Old 20th April 2010, 10:37   #61

@cesc : yes if the dealer agrees for that price, I will take it to the excel motors (another mitsu workshop/dealer) and get it assessed. If they its ok and fine Ill go ahead and pay the dealer otherwise will return the car back to him and let him deduct some amount from the up front payment.
Old 30th April 2010, 11:15   #62

Buddy,
What is the latest on this front?
Old 30th April 2010, 11:23   #63

You could get 2 balenos for 4 Lakhs. One silver and one black.
Old 21st August 2010, 22:04   #64

Guys sorry for sleeping on this thread for this long. Cedia deal didnot come through and I refferred to another bhpian but dont know if it did finally come to the bhp family. I picked up a Silver baleno VXI 06 with 41K on the odo. Have started a new thread on the same. Thank you all for your support and words of wisdom. The price paid for the Baleno was 2,62,500 INR and it has been maintained in the way expected of a bhpian and a car lover.
Old 22nd August 2010, 00:22   #65

wanderernomad,

Congratulations, but aise nahi chalega! Gadi dhikao or party karao!!

Give me the link to your Baleno thread and if you are in town next weekend start thinking in terms of the Gurgaon meet on 4th Sept.
Old 19th March 2012, 15:44   #66

Re: Used Sedan: Budget 4 lakhs

This is going to be my first post in Team BHP.
I need some inputs regarding buying a pre-owned Honda City, in Chennai.
Somewhere between the range of 3~4 Lacs INR. Preferably the City ZX model
On googling I came up with a number of agreeable offers within my budget.
Currently, I am not sure regarding all the paper work that would be involved in the entire process of transferring the ownership from the previous owner to me, especially if there are state related taxes or similar things that need to be taken care of in Tamil Nadu. It would be great to get some guidance on that.

Another question that has been on my mind is, would Honda be supporting us with parts of an older generation vehicle? What is the general maintenance cost of a pre-owned Honda city from the range of 2005 ~ 2007(Would be of great help if a break up is available along with service intervals).

Also, what sort of other expenses might one expect on buying a pre-owned Honda City(a model from 2005~2007). Like if there are steriotypical issues for the Honda City (a model from 2005~2007), say like flimsy power window switches in older generation swift.

Pinaki
Old 30th March 2012, 15:34   #67

Hi guys

Had started a new thread earlier but got deleted.

After having a Palio 1.6 GTX for 2 yrs and driving it for 40k kms. I am looking for a used sedan in the budget of 2L - 3L. Daily running would be around 25kms. Occasional trips from mumbai to pune. Monthly average running should be 1500 kms. I was thinking of buying something upto 2L and spending the rest on ICE and wheels and fuel etc. rather than buying something for 3L and having no money for the rest. All sedans are being considered.

Few cars I am going to look over the weekend are:
late 2006 Baleno vxi 35k kms done single owner asking price is 2.20L
mid 2005 Accent gle 25k kms done single owner asking price is 2.20L

Both cars are slightly negotiable. I am confused between both as few people told me accent wont give me the fun like the GTX did. But I dont like the looks of the baleno so much, it may grow onto me. Interiors look dull, exteriors is bland. Where as the accent looks fresh. But then you dont get all the goodies (read alloys, climate control, arm rest front n rear) etc in the accent. Also I have heard baleno parts are difficult to get unlike accent which is still sold in the showroom. So its confusing me even more. Pls owners help me with pros and cons and suggest something new in the budget. I am going to settle on something in a weeks time max.
Old 30th March 2012, 16:41   #68

Mods pls delete the above post. Found a better thread to post my querry. Thanks
Old 8th March 2017, 17:04   #69

Sold Swift ZDi - which Used Petrol Sedan to buy?

So, I'm about to sell my Swift ZDi and am looking for a lateral upgrade. A few requirements below:
  1. budget (most imp) is between 4L to 5L. With the preference for it to be around the 4L mark so I can keep some cash aside for adhoc servicing/spares.
  2. a sedan, so with a good boot space and spacious rear seats since we use a Child Seat. This was one of the reasons to sell the Swift.
  3. Safety is more important than looks.
  4. Petrol engine. My daily commute will be around 6 kms and I may end up using the car only for weekends and the occaisional outstation trips.
  5. average maintenance cost. Not very expensive to maintain considering I'm going to be buying something that's already run a good few thousand kms
  6. my shortlist so far has 2011 or 2012 Honda City or similar aged VW Vento. Not very keen on the Dzire since I've already used the Swift.
  7. Not sure if I should also consider a Toyota Corolla 1.8 if I get a good deal. Given the reliability of Toyota.
  8. I would have also loved to consider the Ciaz but guessing that there are not too many in the Used Car market as yet.

Would really appreciate some suggestions.

Last edited by Jaggu : 8th March 2017 at 17:18. Reason: Moving to an existing thread. Thanks
Old 8th March 2017, 17:21   #70

You are right on track a used Honda city is the easiest and best fit. Corolla if you find a low mileage once, then it makes good sense. Just scan online and do some dealer visits, you never know.

Vento is a good car but would be heavy on maintenance and lower resale.

Verna petrol is also another option, if you come across a good piece. Good thing is you are looking for petrol cars and there might be some gems hiding there.

I would always look for low mileage and single owner cars, its even worth paying a slight premium for these.

Last edited by Jaggu : 8th March 2017 at 17:22.
Jaggu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th March 2017, 18:30   #71

Re: Sold Swift ZDi - which Used Petrol Sedan to buy?

Originally Posted by Raviganatra1981 View Post
So, I'm about to sell my Swift ZDi and am looking for a lateral upgrade. A few requirements below:

Honda City is the best bet. Reliable, good to drive, maintenance will not be a big concern. Would not recommend the Vento, great car- but the 2011/12 Vento's will be from the initial years of the car and these were poorly equipped. Maintenance is going to be high.

Corolla is a good option, but the examples for 4L will be on the older side and also well run.

You can also look at the Honda Civic. Lovely car and should get good examples in your budget. Maintenance may be on the higher side though since it is higher segment car.

Another safe option is the SX4. Again a competent car, solidly built and should get it cheap.

Offbeat options are the Fiat Linea and Ford Fiesta. Great cars, but expect low resale.
Rajeevraj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th March 2017, 18:43   #72

Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post

You can also look at the Honda Civic. Lovely car and should get good examples in your budget. Maintenance may be on the higher side though since it is higher segment car. .
I've seen a lot of MH-02 or MH-43 Civic's for resale in Pune. How safe is it to buy one of these? I've heard that the Humid salt water air corrodes metal/body?
Old 9th March 2017, 10:13   #73

I've seen a lot of MH-02 or MH-43 Civic's for resale in Pune. How safe is it to buy one of these? I've heard that the Humid salt water air corrodes metal/body?
That's true but like any other car, you will need to check the body (& the under-body) thoroughly before plunging in. Places like Mumbai/ Kolkata/ Chennai are muggy almost around the year due to their proximity to the sea and that may take a toll on a car's metal but nothing that a thorough check cannot detect.

Civic is a nice car; the only drawback that I find is the lower ground clearance. If you agree to live with it, then owning and driving the car; especially on the highways is a delight. It crunches miles like anything and is rock stable at high speeds and has excellent braking ability. Expect 10-11 KMPL (for MT) in the city and 14 on the highways for per liter of petrol. You can tackle the lower ground clearance problem with after market solutions like coil adjusters which we have discussed in other threads.

Do post if you need more information,

Saket.

Last edited by saket77 : 9th March 2017 at 10:15.
saket77 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th March 2017, 10:43   #74

1. budget (most imp) is between 4L to 5L. With the preference for it to be around the 4L mark so I can keep some cash aside for adhoc servicing/spares.
  2. a sedan, so with a good boot space and spacious rear seats since we use a Child Seat. This was one of the reasons to sell the Swift.
  3. Safety is more important than looks.
  4. Petrol engine. My daily commute will be around 6 kms and I may end up using the car only for weekends and the occaisional outstation trips.
  5. average maintenance cost. Not very expensive to maintain considering I'm going to be buying something that's already run a good few thousand kms
  6. my shortlist so far has 2011 or 2012 Honda City or similar aged VW Vento. Not very keen on the Dzire since I've already used the Swift.
  7. Not sure if I should also consider a Toyota Corolla 1.8 if I get a good deal. Given the reliability of Toyota.
  8. I would have also loved to consider the Ciaz but guessing that there are not too many in the Used Car market as yet.

Honda City is a wise buy. You can also consider the Toyota Corolla 1.8. Both are reliable and capable and you will not go wrong with either of these cars and have nice petrol engines!
Old 9th March 2017, 13:15   #75

Both City and Corolla are good purchases. You would get abundant City models to choose from. You can also get a used SX4 for significantly cheaper, and it would be easy to maintain too. A Verna petrol would slot somewhere between SX4 and City.

Civic is a great choice and if you get 2010+ model, then that is a great choice. The servicing, would be a little costlier, as its from a higher segment.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com