Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 20th November 2024, 20:01   #301

Re: Mumbai - Ahmedabad : Route Queries

Left Ahmedabad by 5.30am . Reached Vile Parle around 3.00 pm.

Summary: Ahmedabad- Vadodara Express way. Fantastic as usual except I always miss 3rd lane.

Vadodara- Bharuch Express way- 1st 50% section is terrible. I would never ever pass this and reject it to be rebuilt. I reduced my speed from 120 to 90/100 as I genuinely believe it’s a death trap. Extremely uneven surface filled with Craters where I could see tires marks all over the place. This was clear sign of driver loosing control. At many places they have levelled with Tar coating but there are still places which are yet to be filled. How on earth this has been passed as an Express way? I would love to take Mr. Gadkari in my car on this highway for quality check. Sorry but as much as I value my family , I feel for the ones who are going to suffer on this highway and loose their loved ones. BTW , it’s a brand new road and they are yet to start charging toll. So guys please don’t bash me but I feel disgusted. If these are the standards followed where they had full potential to show India’s engineering firms craftsmanship to the world.

Rest 50% might have been built by some other contractor and had better finish. But certainly not close to any international standards. As many have a mindset ‘Chalta Hai , to fir aaur accha kyu banana hai’. Unfortunately now I have started believing that , except 8 lanes , bigger roads etc etc we are extremely short on engineering commitments. Design and build Quality of petrol stations, wash rooms, rest areas, Food halls what ever which is now built is much below standards.

Joind usual NH 48 from Bharuch. Journey was uneventful till Maharashtra border. Though, I would say that the quality has certainly deteriorated.

I just have a simple question. What standards are being followed to make concrete EXPRESS WAYS ?We really had a funny situation where my daughter was fast a sleep on back seat. She is in her 20’s and has traveled on this road many times with us. Asked , Papa, when will they complete this work so that we can travel comfortably? At this point , We were near Dahanu hill section where concretisation work has already been completed for all 3 lane’s . When I told here that , beta this is new road and she just could not believe.Brand new road was chipping all over. I wouldn’t go in to details but the road is certainly a study material for any engineer of things not to do.

Approach to fountain bridge is again a shameful experience.

Sorry for my bashing but, I have been driving on this highway past 30+ years and have seen this transforming always for better. From 2 single lane( with once highest 26 accidents up to Vapi in late 80’s ) to 2 lanes to 3 lanes and have lovely memories of many such journeys. Today decision was taken on our dinner table that we are not driving or ‘Camel riding’ on this road unless it’s necessary. It’s either flight or VANDE BHARAT.

Last edited by Satkaj : 20th November 2024 at 20:27.
Satkaj is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2024, 19:23   #302

Originally Posted by Satkaj View Post
Brand new road was chipping all over. I wouldn’t go in to details but the road is certainly a study material for any engineer of things not to do..
Exactly my observations after my Ahmedabad - Mumbai ride on 13 November. I call this ride over the new cemented roads as the free pogo ride. This is the situation on most of the cemented sections made in last few years. Only exception I have seen is the Mumbai - Pune Expressway, which is very good except at a few sections.

The cement sections being made in Vasai - Talasari section is one of the worst I have seen, that too after years hardship that we endured during this highway rebuild work. Only people who are benefitting from this concretisation drive are perhaps the cement companies.

Vande Bharat is certainly a good alternative to the pogo ride, but other trains like the Shatabdi Express are suffering from the infamous sudden jerks due to poor maintenance of Central Buffer Coupler of LHB coaches.

Last edited by Turbanator : 23rd November 2024 at 20:34. Reason: Quoted post trimmed.
rajcs is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th November 2024, 18:42   #303

Originally Posted by rajcs View Post
Exactly my observations after my Ahmedabad - Mumbai ride on 13 November. I call this ride over the new cemented roads as the free pogo ride. This is the situation on most of the cemented sections made in last few years. Only exception I have seen is the Mumbai - Pune Expressway, which is very good except at a few sections.

The cement sections being made in Vasai - Talasari section is one of the worst I have seen, that too after years hardship that we endured during this highway rebuild work. Only people who are benefitting from this concretisation drive are perhaps the cement companies.

Vande Bharat is certainly a good alternative to the pogo ride, but other trains like the Shatabdi Express are suffering from the infamous sudden jerks due to poor maintenance of Central Buffer Coupler of LHB coaches.
Your description of a pogo ride is spot on. All the newly built highways and expressways built by NHAI are super-bumpy, do not have proper embankments and are spondylitis inducing for sure. The transport minister in his wisdom a few years ago increased the truck load by 25% extra than what was permitted. This had a two-fold effect, firstly the trucks are moving slower on the highways and secondly a truck owner has less incentive to buy a new truck when he can overload the existing one. Further, due to overload, many of the highways are dotted with the roads being eroded on usually one side in turns and ghats in bad shape.
AKSO is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 11:30   #304

I wanted to enquire what will be a feasible plan for:

We plan to attend the Coldplay concert at Ahemdabad on the 25th Jan 2025 from Pune. (being dragged in lol).

Considering the road conditions, as of now we have booked train tickets from PNQ-AHD but our plans are open. My thought process is, since its a big event there is going to be traffic + republic weekend rush creating chaos on roads/highways? Is it feasible to come by car from Pune to Ahemdabad?

Alternative thought process was, do the concert on 25, then do Rann of Kutch/Gujarat trip and return back. Or do the trip and do the concert last but get stuck in the 26 Traffic on highway on the return leg?

Old 27th November 2024, 14:14   #305

Update:
I have returned back from my Rajasthan trip and I did take the Nashik-Chavshala-Dhrampur route. The road was good overall except for almost 30 kms (1 hour) before Dharampur. Lot of road construction is going on here.

During return, I took the Saputara route. Around 5 kms after Navsari, take left and reach Saputara. From there it is a direct route to Nashik. The roads are excellent in GJ. Once you enter MH you will surely get to know based on the vibrations you get into the cabin. The distance is slightly more, but good roads.

During my onward journey, I started from Nashik at 7:30 and reached Ahmedabad 18:30 with 2 breaks of ~1 hour each.

During my return, I started from Navsari at 6:45, reached Saputara at 9:30. Started from there after breakfast and reached home in Pimpri by 4:30.

Note: If you are driving a Petrol, do fill in GJ and if possible in Jio-BP bunks. There is a discount of INR 3 between 10 and 5 everyday.
Prash1407 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 21:56   #306

I plan to do a roadtrip to Statue of Unity from Mumbai towards the end of December.
I understand that NH48 still has a lot of issues (especially on MH side towards Vapi).

I was considering taking Mumbai - Nashik - Saputara (overnight halt) - Waghai - Mandvi - Netrang - Kevaria route. This is a longer route but might be a more relaxing drive.

Is this advisable? How are the road conditions on this route? Any inputs will be highly appreciated.

Last edited by KarthikK : 27th November 2024 at 21:59. Reason: Minor formatting corrections
Old 28th November 2024, 11:06   #307

Originally Posted by serenedrives View Post

I understand that NH48 still has a lot of issues (especially on MH side towards Vapi).

I was considering taking Mumbai - Nashik - Saputara (overnight halt) - Waghai - Mandvi - Netrang - Kevaria route. This is a longer route but might be a more relaxing drive.

Is this advisable? How are the road conditions on this route?

It is literally a case of being stuck between the Devil and the Deep Sea.

I cannot recommend Mumbai - Nasik road over NH48 to save time due to ongoing road works up to Kasara Ghats. I drove to Vadodara from Mumbai last weekend on NH48 and it took me 11 hours including pit stops. The traffic has improved in most stretches, but you may have to take a few diversions in case of prolonged hold ups.

If you are not too concerned about time, the road from Kasara Ghat onwards via Saputara is more scenic than NH48 and you can take the Nasik route to Kevadia.
rajcs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th November 2024, 15:59   #308

I am planning a Road trip to Hazira (near Surat) from Bandra-Mumbai next Saturday. Have RoRo Ferry to catch at 4pm from Hazira (so have to be there by 330pm). Planning a 6am start from Bandra. Would 9 and half hours be sufficient for this with breakfast and lunch break.

Also, would appreciate if someone can suggest decent breakfast (around 830am) and lunch joints (around 1pm) on the highway. Have kids with me but McDonalds are either too early in the journey or on the other side of the highway. Also, any trusted bunks for refueling.

Moreover, someone mentioned in the earlier posts to consider route via Khanvel but Google maps add two hours for that route (9 and half hours vs 7 and half hours via usual route). Am i missing something?

Old 30th November 2024, 19:36   #309

Originally Posted by TSIched'Out View Post
I am planning a Road trip to Hazira (near Surat) from Bandra-Mumbai next Saturday. Planning a 6am start from Bandra. Would 9 and half hours be sufficient for this with breakfast and lunch break.
Nine hours should be adequate for this trip. I left Navi Mumbai at 8:30 AM last Sunday and passed Navsari around 3 pm.

I had Breakfast at Fountain Restaurant at Dahisar before the Vasai Creek Bridge and Lunch before Chikhli at Shivalingam. This place is on the right side of the highway between the two carriageways. The restrooms are reasonably clean. (https://maps.app.goo.gl/kBD3AA4XAN4xQi7D7).
rajcs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th December 2024, 20:05   #310

I am planning a Road trip to Hazira (near Surat) from Bandra-Mumbai next Saturday. Have RoRo Ferry to catch at 4pm from Hazira (so have to be there by 330pm). Planning a 6am start from Bandra. Would 9 and half hours be sufficient for this with breakfast and lunch break.

Also, would appreciate if someone can suggest decent breakfast (around 830am) and lunch joints (around 1pm) on the highway. Have kids with me but McDonalds are either too early in the journey or on the other side of the highway. Also, any trusted bunks for refueling.

Moreover, someone mentioned in the earlier posts to consider route via Khanvel but Google maps add two hours for that route (9 and half hours vs 7 and half hours via usual route). Am i missing something?

I guess you would have travelled today. How was the experience?

I also need to do the exact same trip - Powai to the Hazira Ro-ro- ferry terminal. The reporting time is 3pm and assuming 9 hours (accounting for 2hours of breaks and 7 hours of driving), planning to start at 6 am. But many youtube videos of Mum-Ahd are scaring me with frightening traffic up to the Maharashtra border. So, I am really confused as to when to start.
Old 3rd January 2025, 21:59   #311

Originally Posted by skasse View Post
I guess you would have travelled today. How was the experience?
@TSI sir and @Skasse sir —> Did you eventually end up taking this trip? And how were the road conditions?

R_S
Old 3rd January 2025, 23:06   #312

I recently completed a 3600 km Rajasthan road trip from Mumbai, and I was impressed to find that the single-lane roads in Rajasthan far surpassed my expectations, outshining even the highways in Maharashtra. Having frequently traveled to my hometown in Gujarat (600 km from Mumbai), I used to enjoy the journey. However, since the white topping of the highway began in Maharashtra, driving has become a painful experience.
carchronicles is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 08:15   #313

My trip was postponed to the last week of December.

I started from Bandra-Mumbai at 630pm. Had breakfast at McDonalds near Haloli Village (on the other side of the highway) around 830am. Had also shortlisted VR Mall on Dumas Road Surat (outskirts of the city, less than 1 KM detour) in order to access clean toilets and multiple eating options. Was at the mall around 1:10pm. Post lunch, started for Hazira around 215pm and reached RoRo terminal before 3pm.

Didn't experience any significant jam throughout the journey. There were few jams which lasted anywhere between 5 to 15 mins. Was pleasantly surprised as I was expecting far bigger jams.

On return journey, started from VR Mall around 230pm and was at home on Bandra around 9pm with one 15 mins break (again at McDonalds Haloli).

RoRo ferry took 6 hours to complete the journey and I reached Ghogha around 10pm during onward journey. Return journey took 4 hours. Guess something to do with high tide and water levels for docking the ship.

Above journey was part of Gir Trip for lion safari. NH51 in Gujarat was butter smooth to drive. Something that should be replicated for NH48.
Old 6th January 2025, 23:03   #314

Originally Posted by roadie_swift View Post
@TSI sir and @Skasse sir —> Did you eventually end up taking this trip? And how were the road conditions?

R_S

Didn't experience any significant jam throughout the journey. There were few jams which lasted anywhere between 5 to 15 mins. Was pleasantly surprised as I was expecting far bigger jams.

RoRo ferry took 6 hours to complete the journey and I reached Ghogha around 10pm during onward journey. Return journey took 4 hours. Guess something to do with high tide and water levels for docking the ship.

Above journey was part of Gir Trip for lion safari. NH51 in Gujarat was butter smooth to drive. Something that should be replicated for NH48.
I had the exact same experience as that of TSIchedOut. We started at around 5.30am fearing the NH48 traffic. Reached Hotel Ahura by 8.10am - which is roughly 120kms away -- which is a good time. While we had encountered truck traffic, but it was not thaaat bad. The roadworks are still on for many stretches which means, you will need to stick to your lane as the freshly laid lane would be at least 3-4 inches higher than the other one and hence you can't really switch lanes. Managed to reach the ferry terminal at Hazira comfortably before 3pm (the time at which we are requierd to report).

Also, the Ro-Ro ferry took 6hours to reach Ghogha instead of the normal 4 hours because of high tide/low tide. Can get very boring even though the first 3 hours were quite enjoyable on the deck till the sun set.
Old 9th January 2025, 13:47   #315

Left Ahmedabad by 5.30am . Reached Vile Parle around 3.00 pm.

Summary: Ahmedabad- Vadodara Express way. Fantastic as usual except I always miss 3rd lane.

Vadodara- Bharuch Express way- 1st 50% section is terrible. I would never ever pass this and reject it to be rebuilt. I reduced my speed from 120 to 90/100 as I genuinely believe it’s a death trap. Extremely uneven surface filled with Craters where I could see tires marks all over the place. This was clear sign of driver loosing control. At many places they have levelled with Tar coating but there are still places which are yet to be filled.
I'm quite surprised about the 1st section, IRB Infrastructure Ltd built this,
https://www.irb.co.in/home/ham-proje...age-i-project/
the same contractor that built the Bharuch-Surat and Surat-Dahisar sections back in 2007, 2009 and people said that they were quality, smooth asphalt with higher cc bikes zooming past through

Links below of Bharuch-Surat and Surat-Dahisar project of IRB

Bharuch-Surat
https://www.irbinvit.co.in/projects/...-nh-8-project/
https://www.irb.co.in/home/projects-...way-8-project/

Surat-Dahisar
https://www.irbinvit.co.in/projects/...-nh-8-project/
https://www.irb.co.in/home/projects-...way-8-project/

Rest 50% might have been built by some other contractor and had better finish. But certainly not close to any international standards. As many have a mindset ‘Chalta Hai , to fir aaur accha kyu banana hai’. Unfortunately now I have started believing that , except 8 lanes , bigger roads etc etc we are extremely short on engineering commitments.
IRCON Ltd was the contractor for one half and the other half was built by Patel infrastructure, I'm having doubts whether the fit and finish would last long, considering the history of IRCON & the quality of their projects

I just have a simple question. What standards are being followed to make concrete EXPRESS WAYS ?We really had a funny situation where my daughter was fast a sleep on back seat. She is in her 20’s and has traveled on this road many times with us. Asked , Papa, when will they complete this work so that we can travel comfortably? At this point , We were near Dahanu hill section where concretisation work has already been completed for all 3 lane’s . When I told here that , beta this is new road and she just could not believe.Brand new road was chipping all over.
this conversation reminds of myself when I used to ask the same when we travel to my hometown via NH-66 in Karnataka when it was/is being widened to 4 lanes, turns out its going to be 10 years since I asked and the construction is still yet to be 100% complete, hopefully history doesn't repeat for Delhi-Mumbai Expressway

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com