Old 2nd November 2007, 21:50   #1

Gift to my dad - please suggest a car within 8-12 lacs

Hello guys, just joined team-BHP today and it's great to read motoring stories from India. First, the purpose of this thread..I wanted to gift my father a car within 8-12 lacs in 2-3 months and I am pretty clueless as there are ample number of them.

In brief, the car should cater to the following requirements:

- Comfortable to drive as well as to be 'in' for my parents.
- Very important, Safety features (airbags, abs)
- Ingres and Engres should be relatively easy
- Effective AC
- Decent space & interiors
- Fuel Efficiency should be good, if not the best
- Preferably a sedan, but a SUV, MUV can also be look into.
- Resale wise, not very important, but shouldn't be the worse
- Not brand specific.

From my understanding, Civic, Corolla, Octavia, Honda City, Sx4, Safari etc. falls into this category. My personal like is Civic due to its modernity/space like design, but not sure if that will be suitable for elders, especially with the low seating and getting in and out. Please suggest a car that can suit the best. Cheers!
Old 2nd November 2007, 23:02   #2

I would suggest the Cedia or the Corolla. It fits all of your requirements.
The Civic is not easy to get in and out of and the Octavia is cramped in the rear.
The SX4 fits your requirements but in that budget, you can definitely look for something better and if it will be driven by them, I would avoid a car like the Safari or Innova.
Old 2nd November 2007, 23:08   #3
Awaiting Email Confirmation

I'd say OCtavia or Cedia for sure...
Old 2nd November 2007, 23:27   #4

All these requirements are satisfied by Honda City VTEC Plus too (Honda City: About City : Features ). Many feel it a bit expensive but if your parents find it comfortable, nothing like it.
Originally Posted by BillGates View Post
- Effective AC
- Not brand specific.
Old 2nd November 2007, 23:27   #5

Corolla for petrol. Octavia for the diesel option.
Old 3rd November 2007, 03:26   #6

I wanted to gift my father a car within 8-12 lacs in 2-3 months and I am pretty clueless as there are ample number of them.

From my understanding, Civic, Corolla, Octavia, Honda City, Sx4, Safari etc. falls into this category. My personal like is Civic due to its modernity/space like design, but not sure if that will be suitable for elders, especially with the low seating and getting in and out. Please suggest a car that can suit the best. Cheers!
You have great taste but I don't think the Civic falls in the 8-12 Lakh bracket anyways (Mine cost me 12.5 on road in Pune), so you'll have to look for something else. The Corolla could be VFM, Innova is a good chauffeur driven option. You're all of 25 and you're gifting your dad a car? Man, that is SO cool; your dad's gonna need new shirts, all his buttons are gonna pop coz his chest is swelled with pride. Way to go buddy, You ROCK!

Last edited by vikram18 : 3rd November 2007 at 03:29.
Old 3rd November 2007, 16:06   #7

- Effective AC
- Not brand specific.
For elders the best car is the Toyota Innova. It's easily the best car to get in and out of and the V variant is in your price range and offers all the safety features you are looking for. IMO, the decision is extremely simple. Just drive into your nearest Toyota dealership and get your parents the Innova. They will absolutely love it. Forget the Civic. It's a great car but will be too cumbersome for elders to get in and out off.
Old 3rd November 2007, 16:19   #8

Originally Posted by amit View Post
For elders the best car is the Toyota Innova. It's easily the best car to get in and out of and the V variant is in your price range and offers all the safety features you are looking for. IMO, the decision is extremely simple. Just drive into your nearest Toyota dealership and get your parents the Innova. They will absolutely love it. Forget the Civic. It's a great car but will be too cumbersome for elders to get in and out off.
I would have a slight disagreement on this. The innova is not an easy car to drive. Being driven in one is totally different, but it was also required that it be easy to drive. The size/girth of the vehicle is a disadvantage while maneuvering in city conditions, more so if an elder is driving.

I would suggest an SX4. Simply beacuse:-
1. Maruti- gets repaired everywhere. Efficient machine.
2. High seating- aids in getting in-out for the elderly.
3. High ground clearence- will give the person driving, especially the elderly a better view, enabaling him to maneuvere better. Also it will not dazzle him with oncoming highbeams.
Old 3rd November 2007, 16:35   #9

From my point of view I would suggest the SX4 or the cedia..
Old 3rd November 2007, 16:36   #10

I would suggest you to go with the Optra. Its a great value for money package. Its good to drive and has a very comfortable rear seat for your parents as well. It matches all your criteria but surprisingly I didnt see it in your wish list. And it fits in your price bracket too.

Happy car shopping

Last edited by Dippy : 3rd November 2007 at 16:37.
Old 3rd November 2007, 16:39   #11

Innova V
Optra Magnum

Civic, yes but 'heard' it has some suspension issue when loaded.
No to SX4 as you cant compare its comfort level to Optra or Innova
Old 3rd November 2007, 16:59   #12

+1 to innova... its a great car/muv...
Old 3rd November 2007, 17:03   #13

Optra Magnum LT Diesel in a sparkling Diamond color should cost you about 12.50 on road. Great Stock ICE ( Alpine), leather seats, wood finish, awesome engine and above all good average ( city 13 and highway 19) so low operating cost.
Old 3rd November 2007, 17:03   #14

go gift them a skoda man...a fantastic car for that budget.
Old 3rd November 2007, 17:18   #15

I would Suggest a corolla h2

Good Space , Quite Effective Ac , good safety features , decent fuel economy . relatively less maintenance and good after sales