Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 11th April 2020, 20:35   #1786
BHPian

Re: The Coronavirus Thread

Being a Doctor myself ( I am still a junior doctor by the way ) I am totally confused with these rising instances of private hospitals being forced to shut down across the metros in our country, especially Mumbai. I am trying to dig the internet hard to understand and extract information on how the worst hit first world countries across the globe are dealing with this crisis, but to no avail. Request members in the forum to help me out by pointing out to such articles or news reports.

Is shutting down a hospital really an appropriate way amidst this crisis or this is yet another knee--jerk reaction by the local administration ??

I mean come on, keep Covid aside, what if a routine Stroke or MI patient doesn't get the necessary medical treatment on time ?? These salvageable patients will die like cockroaches or end up being paralytic and bed ridden for the rest of their life just because the nearest tertiary care hospital in the neighbourhood is shut down

An ischemic Stroke patient for example has high chances of good recovery as long as thrombolytic therapy or a mechanical thrombectomy is initiated early. Time is neurons in such a situation. A person loses 2 million neurons per minute. Now, lets assume such a patient contracts Covid-19 within the hospital. But the timely institution of an appropriate medical or surgical treatment could also well prevent the mortality and morbidity. So, why not weigh the risk-benefit ratio and parallely treat such patients ?? Ofcourse, there is risk of getting backfired by the general public and facing legal issues. General public is anyhow not co-operative towards Doctors and hospitals these days.