Old 14th April 2008, 20:35   #136

Seems like the city is going on a very wrong path!

Very unfortunate incidents.

Last edited by HappyWheels : 14th April 2008 at 20:40.
Old 14th April 2008, 20:57   #137

Originally Posted by LLL View Post
OT -

Its a misconception that IT guys earn more.

Most of govt servants earn at par or slightly less than IT guys. Their take home is definitely quite less, but when you include the perks (car, house, newspaper, servant, free furniure, free medical, interest free loans), their salary is quite close to IT guys.

also, businessmen, property dealers, shopkeepers earn far more than IT guys but dont declare their income and dont pay taxes. Even a small shopkeeper in chandni chowk, nehru place, GK, central market makes a minimum of lakh pm. (all black)

I know taxi wallas making cool 50-60k pm from renting their taxis to call centers...all black and no taxes to be paid.
No misconceptions. It is the plain truth and pls compare the salaries earned by IT people and the people in other industries. You will find yourself the difference. Even the Auto manufacturers also pay lesser than the IT people. This is the fact known to the whole world. The experienced lot say 5 years experience in IT industry you will be paid anywhere between 10~12Lacs/annum (CTC) where as in manufacturing it will be around 6~7Lacs/annum (CTC). The fresh graduate in It indusry will be paid anywhere between 10~12k/month (Gross) whereas in the manufacturing industry it will be around 6k or at the most 8k (Gross).

My Opinion: As far as others are concerned like govt employees/businessmen/taxiwallas, do not want comment on them as their income in some of the cases will not be a legal one. Most of them does not pay IT, evade taxes (VAT/ED/Sales tax/service tax etc) in their sales etc. Don't issue bills to whatever the people buy etc...
Old 14th April 2008, 21:03   #138

understood an IT guy earns more cos of outsourcing dollars coming in, booming industry etc. But how does it matter to the rowdy attacking the person - he doesn't care if it is an IT guy with 5yrs experience making 10 lacs or an automobile or pharma guy with 10 yrs experience making 10 lacs. For the 30 yr old unemployed rowdy with 20 yrs experience in rowdyigiri at the end of the day both IT and non-IT guy earn more than him and that divide still exists. That does not give him any reason to break the IT or non-IT guys car windshield and he is still doing something wrong and against the law and deserves to be punished and taught a lesson.

PS - to the point of loud music and showing off - everyone loves their music and if an auto guy can blare his radio, so can an IT guy or pharma guy. Freedom to listen to your music is always there and is no more a reason to hate someone and brick their priced possession for which they pay emis every month

Last edited by jassi : 14th April 2008 at 21:07.
Old 14th April 2008, 21:18   #139

Originally Posted by jassi View Post
understood an IT guy earns more cos of outsourcing dollars coming in, booming industry etc. But how does it matter to the rowdy attacking the person - he doesn't care if it is an IT guy with 5yrs experience making 10 lacs or an automobile or pharma guy with 10 yrs experience making 10 lacs. For the 30 yr old unemployed rowdy with 20 yrs experience in rowdyigiri at the end of the day both IT and non-IT guy earn more than him and that divide still exists. That does not give him any reason to break the IT or non-IT guys car windshield and he is still doing something wrong and against the law and deserves to be punished and taught a lesson.
OT: We are discussing here about the bribes given by the people who work in IT whenever the situation demands. For Eg: If a policeman demands some amount to get the job done / things released, the people working in IT industry will not hesitate to pay the sum as they earn more than other guys. It may not hurt them much. But a person working in non-IT industry will not be able to shell out the money as he needs to pay it through his nose.
Old 14th April 2008, 21:36   #140

I think everybody is trying to show their 'meter' .
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
What the hell is happening in Bangalore?
Old 14th April 2008, 21:40   #141

Rowdy Zen Driver...

Hi,since this thread's topic on rowdy drivers i would like to share my expereince with you guys.It happened in mumbai while we travelling to vasai on the mumbai - Ahemdabad highway in our M-800 with my brother and dad.I was at the wheel and a Zen was driving a little up ahead.It suddenly slowed down and almost got in my lane (right side).I braked and sounded the horn which somewho ticked off the bearded driver who probably seemed drunk.These guys now started driving crazily by suddenly swerving in my path and hitting the brakes hard so as to scare. They started following us by slowing down and driving behind us.I then saw that the guy was tailgating me and i sped up to 100 so did they.I could have gone fatser but my dad asked me to slow down so i did and those bunch of (the f-word)-up's just drove away.This did unnerved me and i for some days had got a phobia of zen drivers for a while.I guess such people do exist and i guess we cant help it sometimes.
Old 14th April 2008, 21:40   #142
LLL

Originally Posted by snaronikar View Post
No misconceptions. It is the plain truth and pls compare the salaries earned by IT people and the people in other industries. You will find yourself the difference. Even the Auto manufacturers also pay lesser than the IT people. This is the fact known to the whole world. The experienced lot say 5 years experience in IT industry you will be paid anywhere between 10~12Lacs/annum (CTC) where as in manufacturing it will be around 6~7Lacs/annum (CTC). The fresh graduate in It indusry will be paid anywhere between 10~12k/month (Gross) whereas in the manufacturing industry it will be around 6k or at the most 8k (Gross).

My Opinion: As far as others are concerned like govt employees/businessmen/taxiwallas, do not want comment on them as their income in some of the cases will not be a legal one. Most of them does not pay IT, evade taxes (VAT/ED/Sales tax/service tax etc) in their sales etc. Don't issue bills to whatever the people buy etc...
Its a misconception that someone with 5 yrs exp in IT earns 10 lakhs. CTC maybe 10L (that will also be very rare), but there will be 20% variable pay, PF, gratuity, deferred bonus (like payable after 5 yrs of service), medical etc included. True take home after taxes wont be more than 5-6 lakhs.

I know that TCS, Infy, Patni, Wipro pay 6-8 lakhs CTC for someone with 5 yrs experience.

About govt employees/businessmen/taxiwallas, you are correct that their income is not legal but its there for them to splurge. How many IT guys drive a skoda as compared to shopkeepers? Just check out Delhi's central market. Almost every shopkeeper comes to "work" in a skoda or a city or a corrola. Their kids goto school/college in the 2nd car.
Old 14th April 2008, 21:43   #143

Originally Posted by snaronikar View Post
...The experienced lot say 5 years experience in IT industry you will be paid anywhere between 10~12Lacs/annum (CTC) where as in manufacturing it will be around 6~7Lacs/annum (CTC)...

I guess my company (an IT company) should actually be a manufacturing company!

There are very few (can be counted in the fingers of one hand) companies who pay high salaries. All the rest are in the 'manufacturing' company range.

Now, unless, the person is so brilliant and belongs to a very rare category of knowledge skill, there is no high pay. But yes, an IT person get paid more than what a non IT gets paid for the same years of experience. But then, it is all due to the type of work and the skill level expected from them and the earning per employee of the company.

Having said this, I guess things at Samurai's place are different. (Samurai, how about that, eh, can I send my profile??? )

EDIT:
Originally Posted by LLL View Post
...but there will be 20% variable pay, PF, gratuity, deferred bonus (like payable after 5 yrs of service), medical etc included. True take home after taxes wont be more than 5-6 lakhs.

I know that TCS, Infy, Patni, Wipro pay 6-8 lakhs CTC for someone with 5 yrs experience...
True; CTC does not reflect the actual take home salary, which is what actually counts. The CTC included almost anything and everything that the company can charge the employee for. And add the bonus which gets tied to company performance. So take home is not exactly "CTC/12"; unfortunately! :-(

Are we getting way OT here! Yes, we are. Lets get some 'Rowdies' here!

Last edited by HappyWheels : 14th April 2008 at 21:51.
Old 14th April 2008, 21:51   #144

somewhat agree with you snaronikar - but just because someone earns more that doesn't mean they can part more easily with it, but yes it maybe possible when it comes to paying to get out of such situations with police when rowdies put you in trouble and level false charges.

but my point was its just that the IT guy with less experience makes equal to a non-IT guy with more experience - so if IT/bpo guy is 30yrs and makes 12 lacs and non-IT guy is 35yrs old and makes 12 lacs - does the 5 year age gap matter (both may have a family to support). I am sure if it comes to rowdies harassing they don't care cos both the guys drive a swift and listen to their type of music and neither do police care cos both have the same paying power irrespective of the 5 yr age gap. Example a guy working in middle management in bosch or tata motors vs a guy in TCS/HP as a senior programmer - who cares they both are good targets and drive a shiny hachback or low end sedan. The image of a car owner is still there and along with that the misconception that both are in IT, who knows in the backend they maybe paying 40-50% of their salary in car and home loan emis and trying to bridge enough funds to take care of their families.

There is no point in discussing in which profession you make more money at an earlier age, rowdies will still attack you and police will still ask you to pay up if they are in cahoots with the rowdy

Last edited by jassi : 14th April 2008 at 21:52.
Old 14th April 2008, 22:00   #145

very sad to hear this -

I guess this has nothing to do with the topic. I know this has been true with a lot of hawkish kannadigas for some time. But the attitude shown by some of my fellow kannadigas has been despicable to say the least. First of, Tamil is arguably the closest language to Kannada - from the sentence construction to the culture/cuisine of the people - we are peas of the same pod. I am surprised that Tamilians in Bangalore could be called anything but kannadigas/Bangaloreans/locals. From the Mysore Iyengars, Mandyam Iyengars, Iyers etc they have nothing but love for the city and state. I am not saying this because I happened to chase some pretty Iyenagar girls in Malleswaram .
All this nonsense about Cauvery/movies/IT- should stop. I know it sounds altruistic. But I believe that Kannadigas need to get back the pride in our own language/culture/history and city/state -( which are undeniably rich) rather than attack another community. It is funny that some Iyengars I met over the weekend here in Dallas, Texas told me they now sing praises of kannada and criticise tamil while on their trip to India. Some folks laughed at that - for me though, I have never felt more ashamed of being a kannadiga when I heard that.

Originally Posted by svel View Post
The most hated language in Bangalore is Tamil. So better to stick with Kannada, English, Hindi, Telugu, Malayalam in that order (as per your language skills). I am not saying that locals are safe in such situations. But outsiders are more vulnerable than locals. Because of digital divide, these elements don't like IT guys for obvious reasons. That is the prime reason why such incidents are happening more near IT belts like ORR (Silkboard to KR Pura) and Hosur Road, BTM etc. Many times these are induced so that there will be monetary benefit at the end for these elements (as happened in this case). As advised by many in this thread, the best course of action in these situations is get out of that place as quickly as possible. Don't try to advise the wrong doer. It will only hurt his pride and make the situation worse.
Old 14th April 2008, 22:46   #146

Originally Posted by jassi View Post
There is no point in discussing in which profession you make more money at an earlier age, rowdies will still attack you and police will still ask you to pay up if they are in cahoots with the rowdy
. As everybody drives in car will be thought he is working for an It industry.

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
I guess my company (an IT company) should actually be a manufacturing company!
Sure join my company. You definately will not regret. You know what I mean.

Originally Posted by diabloo View Post
I think everybody is trying to show their 'meter' .
All these days I thought only the rowdies and auto wallas showed the "meter". from now onwards, I think we also should show out "meter".
Old 14th April 2008, 22:54   #147

Guys.. Lets stick to topic here and not start a IT personnel Bashing.

Goddy
Old 15th April 2008, 10:58   #148

Funny how this thread has progressed - An IT gets attacked by rowdy gang. After hundreds of posts, the blame is now on IT profession
Originally Posted by Godfather View Post
Guys.. Lets stick to topic here and not start a IT personnel Bashing.
Old 15th April 2008, 11:48   #149

Originally Posted by diabloo View Post
Funny how this thread has progressed - An IT gets attacked by rowdy gang. After hundreds of posts, the blame is now on IT profession
Very Right, What a twist to story?

Last edited by finneyp : 15th April 2008 at 11:50.
Old 15th April 2008, 13:53   #150

Originally Posted by Godfather View Post
Whats the meaning of this statement??

Seriously?? I am an IT guy.. and whats asking for directions got to do with this thread??
Also.. Before asking for directions.. do you ask the person his profession.. Jeez guys.. Oh. he is an IT guy.. I will get lost in this place but i will not ask him for directions.. WOW.. need I say more??

Exactly.. I agree.. Thank you

No body wants to shell out abnormal amount of Money.. Its just buying what you need.. and IT guys are not making "Your City" an expensive place to Live in.. The prices increase at a steady state.. and this is normal in any developing country..
If you find a city too expensive for your taste.. MOVE.!!

Thanks Again..

Goddy
Godfather,i think you misunderstood my opinion.First of all i have no issues with IT folks thier lifestyle or they earning more.I believe that a person is paid according to his worth whatever proffession.I firmly believe that you cannot generalize any proffession for the problems in the city.All are responsible.What i tried to convey and wanted to protest against was the attitude of some local rowdies/RICKIES and cheapos who say"You earn more hence you have to pay even if its not your mistake".I was working in a BPO and i have faced this attitude many times when people mistook me for High earning techie.i WAS DRIVING HOME THE POINT THAT THE A LOT OF UNEDUCATED LOCALS ENTERTAIN THIS CONCEPT OF TECHIES EARNING MORE AND CAN BE LOOTED FOR WHATSOEVER REASON.

Regarding shelling out of money,again, you can spend your money according to your wishes.Nobody will stop you.But some times people charge you very high just based on the fact that we are least bothered about the prices.I have heard this comment from some places especially from elders.I meant no offence to any proffession and if you felt that way,i apologise.I believe IT is the backbone of indian economic boom and all are benefetting from the same,including these rowdies.

And regarding moving out of the city,i dont believe you can ask all the locals to move out if they find the city expensive.They are born and bought up in this city and they have the right to be here.Even if they are complaining that the city is expensive,let them do that.Moving out of the city,we will leave to their discretion.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com