Team-BHP - Volkswagen Virtus Review

-   Official New Car Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/)
-   -   Volkswagen Virtus Review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/251477-volkswagen-virtus-review-165.html)

Does anyone know of discounts on the Virtus 1.0 Highline Plus AT variant?
I went to inquire for 1.0 Topline, since Highline and Topline show discounts of ~1.6 Lakh on the VW website.
But the sales people play their usual tactic of no cars in stockyard, strategy has changed for Skoda/VW, and so on.

I got a quote for 17.3L on road for Highline Plus AT (can shave off 30K more if I buy less-inflated insurance myself), including 15K corporate, 10k special discount, and 20K scrappage bonus (since I have a 16 yr old car which is eligible for scrapping)
The scrap value that they have agreed so far is 30K, which is a lowball offer.

They say the Highline variant has stopped production, which is a vague response, since I'm in Pune and production happens here.

Assuming the Topline max discount at 1.6L, I could have gotten the Topline Sound Edition AT around 18-18.3 odd, since the OTR is 19.93L in Pune, but they don't budge much on discounts for Topline either.
For Slavia Prestige AT as well, initial negotiations with the sales manager just led to discounts of 60-65K.
In spite of it being year end, they don't seem to budge much.
Any negotiation tips from the forum would be appreciated.
We did the usual, no specific colour choice, which variants do you have in stock and what are your best offers, all while showing that we are extremely serious about buying the car.
Hoping to pit one dealer against the other next.

Hello everyone, I took out my car on Friday to go to office. Today when I saw, there was a huge cut in the front left tire. I replaced it with spare tire. I have 2 queries:

1) Can I claim warranty for my tire? The car is 1.6 years old.
2) As the spare tire was unused all this while, can I drive it for like 40 50 kms, before I get a brand new tire?

One advantage of having good GC in Virtus is it can handle a bit of mild off-road, which usually one doesn't expect from a sedan.
Here are couple of pics from an off-road trail we did in a Tea estate in Valparai to reach a stream, initially I was apprehensive but didn't face any issues.

Volkswagen Virtus Review-img_6566.jpg

Volkswagen Virtus Review-img_6546.jpeg

Originally Posted by geminivirtus (Post 5886400)
Hello everyone, I took out my car on Friday to go to office. Today when I saw, there was a huge cut in the front left tire. I replaced it with spare tire. I have 2 queries:

1) Can I claim warranty for my tire? The car is 1.6 years old.
2) As the spare tire was unused all this while, can I drive it for like 40 50 kms, before I get a brand new tire?

OK, so I did replace my tyre. Regarding warranty, the CEAT dealer said the tyres should be registered by the showroom and would carry a warranty of 2 years from that day. As mine was not registered by the VW showroom folks, i had to pay full amount for the tyre. As soon as I did, I got a WA message from CEAT stating the tyre has been registered and warranty is until Dec 2027.

Not sure how accurate the info that registration is required to have warranty is, but that's what the CEAT showroom guy said, so new car buyers may want to look into this as well.

Originally Posted by geminivirtus (Post 5887680)
OK, so I did replace my tyre. Regarding warranty, the CEAT dealer said the tyres should be registered by the showroom and would carry a warranty of 2 years from that day. As mine was not registered by the VW showroom folks, i had to pay full amount for the tyre. As soon as I did, I got a WA message from CEAT stating the tyre has been registered and warranty is until Dec 2027.

Not sure how accurate the info that registration is required to have warranty is, but that's what the CEAT showroom guy said, so new car buyers may want to look into this as well.

I have never registered OEM tires that come with the car for warranty, so this seems weird.

VW and Ceat should have a warranty which comes by default if these are OEM tires supplied by Ceat to VW when the car was manufactured. This looks like a case where Ceat found a loophole to deny OEM tire replacement citing warranty was not registered.

Who does anti rust coating for drive shafts etc? I dont know a source

Originally Posted by blogslogger (Post 5881058)
That is cast iron surface rust which is present in all cars. It will be almost impossible to find a new car without the rust. If the other PDI checks are in order, please ignore the rust and get an anti rust coating done after the purchase.

Most new cars have some sticker in the car which has some data printed. In most Volkswagens, this sticker is placed on the front fender. Attached the photo for the same (Virtus fender). I heard from few people that, this sticker should be removed as it has sensitive vehicle information? Is it so, what information is that? Should we remove this sticker or it can be present?

Originally Posted by niranj1997 (Post 5889391)
Most new cars have some sticker in the car which has some data printed. In most Volkswagens, this sticker is placed on the front fender. Attached the photo for the same (Virtus fender). I heard from few people that, this sticker should be removed as it has sensitive vehicle information? Is it so, what information is that? Should we remove this sticker or it can be present?

Almost all cars have their VIN numbers stuck somewhere outside like on any window glass & even sharkfin antennas. I would suggest to remove the VIN from sight after purchase. VIN may be used to extract all details of the car, and many details of the owner if it gets into wrong hands. I don't know if VW cars have anything other than the VIN that should be removed.

Originally Posted by saket77 (Post 5889590)
Almost all cars have their VIN numbers stuck somewhere outside like on any window glass & even sharkfin antennas. I would suggest to remove the VIN from sight after purchase. VIN may be used to extract all details of the car, and many details of the owner if it gets into wrong hands. I don't know if VW cars have anything other than the VIN that should be removed.

In this sticker, I don't see VIN number is printed. I could see a big barcode. Not sure what it is. Also I see a number which is denoted as 'PIN'. And there is a number which is denoted as 'L700 No.' and another number which is denoted as 'KW.'

But in VW cars, the VIN is present in car windshield itself. It is not a sticker and so it cannot be removed and it is visible always.

Any other people who is aware of the information on the sticker on the fender, kindly share. It will be helpful. Thanks!

Originally Posted by niranj1997 (Post 5889776)
other people who is aware of the information on the sticker on the fender, kindly share. It will be helpful. Thanks!

I have heard that some brands like Hyundai have too much detail, and since the keys are not too sophisticated, a good software programmer could make duplicate keys based on the info. So yes, it must be removed. For sure!

Originally Posted by supernova105 (Post 5885313)
Does anyone know of discounts on the Virtus 1.0 Highline Plus AT variant?
I went to inquire for 1.0 Topline, since Highline and Topline show discounts of ~1.6 Lakh on the VW website.
But the sales people play their usual tactic of no cars in stockyard, strategy has changed for Skoda/VW, and so on.

I got a quote for 17.3L on road for Highline Plus AT (can shave off 30K more if I buy less-inflated insurance myself), including 15K corporate, 10k special discount, and 20K scrappage bonus (since I have a 16 yr old car which is eligible for scrapping)
The scrap value that they have agreed so far is 30K, which is a lowball offer.

They say the Highline variant has stopped production, which is a vague response, since I'm in Pune and production happens here.

Assuming the Topline max discount at 1.6L, I could have gotten the Topline Sound Edition AT around 18-18.3 odd, since the OTR is 19.93L in Pune, but they don't budge much on discounts for Topline either.
For Slavia Prestige AT as well, initial negotiations with the sales manager just led to discounts of 60-65K.
In spite of it being year end, they don't seem to budge much.
Any negotiation tips from the forum would be appreciated.
We did the usual, no specific colour choice, which variants do you have in stock and what are your best offers, all while showing that we are extremely serious about buying the car.
Hoping to pit one dealer against the other next.

I am on the exact same spot, checked different showrooms to see what are the year end discounts (Target - Highline+ 1.0 / Virtus Topline 1.0), as per my understanding 1.3-1.5L is the sweet range of discount all showrooms are giving and Highline variant has stopped production for 2024, WV will start assembling post Jan as it will have a 2025 MFG (info from showroom)

Highline+ is what I was looking for however no stock in the color I want and getting Topline for 1.2L extra seems reasonable (not value for money but reasonable)

Now the dilemma where I need help :Frustrati
Should I buy the topline 1.0 AT (fully loaded) OR shell out 60-75k more for the 1.5 GT DSG variant (no virtual cockpit / sunroof / subwoofer / ventilated seats / Leatherette seat upholstery / list goes on), 70% of my drive is in Mumbai traffic and 30% highway, regular 300-500 km family trip is planned every 2-3months.

Originally Posted by IPathan (Post 5892006)
Should I buy the topline 1.0 AT (fully loaded) OR shell out 60-75k more for the 1.5 GT DSG variant (no virtual cockpit / sunroof / subwoofer / ventilated seats / Leatherette seat upholstery / list goes on), 70% of my drive is in Mumbai traffic and 30% highway, regular 300-500 km family trip is planned every 2-3months.

I was also in a similar situation, was offered the highline plus Taigun and also the Taigun topline variant for a premium of 1.3 lakhs. Opted for the Topline. For a moment I did think of the GT 1.5 dsg but I felt the 1.0 AT to be more than sufficient for my bangalore traffic use case. I had booked the GT line variant at first but it was not available in lava blue colour so in the end went with the topline.

Originally Posted by IPathan (Post 5892006)
Should I buy the topline 1.0 AT (fully loaded) OR shell out 60-75k more for the 1.5 GT DSG variant (no virtual cockpit / sunroof / subwoofer / ventilated seats / Leatherette seat upholstery / list goes on)

Even that variant doesn't show up on the website anymore GT DSG, which is lower than GT+ DSG.
Not sure if there is some old stock.
I just wish there was a GT MT, lower than the GT+
Slavia manual 1.5 has been discontinued unfortunately.

I'd put up the quotes I got in November, hope to re- negotiate this month and book it.
Pune traffic will not permit me a DSG is what I assume 😅 Better safe than sorry.
Even GT line seems value for money, since they are adamant with minimal discounts on Highline+ which is a newer variant.

Originally Posted by Kingerman (Post 5870598)
Hi BHPians,

Has anyone who owns Virtus GT DSG has My Volkswagen Connect from the dealer itself?

TIA!

Volkswagen connect on my GT (not plus) DSG is working fine now, had to chase the dealership a few times and they have enabled it finally! Also make sure you install the correct app, for Android it's called "My Volkswagen" on play store.

Does anyone know what the underbody lights look like for the Virtus? I don't want to get the door lamps as I have extensive sound-damping materials installed and I don't want them messing about with the upgraded sound setup.