Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 30th January 2025, 13:05   #1216

Re: Tirumala / Tirupati Seegradarshanam query

Have an upcoming trip to Tirumala.

Any tips for reliable IOC bunk(s) stocking XP95 petrol in Tirupati city, located ideally on the route in or out of BLR?
Old 31st January 2025, 08:58   #1217

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Have an upcoming trip to Tirumala.

Any tips for reliable IOC bunk(s) stocking XP95 petrol in Tirupati city, located ideally on the route in or out of BLR?
Here you go

https://maps.app.goo.gl/m4pwKsQCqqLKDHTt5

https://locator.iocl.com/indianoil-m...ti-229302/Home

Above details as per IOC. However, I have seen at times many do not have stocks. However, given this is the only pump in Tirupati with XP95, chances are high. However, on the way, I have seen some on Highway which sported XP95.

Last edited by nareshtrao : 31st January 2025 at 09:00.
nareshtrao is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2025, 16:38   #1218

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Have an upcoming trip to Tirumala. Any tips for reliable IOC bunk(s) stocking XP95 petrol in Tirupati city, located ideally on the route in or out of BLR?
Had a great trip and an even better darshan of the Lord. Managed to enter the SED queue at 1400 instead of our designated 2100 slot. I guess TTD are not too concerned about the entry time unless there is severe congestion inside already/expected.

Drive to-and-fro (ETD ~ 0830 from Yelahanka area) was via STRR (Doddaballapura Road to Hoskote and back), and journey time was ~5 hours. Stuffed face at Murugan Idly (Kolar) both ways, and was a welcome break especially on the way back as I was getting tired.

Left around 1700 and found this IOCL bunk on the Chittoor Bypass (https://maps.app.goo.gl/YVxi8punzfYYEHQbA) which seemed neat and clean, and had XP95. Did a tank full even though the price was ~117 vs 113 in BLR. Did not want to take any chances as such.

Followed a Fortuner and a Alcazar for nearly 50 km while returning between Chittoor and Kolar and they were superb as my 'pace cars', although I was astonished to see the chances they were taking in mixed traffic in a high GC vehicle. Stayed ~50 metres behind them and observed their vehicle movement and lights; made a huge difference to me in maintaining good speeds.
itwasntme is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2025, 17:56   #1219

Finally the Lord decided to give us his darshana!!

Left Bangalore on 29th Morning and reached Tirupathi at around 1PM. Checked-in at a nearby hotel, had lunch, rested and then started towards Sri Govindaraja Swamy at around 4 PM. We walked from our hotel as it was less than 1 Km and weather was very pleasant. Had a very nice darshana of the Lord

After this, we went to Tiruchanoor to have the darshana of Goddess Padmavathi. We had prebooked 200 Rs ticket and we walked all the way till GarbhaGudi. Due to some special pooja by VIP, we were made to stand for 15 mins but luckily on the ramp where we could have a very good darshana of the Goddess. Feeling satisfied, came out and relaxed a bit inside the temple. As soon as we stepped out, GajaVahana procession was happening around the temple,which again, we were lucky to witness. Had dinner at a old hotel and called it a day.

Next day, we left for Tirumala early in the morning and reached the top by 8 AM. We were lucky to get Sahasra Deepa Alankara Seva ticket and a confirmed accommodation (both pre-booked). Checked in to our room which was basically a pent house very close to India Coffee House. Started towards the temple at 3 since the seva was at 4:30. We decided to have darshana first and entered Supatham gate. I should say the crowd was lesser comparitively. We were able to get the glimpse of Lord for a good 10-15 seconds. But exit was a very very crowded and hence we could come out only by 4:30.

Post this, collected laddus at laddu counter and proceeded towards Sahasra Deepa Alankara,which happens in a hall diagonally opposite to the temple,beyond the mada street. This was again a calm and comfortable seva,where we could enjoy the soulful songs sung by devotess and bask in the devotion of the Lord. Called it a day and checked out of room next day morning. Had breakfast buffet at Minerva Grand in Tirupathi and started towards Bangalore.

All in all, a very piligrimage and as the saying goes, "It is not you who goes have HIS darshana. It is HIM who grants you"

Om Namo Srinivasa!!

PS: Roads conditions were very good on STRR and enroute to Tirupathi after we take left near the bypass

Last edited by akhil_007 : 3rd February 2025 at 17:58.
akhil_007 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th February 2025, 09:01   #1220

Originally Posted by akhil_007 View Post
Started towards the temple at 3 since the seva was at 4:30. We decided to have darshana first and entered Supatham gate.
Regarding Seva bookings, my understanding was that darshan would be allowed only after the Seva completion. Surprised that they allowed darshan prior, as well as to attend the Seva thereafter!

Moreover, don't they retain the tickets at the laddoo counter? Is it that you had an additional copy of the tickets ready in hand to report for the Seva?
adisan is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th February 2025, 10:24   #1221

Originally Posted by adisan View Post
Regarding Seva bookings, my understanding was that darshan would be allowed only after the Seva completion. Surprised that they allowed darshan prior, as well as to attend the Seva thereafter!

Moreover, don't they retain the tickets at the laddoo counter? Is it that you had an additional copy of the tickets ready in hand to report for the Seva?
I think you maybe you are right on seva followed by darshana but it was not enforced for me?!. I checked with the TTD volunteer on mada Street and he told me to finish seva and then go for darshana. I asked him if we could finish darshana first. He asked me to go ahead. There were no questions asked at supatham ticket checking counter as well. They put a green seal saying "Checked"

At the laddu counter, they did not retain the ticket instead he made a small tear at the middle and handed it back to me
akhil_007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th February 2025, 10:35   #1222

Originally Posted by adisan View Post
Attending Seva is not mandatory to get darshan, especially for the sevas which are performed outside of the main temple premises. There is no record of you attending the seva or not, except that they can figure out based on the time you reach supatham. We have repeatedly done this by booking an Arjitha Brahmotsavam seva and directly going to Supatham for darshan.

The only thing that stays constant is the darshan slot reserved for the attendees for the seva. From Supatham you will be kept in a holding hall in the Vaikuntam Queue complex. If you go too early, you will wait longer in the waiting hall. They open the gate of the holding hall as soon as the seva completes. So if you are there by then, its an easy darshan. Later it will get crowded as the attendees of the seva gather.
audioholic is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th February 2025, 12:37   #1223

Originally Posted by akhil_007 View Post
Finally the Lord decided to give us his darshana!!
PS: Roads conditions were very good on STRR and enroute to Tirupathi after we take left near the bypass
Though I'm quoting your post, my query/suggestion is general in nature. Not specific to you.

Pilgrims are taking so much effort to go to Tirupati-Tirumala all the way from Bangalore & other far away cities. Kindly take 15-20 minutes extra time to first have darshan of Lord Varahaswamy. Then proceed to have darsan of Lord Venkateswara. Else, as per sthala purana / scriptures, His darsan will not bear fruit. Lord Himself promised to Lord Varahaswamy that His devotees shall first visit Lord Varahaswamy before having His darsan.
srvm is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 10th February 2025, 16:36   #1224

Friends,

We are a family of 3 (2 adults and 1 five-year-old kid) planning for our first darshan of lord on 13th Feb (Thu). We will be driving from Whitefield, Bangalore and plan to reach start of the queue right after lunch. I have scanned through the replies in this forum and understand that darshan timing mentioned on ticket is not strictly followed if we are on the right date (Ours is 9pm at night, which will be a bit late for our small kid).
I have a few other queries below:

1. We are planning to leave Whitefield at 8am, by what time can we expect to reach the foot of hill with one-stop accounted in between? Are there any route tips to be kept in mind?
2. Is it a good idea to take own car up the hill or park the car (we have accommodation) below the hill and take a bus? What are the pros and cons?
3. Are there any recommended places near temple where we can have lunch before starting on the queue?
4. I read somewhere that traditional wear is recommended. Will shirt and jeans be a cause of worry? For women is saree required, or traditional Indian wear is also fine?
5. Are mobile phones and wallets allowed? We are planning to take 1-2 water bottles and some biscuits for the kid while waiting in the queue, are those allowed?

We are going for the first time and would appreciate responses on above to help us plan our trip.

Last edited by oldcontessafan : 10th February 2025 at 16:37. Reason: Grammar
Old 11th February 2025, 08:40   #1225

Originally Posted by oldcontessafan View Post
1. We are planning to leave Whitefield at 8am, by what time can we expect to reach the foot of hill with one-stop accounted in between? Are there any route tips to be kept in mind?
2. Is it a good idea to take own car up the hill or park the car (we have accommodation) below the hill and take a bus? What are the pros and cons?
3. Are there any recommended places near temple where we can have lunch before starting on the queue?
4. I read somewhere that traditional wear is recommended. Will shirt and jeans be a cause of worry? For women is saree required, or traditional Indian wear is also fine?
5. Are mobile phones and wallets allowed? We are planning to take 1-2 water bottles and some biscuits for the kid while waiting in the queue, are those allowed?
1. It is a working day. If you leave at 8 am, crossing Whitefield traffic and then up to Hoskote may itself take over 3 hours stretching your arrival to perhaps 3 pm thereabouts. I suggest you leave early before traffic so you cross Hoskote before 7 am (there is a large Factory population that uses this stretch and the shift start is around 7.30 / 8 am ). This way you will reach by 11 am max with one stop. Have lunch in Tirupati and the commence your climb up since you have a child with you.

2. You can take own car up as there is ample parking. Look for the links in this thread which have been recommended by many of us. Easier and faster that way. Most of these parking spaces have been tried by many of us TBhpians and are safe. I normally park the car, change in to traditional clothes and walk barefoot and engage a jeep to drop at the SED queue complex. Many empty jeeps keep roaming and stop any one. Couple of hundreds max depending on the distance of the parking to the Queue line. Make sure to remember where you parked. Ask anyone local what that place is called so you can tell the return driver when you come out of Darshan.

3. There are enough eating joints up on Tirumala too so you take a call based on your arrival in Tirupati if you want to go up first or have lunch once you reach above.

4. Shirt and Jeans strictly not allowed. Wear a Kurta Pajama if you are uncomfortable with Dhoti. Best is to change once you park the car and then change back to your regular clothes when you come back from darshan. Leave the slippers and phones (including smart watches) in the car.

5. Wallets are allowed. You can also take a small bag with water bottles and biscuits.

Have a good darshan,

Last edited by nareshtrao : 11th February 2025 at 09:01.
nareshtrao is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th February 2025, 09:38   #1226

Friends,

We are a family of 3 (2 adults and 1 five-year-old kid) planning for our first darshan of lord on 13th Feb (Thu). We will be driving from Whitefield, Bangalore and plan to reach start of the queue right after lunch. I have scanned through the replies in this forum and understand that darshan timing mentioned on ticket is not strictly followed if we are on the right date (Ours is 9pm at night, which will be a bit late for our small kid).
I have a few other queries below:
We are going for the first time and would appreciate responses on above to help us plan our trip.
Originally Posted by nareshtrao View Post
1. It is a working day. If you leave at 8 am, crossing Whitefield traffic and then up to Hoskote may itself take over 3 hours stretching your arrival to perhaps 3 pm thereabouts. .......
Have a good darshan,
In addition to excellent points by nareshtrao,
1. For women, apart from sarees, salwar kameez with dupatta is permitted.

2. Don't take mobiles, smartwatches to temple. Either leave them in the car (in silent mode); Or there are plenty of places to deposit them (run by TTD, not other private/shady entities); You can claim them after darsan.

3. Have a dip or at least a sprinkle at Sacred Pushkarini first. Then have darsan of Lord Varahaswamy. Then go for Lord's darsan.

4. If possible, have anna prasadam at Mathrusri Vengamamba Annadana Satram (you cannot miss it; easy to locate & near the temple).

5. If time permits, (since you have accommodation at Tirumala for overnight stay), visit other places / temples in Tirumala: Venugopalaswamy temple, Akasa Ganga, Papavinasanam, Japali Theertham, Srivari Paadalu, Silathoranam, Chakra theertham & TTD Museum.

6. Try to visit Goddess Padmavathi temple at Tiruchanoor. Now easily accessible via Srinivasa Sethu (a long, divided, 4-lane elevated road from Alipiri to Tiruchanoor Road)

7. Driving up/down is easy. The two routes are different and hence both are one-way. There are minimum time limits for both up and down journeys. The down journey has 50+ hairpin bends. Nothing worrisome. Take it slow and enjoy the nature/scenery. If any of you are motion-sick, please take precautions (Avomine etc).

8. If you are staying overnight, go to bed early. Wake up and go for a walk early in the morning at Tirumala. Earlier the better. Since you have a 5-year old, even 6am to 7am is ok. It will be magical this time of the year.

Have a great trip and wonderful darsan. May the Lord bless you and your family.
PM me if you need any additional info/help.

Last edited by srvm : 11th February 2025 at 09:39.
srvm is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 11th February 2025, 11:05   #1227

Friends,

2. You can take your car up the hill. Just drive within the time limits called out on the roadside
3. Royal Sarangee Family Restaurant - good place to go with the kid
https://maps.app.goo.gl/EFaWfmHtFkY2hg6k6
4. I have seen some men wear Jeans. However, it is subject to security so better go in traditional wear
5. Better leave footwear and mobiles in your vehicle. Better to use the jeeps once in Tirumala so that you need not search for parking. Also, you can carry some food and water for the kid.

Wish you and family a great darshan!
mrkireeti is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th February 2025, 16:36   #1228

Friends,
We are a family of 3 (2 adults and 1 five-year-old kid) planning for our first darshan of lord on 13th Feb (Thu). We will be driving from Whitefield, Bangalore and plan to reach start of the queue right after lunch. ......
So, how did your pilgrimage go? Hope you had a wonderful darsan and experience.
Please post your experience / updates for the benefit of others.
Old 27th February 2025, 16:47   #1229

Originally Posted by srvm View Post
So, how did your pilgrimage go? Hope you had a wonderful darsan and experience.
Please post your experience / updates for the benefit of others.
Unfortunately, we were not destined to get darshan of the Lord this time since we had to cancel our trip altogether due an unavoidable office requirement

Planning to book a slot again July onwards when temperatures cool down.
oldcontessafan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th March 2025, 11:17   #1230

Originally Posted by RahulRV View Post
Hello Members,
Me & my sister have been trying to visit Tirupati since 2 years & have no luck in online booking as well. I have gone through many pages but can't conclude on which option to choose for the darshan. My sister comes down to India once every 6 months and will be here for around 2-3 weeks. We considered option of going through travel agencies with Rs.300/- Darshan ticket as well, But the timings & hassle is not possible for my Mom as she cant stand for more than 20 min due to arthritis.
Requesting members which way to go & which type of darshan ticket to opt for.
Thank you.
Hello members,

Finally had the opportunity to have a darshan of the lord after so many years of trying. We had tried for srivari trust donation as well but due to some or the other reason we couldn't make it.

Last week all of a sudden through a known family friend we got the opportunity to have a darshan by means of VIP break darshan. All the formalities were done and we headed to Tirupati. Since this is the first time i'm visiting tirupati, i was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness maintained.

Coming to the darshan, We had left our car in police guest house where we were provided an accommodation and we took a cab till temple as my mom has trouble walking for long distances. We entered through queue complex 1 & there were at least another 500 people with VIP darshan pass. But we didn't have to wait anywhere and we had to walk around around 2km (probably). Very happy with the maintenance & system followed considering the footfall of the place. Soon after navigating through various parts of temple soon we found ourselves in the entrance of the main ananda nilayam. From there we have to navigate through the crowd and had a wonderful darshan.
After darshan, we had prasadam & went to collect the famous ladoo. Since we had VIP darshan tickets, we were given BIG ladoo. I was shocked to the size of that.

We were in and out in span of 1h 45min.

Coming to the stay part, accommodation was given in police guest house. Convenience is the only thing you have to keep in mind while staying here. The room was basic and enough to pass off for a night.
Also there are limited options for hotels on thirumala hill. In Tirupati We tried PS4 as many people recommended & it was a good place.
RahulRV is online now   (4) Thanks