![]() | #961 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
I have a Pete's box in my Diesel car. There has been no appreciable drop in FE. Sometimes the car gives more FE i.e. when I am driving sedately and using the extra torque for better mileage. This is possible as with the box, one can shift up earlier instead of building up the revvs. Most often the FE is slightly lower than before the box - this is because I use the box to really move the car and enjoy some spirited driving. The transmission, suspension and chassis are more than capable of supporting the 15 to 20% extra torque generated by the box. The box does not increase top speed, it only helps the car reach it quicker. The Pete's box is not illegal. Before ECM/ECU all parameters like fuel quantity, injection timing, valve timing, ignition (for petrol engines) etc. used to be set manually and these could be varied to suit the demands of the owner/driver. This is the old manual tuning. With the electronic engine management systems all this is done by the ECU. If one wants to tune the engine, it has to be done electronically i.e. by a re-map or a fresh ECU/ECM (stand-alone or add-on) or an add on device like the Pete's box which alters only the fuel flow. By re-mapping, adding a racing ECU or fitting a Pete's box we are merely doing electronically what used to be done manually in the old days. By adding the Pete's box one is not changing the internal capacity (volume) of the engine or the fuel used in it or doing any other illegal modification. My authorised service guys are aware of the Pete's box and acknowledge that it does not damage the car. This of course depends on the relationship you have with the A.S.C. Cheers, Last edited by Ravveendrra : 9th August 2009 at 10:36. | |
![]() |
|
![]() | #962 | |
![]() | |
![]() |
![]() | #963 | |
I wish them success, so that, in future at least, they give us the goodies, lock stock and barrel. | |
![]() |
![]() | #964 | |
Newbie Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
I just found a list of suppliers for Linea made in Turkey i suppose. The turbo charger is not supplied by kkk! Just wondering what are the cruel intentions of Thomas ? | |
![]() |
![]() | #965 |
BANNED Join Date: Jul 2009 Location: back in gods own country :)
| ![]() this is the punto review thread . thats why i mentioned facts bout the turbo. even a fellow member mentioned that during a Fiat meet he had been told of the same regarding the turbo tuning in Fiat 1.3MJD engine spec cars. why not any of the owners simply ask Fiat engineer wht the swift is aggressive in the turbo spool and not the Fiat when they go for service. we can rest this case then. @ravveendra . sir a simple question does your car smoke more than usual? ![]() i meant with just stock filter. and what about the oil?? does it last good enough as before the box. and sir since you have a nice relationship with service center,the service guys saying that it does not harm the car is really childish!! they wont say the same when something serious happens for example a premature Fuel injection Pump failure or turbo failure. the normal guaranteed life time of the pump is 100k miles ( not delphi pumps! they dont come with any warranty!) that is 1.6lakh kms thats why the European guys test it for that long. but thats not the same in india. 1.5lakh kms is the run life for the injector once this figure is reached, injector seals are advised to be replaced and the pump to be calibrated its seen that in most cases with use of tuning boxes the seals get busted by around 50-60k miles. thats around 1lakh kms. replacing seals/calibration is not that costly just 30k -50k rs!! ) and by this time the boxes cant be held responsible for the injector seals or pump to fail. its the age of the vehicle. clever marketing!! you are most probably not a hard driver. ( spirited driving and hard driving is two different things.) this illegal or not stuff is not that much in the picture because a mod like this is least visible unlike changing colour of the car etc which should be mentioned in RC book and all. since you are a good driver things are going good with you probably. dont expect the clutch to last for long with the box just my two cents. ![]() |
![]() |
![]() | #966 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Dont you think that we are way too much out of topic here. While i enjoy the discussion i think it would really go unnoticed by many if it continues to be unber the GP test drive thread. |
![]() |
![]() | #967 |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2009 Location: Chennai
| ![]() I hate the diesel clatter in my punto, the noise is very pronounced at higher rpm(very much indica-ish). Even our non-crdi Endeavor has a better noise insulation. The clutch play is very long and needs some get used to, turning in tight hair pin bends needs a lot of planning.. Where this car scores is - Handling, a sheer delight; drivability - I absolutely love it, it feels like driving a Sedan; refinements at lower rpms(very smooth). Being a frequent highway traveller and after driving the Endeavor, Getz and Punto, I feel Punto definitely deserves applause. I still can't believe how people say that they are able to drive their Getz crdi at over 160kmph in highways, man I feel really really scary, almost impossible for me.. Fiat, with so much noise from the engine protruding into the cabin, how can you call this car a premium hatchback? P.S: I have driven the punto just a few 100km, I expect the noise to go down after the run-in.. In case, if it doesn't, only GOD can help Fiat.. Last edited by CliffHanger : 9th August 2009 at 19:42. |
![]() |
![]() | #968 | |
![]() | |
![]() |
|
![]() | #969 |
BANNED Join Date: Jul 2009 Location: back in gods own country :)
| ![]() @gsraj atleast google about some info for what the said turbo supplier stands for!!! its the parent company of KKK better known as 3k or Kuhnle, Kopp & Kausch. i got the serial number from the service manual. its available to Fiat owners provided they have good links in service centers!! i should not have replied in this thread or to anyone!! |
![]() |
![]() | #970 |
Newbie Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() @Thomas Sorry, I was not questioning your credibility here. Since I have booked a Linea E MJD myself, your posts become a little hard to digest at this juncture. But I really would like to know your intentions here. Does Fiat make sub standard engines specially for Indians ? Somebody please help me .. |
![]() |
![]() | #971 | |
My comment about the A.S.C. guys agreeing that no damage will be done is in the context of voiding warranty. If they want to accomodate you (which they will if you have a good relationship and if they know you take car of the car properly) they will not void the warranty. On the other hand if you are at loggerheads with them or if they feel that you have abused rather than used the car, they will void the warranty (whether the car has a tuning box or not). Thank you for your compliment about my driving. My experience on TBHP has been that good drivers are the rule rather than the exception. Most TBHPians are quite knowledgable about their cars and are enthusiastic about cars and driving. One makes suggestions about modifications keeping this in mind. I for one, would not venture to suggest a Pete's box, upgraded tyres or a performance filter to a person who is chauffeured around or who is a novice to driving / owning a car. Likewise, such mods make no sense to a driver who is happiest pottering around town and occasionally doing a sedate run on the highway. You do make a valid point about there being a price to pay for the higher torque belted out by the tuning box. There is one immutable truth in this universe - "There is no free lunch". There is always a price to pay, the question is - is the price right or is it too high. The general consensus is that the price is not too high in the case of the Pete's box. To get the same performance from a non-Pete'd car, I would have had to buy a car that is almost twice as expensive as my present car so the Pete's box makes sense to me. @GSRaj, Do not worry. Most manufacturers use slightly different engines in different markets. I am sure no one will specifically design, create and manufacture a sub-standard engine just for us Indians. Most engines are de-tuned for India mainly to accomodate the dodgy fuel quality in India. One spin-off of this is greater FE (in many cases) which suits the "Average kya hai?" Indian market very well. Most cars sold in India also come with a 'India Special' suspension and I would not say that this is a bad thing or that the suspension is sub-standard just because it is different from what they use in Europe. My cousin has a Linea MJD and he is very happy with it. Cheers, Last edited by Ravveendrra : 9th August 2009 at 22:47. | |
![]() |
![]() | #972 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Mar 2004 Location: hyderabad
| ![]() Quote:
ravveendrra sir, if the hyd service centre/dealer has told the car's warranty isnt void with the pete's box, then i would suggest you get it in writing from them so that you have no headaches in the future. was the pete's box picked up from the dealer itself? i was clearly stated many times by them that any kind of mod including a upsize in wheel size will void the warranty. Last edited by aadix : 9th August 2009 at 23:35. | |
![]() |
![]() | #973 | |
BANNED Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: Mumbai
| ![]() Quote:
![]() | |
![]() |
![]() | #974 |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jul 2009 Location: Pune
| ![]() Thank you sir - I am surprised that you have kept track, though the quality comment is more valuable! I guess my contributions will taper down slowly, there is only so much value one person has in him/her to contribute. |
![]() |
![]() | #975 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() |
![]() |