Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 8th December 2008, 20:12   #61

hi everybody very interesting discussions going on.well i was planning to go from delhi to shimla also around 29 jan n spend new year there but due to hotel reservations problem i am thinking about manali.is it dooable in 1 day if i start from delhi real early?how much time will it take?roads will be okay?
Old 8th December 2008, 21:57   #62

Sure doable. Start by 5am and you can have tea at Manali followed by nice dinner. Roads should be okay but with hills and rains you never know.
Old 9th December 2008, 13:23   #63

Originally Posted by drchernish View Post
hi everybody very interesting discussions going on.well i was planning to go from delhi to shimla also around 29 jan n spend new year there but due to hotel reservations problem i am thinking about manali.is it dooable in 1 day if i start from delhi real early?how much time will it take?roads will be okay?
I am going there around same time and haven't booked yet. What is the problem in booking hotels in Shimla? There are scores of them there and it should not be a problem at all unless your looking at star properties.

Shimla is closer from Delhi, so much easier to reach. Manali is about 500+kms and is also doable if you start early in morning.
Old 9th December 2008, 14:11   #64

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
What is the problem in booking hotels in Shimla? There are scores of them there and it should not be a problem at all unless your looking at star properties.
mobike008, even 2* and above will be difficult to find during that time, specially new year time.

Don't even think of going without booking during that time, or you may end up paying huge for some 1* dirty hotel, far away from shimla or any tourist spot around
Old 9th December 2008, 14:18   #65

A few days back I tried booking hotels around shimla, narkanda, manali etc,
All HPTDC hotels are booked for christmas new years.
Finally will go to Khajjar/chamba as we could get one room there.

Only hotels available are in places like Sarahan etc., which are not really tourist circuit.
Old 9th December 2008, 14:42   #66

My, My. Looks like i am in trouble. Will ask my folks in Delhi to do some jugaad and get bookings ASAP
Old 9th December 2008, 14:55   #67

I am going there around same time and haven't booked yet. What is the problem in booking hotels in Shimla? There are scores of them there and it should not be a problem at all unless your looking at star properties.

Shimla is closer from Delhi, so much easier to reach. Manali is about 500+kms and is also doable if you start early in morning.

Avi, do not make the mistake of landing up in Simla without confirmed bookings. Getting a hotel will be very diffcult on the spot.

Also, there are not many good hotels on or near the Mall road (most are expesnive "star" properties), so be prepared for a long walk to reach the mall road from most properties.

O.T. when in Simla, go to teh lower mall road. there is a small shop/dhaba run by a chinese lady (very famous , any local will tell you) who serves the most amazing non veg soups you will ever have.

Last edited by himanshugoswami : 9th December 2008 at 14:56.
Old 9th December 2008, 15:09   #68

Originally Posted by himanshugoswami View Post
O.T. when in Simla, go to teh lower mall road. there is a small shop/dhaba run by a chinese lady (very famous , any local will tell you) who serves the most amazing non veg soups you will ever have.
Where there is good food, Avi follows

Thanks for the pointer about the hotel and most importantly about this joint.
Need those hot chinese soups to keep away from frost bites
Old 10th December 2008, 04:36   #69

Where there is good food, Avi follows

Thanks for the pointer about the hotel and most importantly about this joint.
Need those hot chinese soups to keep away from frost bites
No need to worry about frost bites Places in plains like chandigarh are colder than shimla usually
Old 10th December 2008, 13:28   #70

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
No need to worry about frost bites Places in plains like chandigarh are colder than shimla usually
That was just an excuse to gobble down some hot chinese soups
Old 10th December 2008, 14:24   #71

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
For some funny reason Manail temperature is still hovering around 19-20 degree. Why?
Old 10th December 2008, 15:26   #72

Hey! If anybody's interested in spending a couple of days at a secluded cottage having the most gorgeous views of the snow covered mountains then i know a place in mashobra. I googled it a couple of months ago and visited with my family.They even have a cook and a cleaner so no need of taking any house help along. It's just around 13-14 Km's from Shimla on the Naldhera highway. The link to the site is : Hotel in Shimla,Honeymoon Hotel in Shimla,Accommodation in Hotel Shimla,Hotels in Shimla India
Old 10th December 2008, 16:10   #73

Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
For some funny reason Manail temperature is still hovering around 19-20 degree. Why?
is that MIN or MAX? Delhi is already in its 8-9 degrees MIN.

If this situation continues, i will have to cancel my trip to HP and go to Switzerland? Just to see snow
Old 10th December 2008, 16:15   #74

If this situation continues, i will have to cancel my trip to HP and go to Switzerland? Just to see snow
Avi bhai ,itna durr kyu jaane ka hai(switzerland) ,go to snow world na @ lower tank bund..lots of snow there...
Old 10th December 2008, 16:19   #75

Not any longer - when I last checked, it was up past 11 or so