Old 9th July 2012, 14:58   #31

Re: How would you deal with VIPs and their Bodyguards on the road?

There was nothing you could have done. In a country where most of the common men lack driving sense, its utter nonsense to expect these political goons who employ the most illiterate drivers to drive even with a little sense and spare a thought for others using the streets.

I too advise all to stay away if you see a beaconed car approaching in your RVM and give all the way possible to let them just pass and not indulge in anything. It would be the same risk as driving a car with bald tires and speed cornering on a wet slippery road. The risk is not worth your life.

These goons spare no thought for others even though you are the one who is paying your hard earned money so that they can enjoy all the cars in the world without considering safety and spend exotic vacations on your budget. It is you who pay for the fuel that goes into their vehicle even when they put your life in danger.

Escalating the issue to media, in my opinion is going to do no good. 30 mins of add ridden documentary with all the mirch masala add-ons would do no harm to the image of the person and in-turn they might get back to you through the media just by splashing some notes.
Old 9th July 2012, 15:00   #32

These are just the worthless scum of the society. Not even worth fighting with. Even though I appreciate your presence of mind in not divulging any information and teaching him a lesson; you were lucky he didn't do much trouble for you. The best action would be to give them way and let them go.

It's not really worth endangering our or our family's life for these things. These idiots are not worth it. It's the reality; it won't make much of a difference to them if they make a mess of our lives, for them it's routine. Sad part is that by electing such people (knowingly, because these people don't let sincere and hardworking people have any power or they don't let such sincere people last between them ) we are already allowing them to mess with our lives [This is a totally different topic for debate, lets not get into this debate.]
W.A.G.7 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th July 2012, 16:26   #33

In my 2 years in the States, I've never once experienced a VIP or politician muscling his way through traffic,

Must also add : Except for when the Heads of State are visiting, I doubt the general American public is ever inconvenienced by blocked roads.
On my visit to Jerusalem, saw a convoy of two heavily tinted cars and half a dozen bikes (with flashing lights) on a city road. Asked my taxi driver and came to know it is the "Head of the State". No traffic blockages, no nonsense. And, one would have thought that he should be more worried about his security than our politicos

IMHO, the convoy and associated rudeness is more for "exhibition of power" than security. The more vehicles and guns one has, the better his ego feels! In our country, anyone with a high enough public-office thinks of himself as a ruler and not a public servant. This mindset is reflected on the road as well: "The King's chariot is coming, subjects get off the road"

Originally Posted by gaurav_diavolo View Post
Fight with the PIG, it will drag you in his dirty mud, you might be the better fighter but the PIG will keep enjoying getting dirty!
Going OT, but, your grandpa's thoughts are very similar to Charlie Munger: "Never wrestle with a pig, for if you do, you will both get dirty, but the pig will enjoy it."
Su-47 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th July 2012, 16:40   #34

I had one such bad incident -

I was driving my Scorpio from Byculla to Powai on the Eastern Express Highway. I was on the right lane and was driving at about 80 kmph. Then this Land Cruiser overtakes me from the left and since there was a truck in the middle lane, I slow down and let him come to my lane and pass. As soon as he comes to my lane, I accelerate and I trailed him for a couple of seconds. By that time, I noticed that he has a VIP number and a party's symbol on the number plate. As soon as I saw this, I looked in my RVM and was not surprised to see two white gypsys trailing me.

They were flashing and honking but I had no space to squeeze my Scorpio into the middle lane, so I accelerated further. Then came a totally empty stretch and the LC zoomed off. I went to the middle lane to give way to the two Gypsys. But because of the speed, they could not overtake me. Hence, I came back to the right lane and accelerated further. By this time, the Gypsys could not keep up and were far behind.

After some time, I reached a signal and noticed this LC waiting there. Purposely I dint halt my car behind the LC and stuck to the lane besides the LC. The Gypsy came and halted right next to me and the conversation was as follows :

Gypsy guy : Kya re? side kyu nahin diya? (What? Why dint you give me way?)
Me : Diya tha... overtake kyun nahin kiya tab? (I did give you way, you dint overtake me)
GG : Toh itna fast kyun chala raha tha? Hamara saab hain uss gaadi main... (Then why were you driving so fast? Our boss is in that car...)
Me : Toh saab ko bolo dheere chalane (then ask your boss to drive slowly)

He have me a rude stern and dint reply. But I reacted this way because I was driving a white Scorpio. The reputation of Scorpio MAY have helped in this case. If I was driving my Punto, I would not have argued with them...

Last edited by raj_5004 : 9th July 2012 at 16:41.
raj_5004 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th July 2012, 16:49   #35

Originally Posted by Screwdriva View Post
Again guys, this car was unmarked. Just a 50 lakh German car. No red light. No siren. No fancy license plates and no visible escort anywhere.
I think you had a lucky star shining upon you that they didnt follow you or create any more trouble. Perhaps the person in the car was only related to someone important or the person was just getting impatient.
With your kind of response they could have seen your assertiveness or even assumed that if you are so confident you must be well connected too. On the rare occasion that I have been in such situations, my co passengers have said they were surprised with the way I reacted. whereas I was as jittery as they were, but it didnt show. Image/ perception is everything
For some reason, I always thought that arguing in Bombay/ Delhi was more intimidating as you never know who you are arguing with. In Bombay it was the unknown underworld/ cops while in Delhi it was the risk of the politically connected class.

Originally Posted by born_free View Post
We along with a group of 10 were being driven on a Tata Winger vehicle on road from Srinagar to Pahalgam.
We encountered an army convoy consisting of Gypsys and other SUV's. There must be at least six army vehicles moving back to back on a two lane highway.
As soon as our driver tries to overtake the army vehicles, an army jawan on gypsy pointed fingers signalling not to overtake and we have continue tailing them slowly until we found a stop to take a break.
Did not see the army convoy for rest of journey.
From what I have seen on many of the TLs here, this is generally accepted practice for an army convoy. Probably for safety reasons. In my case, I would be fuming if a politico or red beacon convoy said something to me, but would be perfectly fine if an army convoy passed a message like that. Only my opinion, hopefully doesnt trigger a debate!

Last edited by selfdrive : 9th July 2012 at 16:56.
Old 9th July 2012, 16:58   #36

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
I had one such bad incident -

He have me a rude stern and dint reply. But I reacted this way because I was driving a white Scorpio. The reputation of Scorpio MAY have helped in this case. If I was driving my Punto, I would not have argued with them...
LOL! Yeah I know, that's the key on roads in India. And this is one of the reasons that many people prefer SUVs these days.This is same for the Northern parts of our country.

Irish
Irish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th July 2012, 17:31   #37

Wish you could have a DVR installed in your car. Recording of Lane cutting of German car - getting uploaded on youtube and traffic police facebook page can be good way provided number plate is visible with time and date stamp.

Just because they are VIP, they are not (supposed to be) above law.

Couple of month back, Raj Thakreys car (with Him around) was fined Rs 100/- for parking in no parking zone. Why? Somebody uploaded pics in traffic police FB, no doubt media added to it.

Sometime i really feel like putting these words on my car especially for such morons/cops/traffic police/ govt servents.

"You get paid because i pay taxes (through nose)"

"You are here to serve and not rule"

Last edited by idea : 9th July 2012 at 17:38.
Old 9th July 2012, 18:17   #38

Reminds me of Normally Crazy's unfortunate incident with some rogue VIPs on the Expressway : Thread Link
The moment he said road rage, VIP and body guard, NC's incident flashed in my mind. I was about to put up a link to that thread while reading through this thread.

Screwdriva, it isn't worth it. I had made up a resolution in 2012 to avoid getting back at stupid people on the road and have stuck to my resolution except once. These so called VIP's are seriously loaded with people to go around and beat up innocent civilians. I have often quoted this person's example of how state heads should be:

Link 1

Link 2

Link 3

That's how we'd like our so called VIP's to be!
moralfibre is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th July 2012, 19:24   #39

^^^Another politico on the same lines is the current Pondichery CM. I understand he goes around the small state on a bicycle.
Rare examples in India compared to the more widely prevalent lot who moved around in convoys of 30-40 cars - very common in Tamilnadu.

BTW, it is not just politicians who indulge in this on-road bullying. Last weekend I am ambling along on a small Kerala road (2-lanes at best with no divider) with traffic in front, when there is loud honking from behind. There isn't really space to move, but the guy keeps honking - seeing a green Gypsy with a beacon, I move to the side as soon as space is available. And the Gypsy moves on followed by an Army Ambasador. With the road being 2-lane and full of traffic for the next 8kms till it reaches the so-called highway (NH47) which is even more pathetic (again 2 lanes, no median), I wonder what this guy is gaining by all this honking and bullying - other than high BP.

The Army was the last unblemished institution, but now we have scams/scandals popping up around them too...

@Screwdriva, I can relate to what you went through and also applaud your courage in standing up to them.
But seriously in today's world, it ain't worth it, like many others mentioned. Ignore them and move on with more worthwhile things than these scumbags.

Last edited by supremeBaleno : 9th July 2012 at 19:27.
supremeBaleno is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th July 2012, 20:17   #40

My question is simple: I know things could have gotten worse for me but I want to know if there exists any mechanism to protect yourself against these sorts? How would you have reacted?
Originally Posted by suhaas307 View Post
The best thing to do would be to back off and apologize even if you're not in the wrong.
It is hard to control one's anger when on the road especially if you have a hundred other thoughts running in your head. That's why it's always a good thing to stay calm and when you are inconvenienced on the street, just breathe deep, smile and let it go. Because it just isn't worth it. I'm still trying to achieve this state of calmness when such events occur.
If the guy wants to create problems, They could note down the registration number of our car and get all details from the RTO / Police and then harrass us.
Old 9th July 2012, 21:07   #41

Originally Posted by sajo View Post
You dont "deal" with VIP convoys, you "avoid" them. Like the plague, if you can help it.
That says it ALL about the political state of affairs. The public servants of the "aam aadmi" - who eat, and drink and rashly drive their vehicles from the tax money that we hard working "aam aadmi" pays. PATHETIC. If the public servants are avoided like plague, I wish they are hit by the plague as well some day. Amen.

In my 2 years in the States, I've never once experienced a VIP or politician muscling his way through traffic, the American citizen simply won't tolerate it and there'd be a huge outcry over such an incident.

Must also add : Except for when the Heads of State are visiting, I doubt the general American public is ever inconvenienced by blocked roads.
Kaash...The city and area I live, is a nuisance from traffic point of view, thanks to constant barricading for the VVIP of the country has chosen to retire in the same city. Hopefully, the roads would be clear of the convoys and barricades after retirement.

Originally Posted by selfdrive View Post
From what I have seen on many of the TLs here, this is generally accepted practice for an army convoy. Probably for safety reasons. In my case, I would be fuming if a politico or red beacon convoy said something to me, but would be perfectly fine if an army convoy passed a message like that. Only my opinion, hopefully doesnt trigger a debate!
Yes, thats what I have observed. Usually, the Army has the right of passage, especially in the trecherous terrain and small roads, it is only wiser to give them passage first. million times better than giving right of passage to the politicians and their chamchas.

I truely wish one of such rash driving highly connected politicians pays the price of road rage themselves rather than the aam aadmi.
Old 9th July 2012, 23:37   #42
PPS

Do these security agencies even do a background check on the guards that they hire? Some of these guards even have past criminal records!
Such scenes are witnessed daily in Mumbai. Once an E39 540i & an Innova following it almost broke my right side mirror. On some occasions i've seen expensive cars like Range Rovers filled with bodyguards driving like maniacs trying to keep up. Heck, i once also saw an Audi S8 filled with guards. Its a one off a kind car & there's a whole thread dedicated to it.
I wonder if some of these VIP's really need these guards. Its more a show-off & a matter of status/prestige for most of them.

I've posted the below pic in some thread can't recollect where. But here's a VW Touareg driven on the wrong side of the road on the Sealink. Pic was taken 3-4 yrs ago when the bridge wasn't fully functional.
No VIP number, no red beacon, just a case of superiority complex i guess to beat the traffic!

How would you deal with VIPs and their Bodyguards on the road?-vw.jpg
Old 10th July 2012, 00:04   #43

I think we all need to understand most of these 'uneducated' guards and drivers do not behave like this because they want to.

My Office cabbie once was talking to a guard who had driven 'saahab' to the market and was waiting for him.

These reckless VIP's have no regard for their own guards and drivers and the drivers/guards act the way they do to keep the master happy.

They are fired and often troubled when they fail to oblige and behave the way these VIP's expect them to.

Its more a case of obeying the employer failing which they can risk their jobs. They react the way they do to keep their bosses happy.

Remember alone a VIP can't do much and so the bullying is carried out to keep his ego satisfied. So before we blame the guards and drivers remember without the VIP's consent they won't behave the way they do.

We live in a society where we constantly look down on others. We're such an insecure bunch as a society, nothing in life makes us content. Its a shame.
AbhishekB86 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th July 2012, 11:37   #44

Again guys, this car was unmarked. Just a 50 lakh German car. No red light. No siren. No fancy license plates and no visible escort anywhere.

I had a similar incident a couple of months a ago. It was a metallic beige E class with a couple of gypsys with safari clad thugs escorting it. We were on the western express highway heading towards borivili when just before the domestic airport I see this white gypsy making way for the VIP vehicle. I turned around to see (the car was being driven by the driver, so I could look around) if it was a government vehicle. The merc had no govt signs, sirens, special license plates etc. It was like you said, just an expensive german car. I told the driver to just stay in his lane (center lane) and let them pass from the right lane.

However, traffic in the right lane slowed down as we approached the airport flyover and we passed these three vehicles again. On the flyover we were overtaking a oil tanker which was in the left lane and we were still in the center lane. Suddenly this gypsy cuts in from the right lane and is asking us to move to the left lane. The driver gets alarmed and slows down but there is a huge tanker to the left and we have nowhere to go. At this point I just lost it and asked the driver to tail the gypsy and make sure the merc can't get behind it. The safari clad thugs are now getting angry and are making gestures violently. I just showed them the finger and this enraged them even more.

My mom sitting in the back was observing all this and at this point told the driver to back off. Sadly the incident came to an end here and the motorcade took the exit to the international airport while we continued on the highway.

Had this continued I would have done exactly the same thing that you did. I hate getting out of the way for these people. Unless its a government vehicle with a siren/beacon activated or an emergency vehicle I try to delay them as much as I can.

Would I do it in Delhi, probably not. But in Mumbai there is very little that these people can do. If similar incidents are flashed on prime time news I am sure this "dadagiri" will reduce. I seriously thought of contacting times now and the mumbai JCP. However, my family was against it and I had to let it go.

I hope that everybody starts doing exactly the same thing to these VIPs. Think about it. Its probably a businessman or a filmstar in that big german sedan. What is he or she afraid of the most? A bad reputation. Do you think he or she would be happy to see such things in the media? If everybody starts giving them the same treatment, this will stop.

Last edited by HKap : 10th July 2012 at 11:45.
Old 10th July 2012, 12:27   #45

50% of my commute is in lutyen's delhi,and I stay there too.
And these run-ins happens innumerable times.
When I was in college, i used to get pissed.
How dare he?

but this one time, I was on my bike, getting off of the rail museum flyover, to head to my home, and about 200 metres away, i came up behind a trailing gypsy with 4-5 Black cats sitting there.
I had to brake real hard, cos he just slowed down to a crawl.
I raised my visor, shouted, and waved my hand.
One of these guys asked the car to slow down further, and waved at me to get to the side.
What another black cat did brought me to my senses quite quickly.
He very gently lowered the barrel of his automatic in my direction.

Brother, there is nothing that can wipe out anger like an automatic pointed in your direction.

Ever since that reality check, I let these guys go.
What is the point.
Their time is much more important, they have to go and spend my money.
(Oh, wait....thats a good reason to slow them down?)

Anyway, my point is, I just ask myself what I will be able to do in the face of a pointed gun???

Jaa, bhai, jaa.
mayankk is offline   (7) Thanks