Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 5th April 2010, 11:39   #1

W115 200D Restoration Project

Finally picked up my dream car W115 series . Its a 1972 model 200D. It may have run about 2 lac kms as the speedo stopped around 88k long back and was not fixed since.

Since it was imported changed hand twice and she has been with last owner for 15 years. He has driven it all around (loads of highways).

Now she's mine!

Attaching a few pics in her current state. She is running and Engine has not much work but she needs work on both exterior and interior.

A lot of rust all over and even in the floor boards. Exterior has many trims missing. Need headlight, tail lamps etc. Interior is totally gone bad needs to be built up again.

I look forward to all your support, advice and help.
W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0356.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0354.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0369.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0371.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0365.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0362.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0360.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0366.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0350.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0364.jpg  

Machdar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th April 2010, 14:18   #2

Congrats boss. Please post pics of the car in totality. That is full pics of the exterior, interior and engine bay. Very difficult to even fathom what the cars looks like from the peek-a-boo pics you have posted.
Old 5th April 2010, 14:46   #3

Hey Thanks,

She is currently parked between a couple of cars so could not get any good shots. I will try and take some more shots in the evening and post them. In the meanwhile attaching some more pics.
W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0353.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0367.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0351.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0357.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0348.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0342.jpg  

W115 200D Restoration Project-img_0359.jpg  

Machdar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th April 2010, 15:05   #4

er, at the risk of sounding like a complete jackass, wheres the gearlever?
Old 5th April 2010, 15:08   #5

Hi Howler,

This is a column shift car so the gear lever is the lever you see on the steering column. Its the one in the pic above near the hanging keys!
Old 5th April 2010, 15:14   #6

Congrats on the buy Madchar. all the best for the resto. Looking forward to better pix too.
Btw, are you sure its a 1972 model? Coz if i'm not mistaken, the column shift was discontinued by 1970.
Old 5th April 2010, 15:46   #7

The restoration will cost a Packet for this car. Too many things need to be looked and worked on. Anyway, All the Very Best Machdar.
Old 5th April 2010, 16:17   #8

Thank You all,

Indrojit I will surely take your offer on the parts once my dhobi list is ready.

Yes Sccoby it will cost a packet but what the heck I have been waiting for over two decades to own a 115.

Hi Jay D will check on that but yes this was imported and registered in 1972 (that's what the RC book says) May have been manufactured earlier but anyways let me check on the column shift & 1970 bit.

Last edited by Rehaan : 7th April 2010 at 11:19. Reason: "shift" was misspelled to mean something totally different :)
Old 5th April 2010, 20:38   #9

Congrats Machdar she seems like a good project, so spill the beans mate what did you pay I know you must pulled a keen deal as she has changed genuine hands. The steering to is from a later model but I always lusted after these PU type steering upgrades

Let me known if you need help out here in Mumbai

Last edited by canonball : 5th April 2010 at 20:45.
Old 5th April 2010, 21:01   #10

Congrats on your new car, a merc that too

Bodyline seems to be fine, and most of the original bits seem to be in place.

BUT, restoring a Merc is no JOKE, i'am still putting one together since last 5 yrs

Do keep us posted on the process.
Old 5th April 2010, 21:02   #11

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
Congrats on the buy Madchar. all the best for the resto. Looking forward to better pix too.
Btw, are you sure its a 1972 model? Coz if i'm not mistaken, the column shift was discontinued by 1970.
Firstly congrats is in order, for you have been looking for a car to restore and here you have it.

The car is very restorable and now that you have picked it up, lets talk of what can be done instead of what should have been.

The column shift came till almost 1973 i.e. till the Bakelite steering was available. Essentially till the quarter glasses remained. The Steering wheel as pointed by Canonball is a padded type and hence from an later model but thats not really a problem. Im sure these balkelite type of wheeks are still available in the chor bazars so time to get one immediately. There wont be a lot left soon. Try and get a white one if possible. If not, a black one will do. Sont try painting it white, it will ruin the whole thing.
Even try to get a new dashboard and switches.

I have thread on the restoration of my W115. You may refer to it if you wish.

Where the heck did the faux wood Linoleum come from, the bottom??

Please try and get the side pattis especially the dicky patti, these are what are really scarce and rare to find. New will definitely not be found, so start your search now.

Next source the front and rear screen rubbers, door rubbers and the channels. These can be quite a tease to find and expensive too. Try and maintain the original seat, especially if the door panels are not real bad, dont get tempted to change them, they will never look the same as the panels need to be heat pressed, something which does not happen anymore so easily, at least in Bombay.

ENgine and suspension parts,i.e. mechanicals are available brand new ex stock so that should not be a problem. You will probably find almost everything that you may need. Try this, change the injectors with the anti knock ones which came in later diesels. They will make a hell lot of a difference in the idling and running of the car.

Happy restoring.
V-16 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th April 2010, 21:36   #12

Originally Posted by Machdar View Post
Thank You all,

Indrojit I will surely take your offer on the parts once my dhobi list is ready.

Yes Sccoby it will cost a packet but what the heck I have been waiting for over two decades to own a 115.

Hi Jay D will check on that but yes this was imported and registered in 1972 (that's what the RC book says) May have been manufactured earlier but anyways let me check on the column **** & 1970 bit.

Not true. My 1971 W115 also has column shift gears (Auto tranmission). The steering wheel is that of W123 as the one of your model has a beautiful bakelight one with an aluminium horn ring. Does this one has an A/C?
Old 5th April 2010, 21:36   #13

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Try this, change the injectors with the anti knock ones which came in later diesels. They will make a hell lot of a difference in the idling and running of the car.
Gogi Ji,

Just asking whether the new ones are better suited to Indian fuel conditions or is it totally a different design alltogather.
Old 6th April 2010, 00:26   #14

wow Machdar you're one lucky guy. Congrats and all the best on the hard work. Like V-16 says try and changed to the anti knock nozzles. What the oil pressure during idle?
so enjoy the restoration.

Last edited by deutscheafrikar : 6th April 2010 at 00:29.
Old 6th April 2010, 00:46   #15

Congrats darshan!though there is a lot to do on the car I am sure you are goin to make it look easy.all the best on your restoration.I hope you don't have the originality bug,because by the time you get it into the original spec you will be out of dough.