Old 10th September 2006, 01:03   #1

Best pre-owned car for under 4 lakhs

We own a daewoo matiz and even though the company had stopped production long time ago ,the dealer from where we purchased the car used to service the car till recently.However of late he is not entertaining us and service and Spare parts are beginning to become an issue for us.

So we have decided to buy a second hand car for about 3.5 to a max of 4 lakhs.The requirements are that
1> It should have a boot [occasional airport luggage,sacks of rice,wheat etc]

2> Spares and maintainance should be no issue

/*My brother and I have this thing for MUVs.We have ruled out the tata and mahindra UVs due to maintainance issues.
*/

Please tell me the best available second hand vehicle under 4 lakhs with a boot.Or should i go ahead and listen to my heart and buy a base model qualis.

[ps: i have already posted a what car on this forum about muv choices but had to put off my tavera hunt.Due to certain unfortunate events my budget has come down and a base model qualis[FS] is all that i can afford in terms on an muv.Life does take unexpected turns and you have to compromise bigtime.]
Old 10th September 2006, 01:50   #2

Esteem should be cheap to run, maintain, and will easily tolerate the wheat and rice - If you prefer basmati, you may get a 2002-3 Baleno for 4 lakhs!
Old 10th September 2006, 02:16   #3

well...for something with a boot....hmmm....if looks dont matter..get the maruti versa...it solves ur rice n wheat problems....u should be able to find a second hand in the market....or else a brand new MARUTI VAN....
Old 10th September 2006, 03:54   #4

hey rahul,
you should look for a 2002 OHC 1.3 EXI for around 3.5 lacs or a 2002/3 Baleno just under 4 lacs.
Good Luck~

Last edited by gamerno1 : 10th September 2006 at 03:55.
Old 10th September 2006, 07:57   #5

Originally Posted by gamerno1
hey rahul,
you should look for a 2002 OHC 1.3 EXI for around 3.5 lacs or a 2002/3 Baleno just under 4 lacs.
Good Luck~
well..infact if bargained hard you can actually manage to get a 2003-2004 Baleno for under 4 lacs...sai service in Mumbai is the place to look out for.

~A
Old 10th September 2006, 08:31   #6

Originally Posted by filcord
Esteem should be cheap to run, maintain, and will easily tolerate the wheat and rice
Maruti has slashed priced of the Esteem, its 4 lakhs now. Saw an ad in TOI
Old 10th September 2006, 10:37   #7

What about the good ol hatch - The Palio!!?

Sorry, just read u need cars with a boot. So then u could look at the Esteem. BTW, how much does a Palio Adventure cost?

Last edited by karthik247 : 10th September 2006 at 10:39.
Old 10th September 2006, 11:41   #8

get a brand new Esteem man.. why get into hassles of second hand car? Or you can also look at the Indigo V Series..

And if still you want a pre-owned, then Baleno it is.

Last edited by DCEite : 10th September 2006 at 11:43.
Old 10th September 2006, 13:13   #9

A few people have talked to me also regarding OHC.I really like its looks infact even more than the NHC.

Can anyone tell me whether spares and maintainance of OHC is a problem.Also is it a really good car or is only honda badge which is working for the car atleast in terms of resale value.i would like to know about both the 1.3 and the 1.5 engine versions if possible.

[OHC- for the uninitiated[dont think that includes any team-bhp member] means Old honda city]
Old 10th September 2006, 13:22   #10

From the replies i have got on this forum as well as the message in my mailbox, one thing is for sure if team-bhp were to enter the print business I am sure autocarindia,overdrive,top gear india,bsmotoring would all run for cover.
Keep up the good work team-bhp.

Last edited by rahul_intlad : 10th September 2006 at 13:33.
Old 10th September 2006, 13:24   #11

Rahul,
a good 2001 OC 1.5 would cost you 3.5L and a 2002 1.3 around the same.
It is an excellent option too and parts will be there for another 5 years for sure.
Old 10th September 2006, 13:25   #12

My choices for your pre owned car requirement:

1. Petra or Siena or Adventure
2. Esteem
3. Indigo
4. Quallis

Ravi.
Old 10th September 2006, 13:30   #13

Originally Posted by rahul_intlad
Please tell me the best available second hand vehicle under 4 lakhs with a boot.

lemme see .. hmmm ... ummm .. 1.5 OHC Vtec.

if it's turning out expensive the drop the Vtec. fastest lakshya got 80k driven 1.5 OHC for 2L .. so the above suggestion should be in range in think.
Old 10th September 2006, 13:43   #14

knowing that you have a thing for the UVs, i would suggest the qualis. but please go through the following thread before you make a 2nd hand purchase.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...-mistakes.html

check for the genuiness of the mileage on the odo before committing on the deal. qualis is a fantastic vehicle to drive in the city, unlike the bolero, which is extremely good in rough roads, but the placement of the clutch, brake & accelerator pedals make it very hard to drive in the start/stop traffic in the city.

but if you want a car, then it has to be an esteem, a very versatile vehicle & economical or the baleno, which is the poor man's luxury car with VFM.

Last edited by esteem_lover : 10th September 2006 at 13:47.
Old 10th September 2006, 15:56   #15

An Indigo Marina would be a nice choice. I guess you dont like the Sumo and its brethren, but a Marina should be much better. And it has humungous space, it's the ideal vehicle for airport trips. They werent kidding when they said you can carry your world with you.