Pearls of wisdom from Facebook:

A YetiGuide® : How To Post In Proper English-img_20200817_200815.jpg
comfortablynumb is online now   (12) Thanks
Old 7th October 2020, 19:16   #3167

Re: A YetiGuide® : How To Post In Proper English

Do you put a comma before using "and" in a sentence. For instance:

This was later reclassified into 3 types as nodular, disseminated and sclerosing type based on clinical and pathological variants of tuberculosis
vs

This was later reclassified into 3 types as nodular, disseminated, and sclerosing type based on clinical and pathological variants of tuberculosis
I never knew that we are supposed to put a comma when using and after multiple items separated by commas. Grammarly suggested putting a comma. Hence wanted to confirm the same here.

Last edited by drmohitg : 7th October 2020 at 19:18.
Old 7th October 2020, 19:21   #3168

Do you here.
Ah, the Oxford comma. I always use it, but apparently it's optional.
mayankk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th October 2020, 19:33   #3169

Hence wanted to confirm the same here.
I am no expert, but it probably depends on the sentence. In the example you have quoted, I think it could have been omitted. But like in the example given in the article below (search for Oxford comma), skipping the comma would totally change the meaning of the sentence.

https://www.businessinsider.in/caree...t/76343511.cms
comfortablynumb is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 7th October 2020, 21:22   #3170

Ducks, it seems, are large, dangerous, and truly excellent at teaching punctuation
Thad E Ginathom is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 7th October 2020, 21:59   #3171

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Ducks, it seems, are large, dangerous, and truly excellent at teaching punctuation

Only you could have come up with that.
drmohitg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2020, 00:17   #3172

I am not certain that I agree with absolutely all of the article, but it's pretty-much-all well thought out an nicely illustrated with simple examples.
Old 6th December 2020, 20:30   #3173
S15

I just want to know the forum's opinion on using "big ones" as a substitute for a "lakh". Its becoming quite prevalent, and dare I say common-place now.

For example:

The Kia Sonet top end costs 15 "big ones" on-road.
I cant justify spending 17 "big ones" on a diesel car in Delhi NCR.
I, personally, am not a fan, really, to be honest. Just find it a tad superfluous and exaggerative.
S15 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th December 2020, 22:14   #3174

Originally Posted by S15 View Post
I just want to know the forum's opinion on using "big ones" as a substitute for a "lakh". Its becoming quite prevalent, and dare I say common-place now.

For example:

I, personally, am not a fan, really, to be honest. Just find it a tad superfluous and exaggerative.
The mafia in India refer to it, or at least they used to, as a "peti". Maybe we can say, "Arre oh Sambha kitne peti laye ho"
V.Narayan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th December 2020, 23:18   #3175

Do the same people call their Rupees "bucks?" Sounds to me like pseudo-American. Which might be a bit snobbish on my part, but, if so, I'm not sorry for that.

GB has various nouns for sums of money. One rather obscure one, for instance, is a pony, which, if I remember correctly, is GBP500. Maybe America has it's own unique names too. India already has a unique way of counting lakhs and crores --- so the real words are better than any slang, and don't allow room for confusion.

And, in case I'm not being clear so far, I vote: Against!
Thad E Ginathom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th December 2020, 08:49   #3176

"Big ones" is very subjective - it could be thousands to one person, and crores to another. (Just for argument's sake - because context will obviously imply that it's lakhs)

For my son, even 100 rupees is a big one.
samaspire is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th December 2020, 10:35   #3177

I just want to know the forum's opinion on using "big ones" as a substitute for a "lakh".
In the US it is $1000. In UK, £1000. With PPP in mind, using "Big one" for ₹1,00,000 seems totally OK to me.

Do the same people call their Rupees "bucks?" Sounds to me like pseudo-American.
A lot of American currency slang I guess is from their colonial era. Buck for currency is from usage of buckskin as currency in those days.

After "buck" got attached to currency, and from the practice of using a dollar coin to identify the dealer in Poker, came the expression "passing the buck".

GB has various nouns for sums of money.
Do you know the etymology of "quid" for pound?
binand is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th December 2020, 11:03   #3178

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
The mafia in India refer to it, or at least they used to, as a "peti". Maybe we can say, "Arre oh Sambha kitne peti laye ho"
Crore is khoka.

10 crore is 1 kapat.

Post IPL khoka is kaan and peti is haath.

100 khoka is 1 Arab.

100 Arab is 1 Kharab.

100 Kharab is 1 Neel.

And yeah, I fully endorse such India specific usage.

Cheers, Doc
ebonho is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 10th December 2020, 11:17   #3179

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
Hahaha, you nailed it with this all time favourite dialogue from Sholay
Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
Crore is khoka.

10 crore is 1 kapat.

Post IPL khoka is kaan and peti is haath.

100 khoka is 1 Arab.

100 Arab is 1 Kharab.

100 Kharab is 1 Neel.

And yeah, I fully endorse such India specific usage.

Cheers, Doc
Bidoo this is Typical underworld language.

Please do elaborate on the IPL funda.

I'm going nuts with the above 2 posts
Vinod_nair is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th December 2020, 11:24   #3180

Originally Posted by Vinod_nair View Post
Hahaha, you nailed it with this all time favourite dialogue from Sholay

Bidoo this is Typical underworld language.

Please do elaborate on the IPL funda.

I'm going nuts with the above 2 posts
Yeah, it was modified for the bookies to evade Bombay police phone taps. With just initial success coz now it's freely available on the internet.

Pre demonetizaion, halwai lingo was used to denote 1000 and 500 rupee notes ... being called kesar and elaichi respectively.

Cheers, Doc
ebonho is online now   (3) Thanks