(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-
Ride Safe
(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/ride-safe/)
Originally Posted by maheshm619
(Post 5889743)
Dear fellow riders,
I'm on the lookout for a riding jacket, gloves and max budget is ~6k and ~3k respectively. I've shortlisted RE Streetwind V3 jacket, Axor Cruise 2 jacket, Axor Nimbus jacket among many others.Some youtubers are suggesting SPITI jacket from Biking brotherhood which retails for around 5.5K.
My usage is city + rare highway riding. I'm looking for at-least CE level two with thermal/rain liners and armours.Kindly suggest from above lot or any other alternatives in this budget.
Coming to gloves, I couldn't shortlist due to plethora of options. Help !!! |
Go for Viaterra (preferred, better quality) or Rynox (more options, good customer care) jackets at this budget. Ditto for gloves. I would say stick to these two if you don't plan to upgrade in a few years time.
Avoid Axor; despite the attractive (I presume) pricing, I find their build quality poor. Same opinion regarding their helmets. I use a Solace adv riding jacket (Acerbis adv suit copy) with sastec armour but their customer care is just poor.
Originally Posted by Mrs&Mr_Shenu
(Post 5872800)
The Royal Enfield Knox External Knee Armour L2 is available for 67% discount at Rs. 1500 /- at RE Store. |
Thank you for the update. The offer is still valid. And made my order today. Still got 9 pairs.
Originally Posted by Senotrius
(Post 5889785)
Go for Viaterra or Rynox |
Are there any good online channels except amazon (cannot find most Rynox / Viaterra models there)? Any good stores would be at-least 2-3 hours from where I stay currently.
Both can be purchased from their own respective websites. Viaterra will contact you before sending gloves, to check the glove sizes. They will contact via WhatsApp as well. These two brands respond atleast. Rynox, the customer care is good. They have a 'contact senior management' option in their customer support section. 6KIOM is another good dealer who also responds to customers but slower than the manufacturer. I had replaced my Falco boots with them. Again if not the manufacturer website, you're better off going to physical stores.
Powersports international - another okay’ish dealer with online/offline presence of Viaterra. They deal in RYO boots as well. Rynox has a physical store in Kochi, my city, for example. I got my previous Rynox gloves / jacket / pant / rain coat via Amazon. It's sold by Rynox themselves I believe. Viaterra currently has non apparel products on Amazon. They had gloves earlier.
Was going through the LS2 Website recently, and it seems they have launched their Apollo Series of Riding Gear (Jacket and Pant) after IBW, priced at INR 33000 and 32000 respectively. From what I understand, this is the most affordable Class AAA Certified gear you can get in India, which is also fully waterproof. The only other gear I have come across with this level of safety certification (ADV Style Gear) is from Klim (Badlands Pro) which costs 2 kidneys and a heart. Of course, No idea about the quality/real world reviews of this gear, but seems quite intriguing.
Apollo Jacket: https://ls2helmetsindia.com/product/...ey-h-v-yellow/
Apollo Pant: https://ls2helmetsindia.com/product/...ack-dark-grey/ 
Yes, I came across these. But why do all these foreign brands omit the back protector. Forget about chest protection. Doesn't matter if they cost 10,000 or 1 lakh INR. It's always, "pocket ready for back protector".
Otherwise these look good. But a similar one by Acerbis (better brand recognition) is also available at Reisemoto. And the Solace make (Indian copy) I use daily.
Originally Posted by Senotrius
(Post 5894733)
Yes, I came across these. But why do all these foreign brands omit the back protector. Forget about chest protection. Doesn't matter if they cost 10,000 or 1 lakh INR. It's always, "pocket ready for back protector". |
Margins. Simple as. They probably believe that riders have multiple gear sets and can swap the armour from one jacket to another and save both the rider and the company some money. And they are not completely to wrong to believe that. I use a Rev'it RV12 over the default SASTEC armour my viaterra pants came with, SASTEC flex knee armour on my dainese jeans over the shitty L1 'pro armour' dainese ships with and Knox action shorts for all my jeans for the hip and leathers. In all cases, I would have preferred to save some money if the garment was cheaper without the armour
Hi, can anybody suggest me a good riding pante and boots. I already own a motowear riding jacket. I will mostly use them on the highways around 500kms every month. Thanks!
Originally Posted by psb300r
(Post 5898157)
Hi, can anybody suggest me a good riding pante and boots. I already own a motowear riding jacket. I will mostly use them on the highways around 500kms every month. Thanks! |
Hi psb! Would be great if you could specify your budget as well.
Originally Posted by chiefpk
(Post 5898210)
Hi psb! Would be great if you could specify your budget as well. |
Hi chiefpk! I have a budget of under 5000 for the pants and under 3000 for the shoes. At most under 10000 for both of them combined.
(Post 5898212)
Hi chiefpk! I have a budget of under 5000 for the pants and under 3000 for the shoes. At most under 10000 for both of them combined. |
Going to be hard to find a motorcycle specific boot for under 3K. You can stretch a little and go for the TVS short riding boots under 4.5k or try out Clan/Raida boots under 5k. Stuff like Orazo aren't exactly riding specific boots and more like safety boots and I'm not sure if the steel toe protection is going to save you or end up getting severed toes in a crash. Anything half decent is going to be 8-10k and properly protective boots are 15-25k. The prices have blown up quite a bit after import bans and such.
Originally Posted by advstreak
(Post 5883243)
|
Same callouses for me except that I used my Viaterra Grid for not even 4500 kms yet. Doubting the quality of Viaterra now.
Originally Posted by bblost
(Post 5887838)
Attachment 2692145 https://viaterragear.com/collections...e-riding-boots
These are very good value for money. I have used them for about 2 days in traffic and also walked a good distance in them.
The overall comfort is nice and they look nice with jeans. So great for office commute.
It took me sometime to get comfortable slotting any gear slot except the first.
I would recommend these shoes are regular wear for office commutes. |
They are too narrow around the toes area. My feet are not wide by the shoes pinched a lot when I tried them in a shop. The size I tried was a little larger than my foot size but still the toe area felt jammed. Otherwise the quality seems good for the price.
(Post 5898212)
Hi chiefpk! I have a budget of under 5000 for the pants and under 3000 for the shoes. At most under 10000 for both of them combined. |
Hi PSB, for riding pants you can consider tarmac drift riding pants that are priced below 5k. I have been using tarmac riding pants for close to 2 years now. As for riding boots, you can consider Raida riding boots.
I have a brand new pair of Rev’It Dirt 3 gloves in XXL size (bought from USA in Black Friday sale). Basically got this pair along with another in XL size for sizing purpose. Since XL fitted me perfectly I haven’t even bothered to open the XXL pack. If anyone is interested, I can give it for what I had paid. Please DM if interested.

(Post 5898212)
As someone mentioned it's a hard pick for boots under 3k. You can check out the clan range though they are in the range of around 4k. They have a new model named D3O I suppose.
Riding pants, here are some links you can check out from Raida and Tarmac.
Raida Pants Tarmac Pants