Old 7th February 2024, 15:41   #436

Re: 2023 Tata Safari Facelift Review

Originally Posted by Sphere View Post
Do the middle row vents cool the middle row efficiently, or is it the front vents mostly at work? I'm spoiled by the roof mounted ac vents on the ertiga so I find the ones in the safari really bad.

Can you align them to throw directly on the face or neck area, or does it just throw around the stomach area.
The middle row vents are not the best TBH and roof mounted vents would have been better. They do throw cold air but they are aimed towards the stomach area and turning them up towards the face shuts off the vents.

What I have found to work the best is to align the front center vents straight so that they throw air towards the rear passengers. The front side vents are usually sufficient for the front passengers.

Best,
Enigmatic
Enigmatic is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 15:59   #437

Originally Posted by satishconsults View Post
My first post on team-bhp. Been a follower for years.

Let's talk about the service experience. I knew Tata Service had a very bad reputation , and I was prepared to expect average to below average work. But the FPL Tata Madhavaram folks knew how to beat even the worse case scenario imagined by a prepared customer.

The car went in for 1st Service. Parked for an hour in front of the Service Center. Then taken for a ride in a really bumpy highway. Back outside the gate of the Service Center. Then the first service happened there. A total of 10 minutes, with one guy checking oil, pouring water for the windshield pump. That's it! the first free service is complete. It never went inside the service centre.
Around 4pm, a guy comes with a damp cloth to wipe the car and the car is sent back. I got it dirtier than how it was sent.

I was eager to check out the dash cam videos. I wasn't prepared for what I saw. I can confirm that Tata Service sucks big time.

I am loving the Blufella though. The car physically is fabulous. the suspension is fantastic. The Service just sucks big time. The teething issues can be sorted, only if you are lucky enough to talk to a competent advisor.

Passed on my concerns to CRM and the Service Advisor. Waiting to see what happens next.

I'll keep this thread updated on what happens next.
A week later, here is an update on my what seem to be worsening service experience with FPL Tata Service Center @ Madhavaram, Chennai.
- The guy who claimed to be the CRM last week, and assured resolution by Monday 5th Feb is actually not the CRM.
- No follow up from FPL Tata Service Center, and the guy who claimed to be CRM
- I reached out to the Service Center, to end up chatting with Real CRM (I hope he is), who had no clue about the issue.
- The car was not only "not serviced" but interiors were damaged. The fabric/cloth on the roof had a clean cut as if either it was pulled out from the rubber or there is cut with a blade. i suspect the former.
2023 Tata Safari Facelift Review-roof-damage.jpeg
- I have another appointment for tomorrow, fingers crossed.

Overall, I still do like the car itself but an very skeptical about Tata Service.

Can anyone suggest a reasonably decent service center in and around Chennai?
satishconsults is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 21:10   #438

Originally Posted by Enigmatic View Post
The middle row vents are not the best TBH and roof mounted vents would have been better. They do throw cold air but they are aimed towards the stomach area and turning them up towards the face shuts off the vents.

What I have found to work the best is to align the front center vents straight so that they throw air towards the rear passengers. The front side vents are usually sufficient for the front passengers.
Completely Agree
I had to close the front side vents because I was feeling to cold while driving and couldn't decrease the blower speed because my mom was feeling hot in the middle row.

I'll surely use this trick from now on.
Thank you
Old 7th February 2024, 21:41   #439

+1 to method suggested above.

Also, what I have tried in my pre face lift Safari and my Verna before that, is to direct the front centre vents slightly towards roof and keep the fan on speed 2. I have found that this gives a better circulation of air through the roof contour and helps the rear passengers.
Rodie09 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2024, 17:51   #440

Originally Posted by satishconsults View Post

Can anyone suggest a reasonably decent service center in and around Chennai?
I have been using TATA cars for the past 7 years. I tried a few different service centers in Chennai and have finally accepted that the only way to handle the service center folks is to be extra-assertive when I enter their premises and be prepared to raise my voice during service visits. Personally, I wouldn't say I like this method but this is the only thing that works.
Old 9th February 2024, 23:21   #441

Originally Posted by flameofforest View Post
Scary episode – Vehicle Stalled – Error on display “Drive mode malfunctioned” – Called Tata helpline and the emergency assist came in 1.5 hour as it happened in the city. He identified that Diesel was over so the vehicle stalled. This was very odd as when I started from home it showed 80KMs to empty. Anyways after filling 10L of diesel the car started. BUT, it seemed the display was faulty. After the S/W update I could see it showing me right quantity of fuel and much accurate DTE. But this episode taught me to have some more gas in the vehicle at all times.
Please avoid driving with low fuel and don't trust the DTE number to the T. It may impact fuel pump life and of course, you run the risk of getting stranded due to empty tank.

Last edited by Aviator_guy : 9th February 2024 at 23:22.
Aviator_guy is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 10th February 2024, 12:41   #442

Right Knee support – I am used to driving Hatchback for 8-10 hours at a stretch where my right knee used to rest on the doorside. But in Safari there is a big gap between door and right knee so its always in sort of hanging position. Anyone facing this issue or is this limited to me and my sitting posture ??.
I too faced the same problem a few years ago when I bought my Tucson, having moved from a smaller car.

Here's my jugaad solution to it . I took some packaging foam, cut it to the appropriate size and shape, and then stuck it to the door-pad using 3M double-sided tape. Now my leg rests comfortably and stress-free in the correct position.
2023 Tata Safari Facelift Review-img_3595.jpeg  

lordrayden is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 10th February 2024, 21:32   #443

Aftermarket -

Got Garware Ecolite sun protection film (govt. approved 50% transparency) on the glasses. (again coming from Hyundai we had tinted glasses so used to a bit of shade)
Are you sure about the sunfilm being "government approved"? I ask because i believe there is no such thing.

I checked both, 3M and Garware websites and they don't mention any such product either.

I'd advise you to double check with the shop where you got sunfilm from, before you get in trouble with the cops.
Doonite is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 12th February 2024, 10:39   #444

Originally Posted by Aviator_guy View Post
Please avoid driving with low fuel and don't trust the DTE number to the T. It may impact fuel pump life and of course, you run the risk of getting stranded due to empty tank.
Thanks for the heads up. and yes, lesson learnt the hard way. My habit was to rely on my hatchback DTE which showed accurate results till 2KM to empty (yes, i have been in such situations) so was in the same belief that this too would be that accurate.

Originally Posted by lordrayden View Post
I too faced the same problem a few years ago when I bought my Tucson, having moved from a smaller car.

Here's my jugaad solution to it . I took some packaging foam, cut it to the appropriate size and shape, and then stuck it to the door-pad using 3M double-sided tape. Now my leg rests comfortably and stress-free in the correct position.
Yes, I too was thinking of doing something similar as my next 1800KM trip is coming up in 2 weeks. Thanks for the pic !!!

Originally Posted by Doonite View Post
Are you sure about the sunfilm being "government approved"? I ask because i believe there is no such thing.

I checked both, 3M and Garware websites and they don't mention any such product either.

I'd advise you to double check with the shop where you got sunfilm from, before you get in trouble with the cops.
Thanks for the advice and suggestion. That’s true that their website doesn’t mention that but I checked 3-4 auto shops (high-end and low-end) and they all had the same film, and this is also available in other auto websites. Will go and check with the shop again.
Just an FYI – the sunfilm box had a hologram with seal and the film also has a Garware watermark. So fingers crossed. And as I said, its 50% so just a lil grey-ish to block the sun and not too dark like in filmstars or politicians cars !!!
flameofforest is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th February 2024, 15:12   #445

Update after a 500KM highway drive:

Positives:
1. Mechanically the car is solid. The engine feels very relaxed at 100 KMPH. Managed to hit 130KMPH and the engine had enough grunt to keep on going however I did not stretch it considering the run-in period is not yet over.
2. The suspension set-up is amazing. Encountered a lot of bad roads (NH 48 from Mumbai to Daman is under renovation) but the Safari ate it all with no issues. All occupants praised the ride quality.
3. Bone chiller of an AC.
4. Managed to get 14KMPL (as per MID) which is very decent milage for a new engine. I am quite pleased specially considering I have migrated from a Civic.
5. Very decent handling. For a big vehicle, it handled curves pretty well. Again coming from the Civic I was not expecting the Safari to be much of a corner carver but it has pleasantly surprised me.
6. The JBL sound system is as good as it can get at this price point. As a reference point, I had a pretty decent after-market sound system in my Civic (2 amplifiers, 4 components and a 12 inch subwoofer in the boot) but let me tell you that I am completely satisfied with the sound system in the Safari.

Negatives:
1. Software glitches. Got (i) memory seat failure message a couple of times (did not hinder operation of seat though); (ii) TPMS failure message although the TPMS read-outs on MID continued to work; (iii) Apple Carplay disconnected randomly twice however it immediately reconnected.
2. The AC disconnected from auto mode a couple of times and randomly started varying the blower speeds. Both times this lasted for about 10-15 seconds during which time the AC control panel did not respond to inputs.
3. The MID got stuck once on a particular display (I guess it was the DEF read-out) and stopped responding to inputs to show other MID read-outs however a restart from the infotainment screen solved this issue.

Other than the above, I am quite surprised that Tata has still not released a software update to activate the lane keep assist feature. It has been about 4 months since the facelifted Safari was launched and ideally a software update should have already been released to activate this feature.

Best,
Enigmatic

Last edited by Enigmatic : 12th February 2024 at 15:15.
Enigmatic is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 12th February 2024, 20:57   #446

Hello Respected bhpians,

Can someone kindly guide me regarding the location for power Socket to power the dashcam? Also , is it feasible to use the USB - A socket present on the left side panel of the third row directly ?
Old 13th February 2024, 07:05   #447

And as I said, its 50% so just a lil grey-ish to block the sun and not too dark like in filmstars or politicians cars !!!
No aftermarket sunfilm is legal. Shops, even car dealers will claim anything (sometimes write on their letterheads) for the sale.
Best is to get 70%+ with good heat rejection in a shade not easily identified by person standing outside.
Only the UV/IR cut glasses which come from factory eg Baleno, Hycross etc are legal.
Hyd police has already started drive to check and fine the cars with tints as summer is approaching.
yadavsid21 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th February 2024, 09:29   #448

Originally Posted by piyush78 View Post
Hello Respected bhpians,

Can someone kindly guide me regarding the location for power Socket to power the dashcam? Also , is it feasible to use the USB - A socket present on the left side panel of the third row directly ?
You can use the Cigarette lighter socket inside the armrest. Good thing is it has a provision for the wire to pass through without any damages to the wire.

For the USB-A in third row, if your dashcam is powered with USB, you can use it. But I believe the front dashcam has a shorter length cable, whereas the rear one will have a longer cable length. Based on which dashcam you are using and the length of the wires, you can plan to install.
fusionbang is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th February 2024, 09:42   #449

Thanks for the advice and suggestion. That’s true that their website doesn’t mention that but I checked 3-4 auto shops (high-end and low-end) and they all had the same film, and this is also available in other auto websites. Will go and check with the shop again.
Just an FYI – the sunfilm box had a hologram with seal and the film also has a Garware watermark. So fingers crossed. And as I said, its 50% so just a lil grey-ish to block the sun and not too dark like in filmstars or politicians cars !!!
Originally Posted by yadavsid21 View Post
No aftermarket sunfilm is legal. Shops, even car dealers will claim anything (sometimes write on their letterheads) for the sale.

Only the UV/IR cut glasses which come from factory eg Baleno, Hycross etc are legal
Any type of aftermarket sun film is not allowed. Police can make out easily by running their finger along the edges. Please be mindful of this and also be ready to pay fine and/or remove the film if caught.
Old 13th February 2024, 13:53   #450

Originally Posted by gauravdgr8 View Post
1. Did you do the PDI as per the TeamBHP checklist?
2. Were there no red flags during the PDI? You mention that after reaching home the mood lights, Infotainment system weren't working.
If you reject a Tata car based on these kind of minor niggles, you wont be able to buy a car from them. The issue here is to debug such a minor niggle, was full disassembly of the car warranted? Even totaled car repair wont look like such a mess? What was the service center guys thinking? Why didn't they isolate the fault and then disassemble only that section? Can they ever put all this back with out impacting the aesthetics and functionality?
poloman is offline   (5) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com