Old 2nd February 2009, 10:01   #31

Originally Posted by maverick030581 View Post
@proxima

Tyres and battery need to be changed at around that mark,nothing wrong with that.Price for the indicated model depends on how well its been maintained,if only at HASS then 4.5 lacs wold be a good bet.
Check if the timing belt,A/c belt,alternator belt,power steering belt,clutch assembly have been changed as they need to be changed at around the 60k kms mark.Total cost for all of these would be around 25k I think.And get the suspension checked by a HASS,you could pay them a small amount and they will check the whole car for you.Suspension would cost around 40k I guess.
All the best.
Na!! wrong buddy.
Clutch overhaul for elantra crdi is around 15k and belts wont cost over 3-4k max to max.

Suspension 40k?
again wrong... shockers costs around 4k per shock absorber for elantra.
i.e 16k
I dont think suspension arm etc will be a problem and also shockers mounting will cost hardly around 300-400 Rs per mounting.

anyways these are the price for Delhi, hmp
Correct me if i'm wrong elantra owners
Old 2nd February 2009, 10:07   #32

@gangsta

The reason I mentioned those prices is coz I have just bought an Elantra CRDi myself and have checked those prices with the HASS.3-4k for the A/C,power steering,alternator belts and 10k for the timing belt here in Mumbai.
Again for the suspension I was referring to the entire setup change front and back,not just the shocks.That would be required around 80k kms mark IMO.
Old 2nd February 2009, 16:40   #33

Originally Posted by maverick030581 View Post
@gangsta

The reason I mentioned those prices is coz I have just bought an Elantra CRDi myself and have checked those prices with the HASS.3-4k for the A/C,power steering,alternator belts and 10k for the timing belt here in Mumbai.
Again for the suspension I was referring to the entire setup change front and back,not just the shocks.That would be required around 80k kms mark IMO.
aha suspension arms need to be changed it's too costly in mumbai man ... belts. 10k for timing belt?

price do vary here in delhi, samara hyundai delhi quoted 18k for clutch overhaul for one of my friend and HMP.. around 15k.. really strange to see this much difference.

Last edited by Gangsta : 2nd February 2009 at 16:43.
Old 2nd February 2009, 16:45   #34

Yup 10k for the timing belt.Getting it changed on my Elantra CRDi as per the service advisor's recommendation.Mumbai is costly in every aspect mate
I'm sure prices vary across service stations too even in one city.This figure was given to me by the advisor at the only Hyundai owned service station in Mumbai(its the only one AFAIK anyway).

Last edited by maverick030581 : 2nd February 2009 at 16:47.
Old 13th July 2009, 18:13   #35

After about 6 month of settling down in my new job, I finally decided to buy my dream vehicle.

Need advice with respect to the vehicle mileage and price.

Model - Elantra Crdi with Stanley leather upholstry
Vehicle make - Dec 2004
Reg - Jan 2005 - single owner
Color - White
Mileage - 90000
Insurance - Comprehensive - valid till end of 2009
Tyres - Changed 10k km back
Clutch overhaul,link rods, all belts, break disc front and all four brake pads changed 10k km back. (checked service history with service centre)
Suspension - No work done till date.
ICE - Stock

Vehicle looks in good condition with no accidents and dents.

Price quoted - Rs 4.2 lacs
Can bargain upto Rs 3.9 lacs (max)

Will this be a good buy and should I be concerned about the mileage of the car, esp the suspension.

I liked the car and plan to make the full payment tomorrow. Kindly let me know if I should look at any other elantras for sale in Hyd before I finalise this.

Old 14th July 2009, 07:41   #36

... should I be concerned about the mileage of the car
- at 90K kms? I would think so. Why would you want to buy a car that has already run so many kilometers?
Old 14th July 2009, 08:17   #37

Originally Posted by madan80 View Post
- at 90K kms? I would think so. Why would you want to buy a car that has already run so many kilometers?
+1 . Try searching for one within 50000 kms ...Also , surprised to see that the studs , lower arm are not changed at the 80000 kms mark. Suspension work will cost you a lot .
I got mine for Rs.4.80 lacs which has run 41600 kms just ten days back.

Last edited by undead : 14th July 2009 at 08:18.
Old 14th July 2009, 09:11   #38

The sweet time of the vehicle is over,though there are Elantras which had run 100K-150K kms, u may land up for huge expenses later.
you can work-out for a great deal,better stay away from it.
Look for a low run vehicle,only patience pays.
Old 14th July 2009, 12:21   #39

Originally Posted by Ramsagar View Post
The sweet time of the vehicle is over,though there are Elantras which had run 100K-150K kms, u may land up for huge expenses later.
you can work-out for a great deal,better stay away from it.
Look for a low run vehicle,only patience pays.
I am able to strike a deal for Rs 3.75 lacs (no further neg possible).

I have driven the car and it does not feel strained at all with four people on board and ac on and suspension seemed to be ok. I forgot to mention about the lower arms..they were changed as well.

I would be finalising the deal today. Anything in particular to look for..
Old 14th July 2009, 17:21   #40

i have seen a few elantras in chennai for about 4.5. I would suggest you look at something with less mileage on the clock!
Old 14th July 2009, 17:35   #41

(Ab)used CRDis give only headaches past 80,000 kms.
Try finding a mint car.
Old 15th July 2009, 09:07   #42

Originally Posted by boombox View Post
I am able to strike a deal for Rs 3.75 lacs (no further neg possible).

I have driven the car and it does not feel strained at all with four people on board and ac on and suspension seemed to be ok. I forgot to mention about the lower arms..they were changed as well.

I would be finalising the deal today. Anything in particular to look for..
Pls don't be in a hurry,As a final thing,get a service person from Hyundai,pay him few bucks & tell him to rip the vehicle and get a final quote from him.
He will be the right person to suggest you technically what's under the hood.

last but not least,Note down the no of the vehicle and get it checked in any Hyundai showroom for the history,they will tell you the exact info weather the vehicle had met with any major accidents or repairs etc(This will workout if you know anyone in hyundai)

Even I was more exicited than you for a BLACK Elantra 2004,stanley seats,only 50k on the odo and knew it was a lemon.
The above ones had set me back from the deal.Thank GOD was @ my side.
All the best.

Last edited by Ramsagar : 15th July 2009 at 09:24.
Old 19th July 2009, 22:33   #43

bought my dream machine..

Thanks for all your valuable advice, i finally bought my new ride and am all excited about it.

Its a 2005 model White Elantra Crdi. A few pics of the car.

Elantra Crdi @ 4.8 lacs..correct valuation..-p1010239.jpg

Elantra Crdi @ 4.8 lacs..correct valuation..-p1010241.jpg

Elantra Crdi @ 4.8 lacs..correct valuation..-p1010242-custom.jpg

Will post a review in the near future..
Old 20th July 2009, 12:15   #44

Congrats!!Need more pics of interiors,try if you can source a spoiler to it.
Old 1st August 2009, 22:09   #45

How much would be the correct valuation for the following Elantra CRDI?

Car: Elantra CRDI
Variant: CRDI DeContent
Year:Mid 2006
Mileage: 53,000
City: Hyderabad

Important Note: The DeContent variant is a stripped down Elantra CRDI version which lacks Airbags, Alloys, Automatic Climate Control, CD Changer, Leather Seats...Brand new Elantra CRDI DeContent used to cost around 8.5 Lacs ex-showroom.

Known Problems: Heavy Clutch, Boot release not working
Exterior: 8/10
Interior: 8/10

Last edited by Digital Vampire : 1st August 2009 at 22:18.