Old 7th February 2022, 23:01   #136

Re: Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India

I was filling up petrol yesterday. The SBI card sales guy came along to pitch the card. I wasn't interested. Nothing against them. They are hard working people who are trying to make a living. I already have an SBI card, and for fuel I use Amazon pay card. He started rattling off numbers - here's the petrol rate, here's your monthly expense, here's how much cashback you will receive in the year. I politely kept refusing. Then the petrol pump attendant also chipped in - "Petrol is getting very expensive". I said, "Yes that's why I am going to upgrade to an EV soon, no fuel price worries then."

The attendant frowned. The card salesman moved on.
yashg is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 1st March 2022, 09:23   #137

Spotted in Puduchery.
Someone was clearly pissed off and was sending a not-so-polite message to car owner.
Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-whatsapp-image-20220301-09.20.42.jpeg  

Kaumad is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 21st March 2022, 10:27   #138

Re: Pics: Accidents in India

Note to Mods: Couldn't figure out which thread is right for posting this. Please move it to appropriate thread if this is not the right one.

We find a lot of unsafe behaviors on the road, which are not surprising but saddening! I was taking a walk on the road just out of the Bagmane Tech Park and saw how our fellow countrymen take safety for granted.

On seeing this I recollected the hunting traps in some NatGeo/Discovery channels, only thing that was missing here was the rope .

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-inkedimg_20220320_135451_li.jpg
saikarthik is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 21st March 2022, 10:45   #139

Re: Pics: Accidents in India

Originally Posted by saikarthik View Post
how our fellow countrymen take safety for granted.

On seeing this I recollected the hunting traps in some NatGeo/Discovery channels, only thing that was missing here was the rope .
Unfortunate, but thats damn funny That rope would decide the fate of his manhood. But that must be a lesson to every other auto rickshaw driver, only after it happens. Until then its all chalega saar. But to provide the driver some respite, he could save himself if his reflexes are fast enough, since the auto isnt that heavy a pair of hands cant handle.

Safety is taken for granted in India until someone dies and then it is given seriousness in the form of an absurd measure, and then they find a loophole there and it starts again. Be it people sticking heads out of sunroof, irresponsible driving, negligence in the form of helmetless riding, poor roads and infra and what not.
audioholic is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 18:26   #140

Can't think of a better place to showcase this "Amaze"ing Pick Up, sporting a fancy number, transporting some material. This happens only in South Asia. I didn't stop to check what material that was but it looked like some hard plastic sheets.

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-amaze_pickup.jpg

Last edited by vigsom : 21st July 2022 at 18:27.
vigsom is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 18:33   #141

Originally Posted by vigsom View Post
Can't think of a better place to showcase this "Amaze"ing Pick Up, sporting a fancy number, transporting some material.
Pretty common. And this is not much, have seen much more stuff being carried on top like that. Btw, I wont share what I have carried on the roof of my car
condor is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 26th July 2022, 09:31   #142

Can happen only in India. Gentleman steps OUT of the car to carefully study the McDonalds menu, pointing at one thing and having detailed discussions with his wife on it. I patiently waited for 7 - 10 minutes behind him while he did this (took the opportunity to check out the Honda City Hybrid's interiors & features while at it).

Got my black coffee (McD's has the BEST black coffee in India) and a free pack of fries because of their 120-second service guarantee on the drive-through. I don't eat junk, so gave it to a poor person right outside the restaurant.

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-20220724-08.58.52.jpg

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-20220724-08.58.55.jpg

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-20220724-08.58.56.jpg

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-20220724-08.59.31.jpg

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-20220724-08.59.32.jpg
GTO is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 26th July 2022, 10:10   #143

Originally Posted by Kaumad View Post
Spotted in Puduchery.
Someone was clearly pissed off and was sending a not-so-polite message to car owner.
He's got some expectations for the Tamilian localite (if the owner is one) to understand the 4 letter 'acronym' at the end
ninjatalli is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 27th August 2022, 12:50   #144

Six seater Punto. Can’t understand how this gentleman even agreed to be seated in the boot, must have been one uncomfortable experience.

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-8cb8385dd32d494992930113f8af01f9.jpeg

Name:  2EBBF52889C74A2F9941D4777E119A1F.gif
Views: 1220
Size:  4.82 MB
SnS_12 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 27th August 2022, 13:46   #145

Originally Posted by yashg View Post
I was filling up petrol yesterday. The SBI card sales guy came along to pitch the card. I wasn't interested. Nothing against them. They are hard working people who are trying to make a living. I already have an SBI card,.
Similar experiences: I too have a SBI card, and have shown it to the guys just so they know I am not bluffing. They have still insisted on getting the fuel card. I have no plans to replace the existing card with a fuel card, and also because I rarely fill at a BPCL outlet. They are doing their job, trying to get customers. Least one can do is be a little patient and polite.
condor is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 27th August 2022, 20:07   #146

Originally Posted by condor View Post
... They are doing their job, trying to get customers. Least one can do is be a little patient and polite.
I am not patient with people that won't take no for an answer, especially if they are doing their job. The only salesman who hammers away at someone who won't buy is a bad, time-wasting, salesman.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th September 2022, 13:46   #147

Wai Wai noodles and Leh sticker

This happened to me while driving from Bangalore to Calicut last Saturday. Entry to KL at Muthanga checkpost, there was more than usual checking at Excise post here due to oncoming Onam festival.
This route has become a major point of entry for drugs to Kerala since lockdown, hence else too checking is strict compared to what it was few years back.

Also, since I was driving solo, they were quick to stop me and ask to unlock the vehicle. In parallel, 3 personnel was checking my car. One in front row, second person in second row and 3rd person the boot, while I stand next to him.

I been traveling on this road since my college days, so know its the usual routine and they usually are very cordial and doesn't harass you with anything. So I was checking the messages on my mobile while standing there.

During the check usually one person start a conversation with you on where you are coming from, where headed to, if you mention the destination, where exactly there, what do you do in Bangalore - etc etc.

Its mostly to get an idea of the person / check your body language and also to avoid you in breathing down their neck while they go through your car.

So I mention I work in IT , but my car has lot of items which I am carrying from the Leh trip which was done couple of weeks back - A slightly big box which has air filter, another with fuel filter, few rolls of duct tape, ropes etc.

Also in the boot is a big roll of electrical wire which I was carrying home for some rewiring work, a newly purchased vacuum cleaner, a bag which has containers of ready to eat food etc.

So on seeing these I guess they were unsure why for a short drive (~7 hours/ 350KM) I am carrying these many items.

So while this checking was happening, one of them found this - Wai Wai ready to eat noodles.

Now, Wai ( Waya) translates to mouth in Mayalayam, so this officer who found it out, was saying to other - "Waya Waya - two times mouth - What a strange name"

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-pxl_20220903_052304993.jpg

Though my mother tongue is Malayalam, I had never thought about this noodle name this way. So we all were laughing at this joke.

Thats when they saw the Leh trip sticker, so the conversation moved to that. Said that I did the trip 2 weeks back and many of the items that you are seeing is from that, including the Wai Wai noodles. That made them stop the checking, they closed the boot and then was asking about the details of trip, how long it took, how many people etc. After that they apologetically said the checking is strict due to Onam, I said have seen news about drugs pushed across this border, so its understandable and then continue on my trip.

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-img20220905wa0036.jpg

I guess anytime I see Wai Wai noodles, I cant stop thinking about those two officers giggling while holding the cup.

Last edited by mpksuhas : 5th September 2022 at 14:02.
mpksuhas is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 5th September 2022, 14:35   #148

Infractions: 0/1 (4)

Originally Posted by adisan View Post
It was the late 1990s. One of the men began scolding the cow, shaking his outstretched palms at it, asking whether it has any sense or not. The cow kept looking at them with a neutral expression till they finished their tirade.
In a lighter vein. Here is a sort of parallel to what you described, from my eternally treasured Tintin and Haddock books.
Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-010dc621031f48619380c346d2ae2f97.jpeg  

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-a8947e3d22b2444a9eaffcea03130ec8.jpeg  

shankar.balan is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 15th November 2022, 13:16   #149

Only in India? Jugaad door on an EV buggy used in Babulnath Temple. Presumably to keep crowds away from sitting in it & taking pictures. And the EV itself is parked in such a way so as to keep crowds away from the electric room!

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-20221027-15.11.02.jpg

I love the rims
Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-20221027-15.10.56.jpg

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-20221027-15.11.05.jpg
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th December 2022, 09:26   #150

Spotted this really weird fellow twice last evening. Once, outside Siddhi Vinayak Temple in the evening. We saw him approaching with loud Hindi music (classic songs) absolutely blaring on his motorcycle. And a massive stuffed toy riding as pillion.

Strange chap has a wide grin on his face and is smiling + waving at everyone as he passes by. Clearly an attention-seeker. Later at night, we spot him in Matunga doing the same thing. He's just roaming around the city, smiling, laughing & garnering attention.

We sure have all types in this country .

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-20221229-21.11.55.jpg

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-20221229-21.12.08.jpg

Funny Incidents - Can happen only in India-20221229-21.11.59.jpg
GTO is offline   (11) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com