Old 26th January 2009, 19:42   #1

Elantra Crdi @ 4.8 lacs..correct valuation..

I have decided to bid farewell to my Indigo which I have used for about an year..reason..need a car that performs well and is safe on the highways

After going through a lot of possibilites (and a lot of reading on Team-BHP) I have decided to go for a used Elantra Crdi..primarily because 1. it is the safest car I can get within my budget (4 to 5 lacs) and 2. performs well

I have seen a couple of Elantras in the market and kind of liked two of them

1. Make - Dec 2004
Registered in - Feb 2005, hyd
Mileage - 62000 km
price quoted - Rs 4.8 lacs
ICE - Stock
Vehicle shown by owner's brother(as claimed)

Car is well maintained, accident free and very little scratches. looks neat inside and outside with 5 brand new tyres

2.Make - June 2005
Registered in - May 2006, Anantapur (waited for fancy no.)
Mileage - 58000 km
price quoted - Rs 4.8 lacs
ICE - JVC DVD player
vehicle with dealer

Car is well maintained, accident free but has a few deep scratches (not dents). Looks neat, but not as good as the first one (I prefer the first one).

Have taken the details of the vehicle, will check for the service history.

What would be the right price to pay for the respective cars (I am sure each will come down by atleast 30k) and is there anything to look for in particular..

Please guide me if there are any better deals in hyderabad.

thanks in advance..
Old 27th January 2009, 09:30   #2

Quoted price seems to be OK if they are maintaned well.Why don't you check out DC Sunday classfieds for direct owner deals??
Old 27th January 2009, 13:35   #3

Hey Boombox,

I think the price is pretty close to actual.Start at 4.5 and work your way up. Budget for 23k for a petes box + a filter to fully enjoy the car
Old 27th January 2009, 14:33   #4

Please be wary of the Hyundai CRDis. There are enough instances right here in the forum to worry about. Get a petrol elantra instead.
Old 27th January 2009, 15:23   #5

Esteem Lover, That is a big load of bovine excreta. The only CRDi that Hyundai had issues with is the 3 pot 1.5 liter accent mill on the Accent. I have not heard of a single failure in the 2.0 4pot all the 5 cars that the engine comes in.
Old 27th January 2009, 15:33   #6

how many kms can these CRDis last if driven in normal ways??
I've heard that they start having issues after covering 50K odd. Is it true?
Old 27th January 2009, 17:19   #7

Guys, We have elantras here that are crossing a lakh of kms and not exactly sedate driving , running almost like new.

The same engine is doing duty in the sonata ebrera, the tuscon, the optra magnum and the captiva, in much higher tune than the elantra. Have you heard of engine failure in any of these cars?

Let me repeat - the 3 cylinder engine in the accent crdi was hyundai's first attempt and needs meticulous attention . It has had big issues at 80k kms in some cars - not all. Why do you think they no longer sell that engine?
Old 27th January 2009, 17:27   #8

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Please be wary of the Hyundai CRDis. There are enough instances right here in the forum to worry about. Get a petrol elantra instead.
There are no issues reported for the Elantras Boy!

Originally Posted by prabhuav View Post
Let me repeat - the 3 cylinder engine in the accent crdi was hyundai's first attempt and needs meticulous attention . It has had big issues at 80k kms in some cars - not all. Why do you think they no longer sell that engine?
They no longer sell that engine because they have a next generation 1.5 litre CRDi engine!

But why not someone compile what EXACT problems occur at 80K kms.
Old 27th January 2009, 17:31   #9

Esteem Lover, That is a big load of bovine excreta.
+ 1 to that.

If you go back a while, you will remember similar rumours that the Hyundai DLS engine also had issues & was underpowered - but only when it was in the Hyundai. Of course the same engine would never have issues in the Esteem or Zen.

Last edited by Steeroid : 27th January 2009 at 17:32.
Old 27th January 2009, 17:34   #10

I believe there are a lot of engine rebuilds that have happened around 80k. In most cases top ends blew. My take on the culprits -
High amount of vibrations in a 3 pot,
first gen crd tech ,
Hyundai not having their act together in the servicing of the engine
Owners and drivers seeing such a free revving diesel for the first time in their lives and thrashing the living daylights out of it
Old 27th January 2009, 17:35   #11

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Of course the same engine would never have issues in the Esteem or Zen.
No, that engine was great only in the Peugeot 1.5 DLS with the approproiate gearing. It was BAD in all other forms and vehicles it entered..sadly!
Old 27th January 2009, 18:08   #12

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
+ 1 to that.

If you go back a while, you will remember similar rumours that the Hyundai DLS engine also had issues & was underpowered - but only when it was in the Hyundai.
You left out the TATA & the Fiat.
Old 27th January 2009, 21:35   #13

Originally Posted by manne View Post
Quoted price seems to be OK if they are maintaned well.Why don't you check out DC Sunday classfieds for direct owner deals??
Manne, both the cars were listed in DC classifieds.

prabhuv, thanks for the response, I think I can bargain hard with both the fellows. Will try to bring it down by 50k atleast..

'Budget for 23k for a petes box + a filter to fully enjoy the car '...thats the whole idea
Old 27th January 2009, 22:26   #14

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post

I believe there are a lot of engine rebuilds that have happened around 80k. In most cases top ends blew. My take on the culprits -
1.High amount of vibrations in a 3 pot,
2.first gen crd tech ,
3.Hyundai not having their act together in the servicing of the engine
4.Owners and drivers seeing such a free revving diesel for the first time in their lives and thrashing the living daylights out of it
5. Gearbox issues due to massive torquey engines especially the Vernas.

BTW I know a couple of gentlemen who have done more than 250k kms in their Elantras and still munching more miles on it.

Last edited by kpzen : 27th January 2009 at 22:31.
Old 27th January 2009, 22:44   #15

Mine bro's done more then 200k and still strong !!!!!