any calls as such, in fact I was at the service center yesterday as well and they did not inform me anything for my Safari. |
I got my car on 1st Apr' 23 but it was manufactured in March. Couldn't ask for specifics on the recall as I had an important work meeting, so I just dropped the car, filled up a form and then headed to a nearby cafe to tend to that. I would recommend checking with the service center once with your cars Chassis number to see if it is eligible for the recall.
Originally Posted by ghodlur
(Post 5591242)
There are 3 things for which Tatas are contacting the owners individually based on the applicability.
1. Fuel pump
2. Gear box mount bolt
3. Engine mount C bolt.
Depending on whats applicable to the car on the basis on engine/chassis details, individual owners are being contacted. If during the regular service the job card pops up anyone of the 3 above, it is automatically being included. |
I just got a message from my dealer saying "Fuel Pump bracket needs updation". Called back to confirm and I was told the fuel pump bracket needs to be replaced by the end of this month, and they're calling all owners affected by this.
I asked for more details regarding other recalls like the Engine mount and gear box mount bolt which they will check and respond back soon. I then asked if it's just the fuel pump bracket or entire fuel pump assembly to which there was a pause and then a confirmation that it's the fuel pump and the bracket rl:
Since I've booked my first free service in August, I told them I will get this recall fix done at the same time to which they agreed but cautioned that I could be stranded due to the fuel pump issue :Frustrati
^^^Spoke to the service manager who explained in much more detail regarding the "fuel pump updation" recall - apparently, this recall has been initiated by Tata based on escalations by authorised service centres during the last couple of years. About 1 in 1000 vehicles may actually need replacement of the parts and is more of an observation to determine if the vehicle actually needs the part replacement due to incorrect assembly (which leads me to believe it could actually be just the bracket).
Anyways, given the possibility of being stranded on the road, I have decided to take the car to the service centre at the earliest, before my scheduled first service appointment. I'm also curious to understand what is it that could be wrong with the assembly of this part in the car.
Originally Posted by NPV
(Post 5592691)
^^^Spoke to the service manager who explained in much more detail regarding the "fuel pump updation" recall - apparently, this recall has been initiated by Tata based on escalations by authorised service centres during the last couple of years. ........I'm also curious to understand what is it that could be wrong with the assembly of this part in the car. |
One thing that you should check is if they put the O-ring properly back when they re-install the fuel-pump. Got my fuel pump replaced (Zest Petrol) at Kropex Marathahalli in Sep-2022*. Cost me about Rs.11,000. Idiots did not put the O-ring properly during installation. Fuel used to leak from bottom of the car whenever I filled the tank up but not when I fill only partly (this when Petrol was Rs.100 per liter). Went back to Kropex in Nov-2022 and they fixed the O-ring properly this time around. Would have wasted atleast 10 litres fuel in all this tamasha.
* This was already my 2nd fuel pump. The first one was replaced in June-2018 under warranty at Urs Cars, Mysore.
And yes, malfunctioning fuel-pump = getting stranded in the middle of the road with a car that wouldn't start. Getting it towed to TASS is a headache. Get it checked/replaced at the earliest.
Originally Posted by NPV
(Post 5592691)
Anyways, given the possibility of being stranded on the road, I have decided to take the car to the service centre at the earliest, before my scheduled first service appointment. I'm also curious to understand what is it that could be wrong with the assembly of this part in the car. |
I took the car in today for the fuel pump bracket recall campaign and it was done in 45 mins, they said everything is fine. Apparently 1 in about a 1000 cars may have a bracket assembly issue.
Due to my work schedule I couldn't go on a weekday which I always prefer, and today being a Saturday plus Holiday there were way too many cars lined up for service. They couldn't even dedicate a bay to check my car and it was done in the driveway of the service floor!
I was very curious to see the assembly of the fuel pump and bracket, but they gave me the usual Gyan that customers are not allowed. On another day I may have requested/persisted, but with all the cars around, I thought its better to wait it out in the customer lounge.
Originally Posted by NPV
(Post 5594372)
I took the car in today for the fuel pump bracket recall campaign and it was done in 45 mins, they said everything is fine. Apparently 1 in about a 1000 cars may have a bracket assembly issue.
Due to my work schedule I couldn't go on a weekday which I always prefer, and today being a Saturday plus Holiday there were way too many cars lined up for service. They couldn't even dedicate a bay to check my car and it was done in the driveway of the service floor!
I was very curious to see the assembly of the fuel pump and bracket, but they gave me the usual Gyan that customers are not allowed. On another day I may have requested/persisted, but with all the cars around, I thought its better to wait it out in the customer lounge. |
As per multiple WhatsApp/telegram /FB groups, more than 50% of all Harrier and safari, and 100% of 2023 manufacture have been recalled for the same.
Originally Posted by loneagl09
(Post 5594445)
As per multiple WhatsApp/telegram /FB groups, more than 50% of all Harrier and safari, and 100% of 2023 manufacture have been recalled for the same. |
Yes, almost all new BS VI Phase 2 vehicles are being recalled, but as I said - after the inspection, very few will need any part replacement.
(This is what the service personnel mentioned).
Originally Posted by loneagl09
(Post 5594445)
As per multiple WhatsApp/telegram /FB groups, more than 50% of all Harrier and safari, and 100% of 2023 manufacture have been recalled for the same. |
Mine Safari is a fairly new one manufactured in Jun 2023 and delivered in Jul 2023, how to know whether its part of this recall or not?
Originally Posted by shantanumishra
(Post 5594529)
Mine Safari is a fairly new one manufactured in Jun 2023 and delivered in Jul 2023, how to know whether its part of this recall or not? |
Good question and I tried to find out if Tata has any public site to check if a vehicle qualifies for the recall, but I haven't found anything. All I know is the dealers are being informed and they're contacting the owners of the affected vehicles.
Originally Posted by shantanumishra
(Post 5594529)
Mine Safari is a fairly new one manufactured in Jun 2023 and delivered in Jul 2023, how to know whether its part of this recall or not? |
Just call the SA and he'll check with your chassis number to verify recall.
Anyone experience driver door rattling noise on the Harrier?
I suspected the clips of the door pad, had them all replaced and it still persists, gets accentuated with uneven/bad roads.
Now, I'm thinking it's the glass not sitting flush at the top or the rubber beading has a gap that does not close the door flush with the body.
I am struggling with the rubber band effect in my automatic Harrier XZA. It feels more pronounced in the sports mode. Gear shifter seems to find the slots too late. I'm probably expecting a dual-clutch kind of response :-) Any suggestions on how to modulate the accelerator pedal to enjoy smooth shifts ?
Thanks, Dinesh